Skip over menu?
  

Acosta Sales & Marketing:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Acosta Sales & Marketing

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.85
Support from management
3.24
Teamwork
3.35
Freedom to work independently
3.59
Internal Communication
2.71
Office / Work Environment
2.84
Environmental Friendliness
3.27
Work-Life Balance
3.54
Challenging Work
3.08
Inclusive / Diverse
3.08

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.25
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.45
Career Development
2.91
Overall compensation for your work
2.70
Company Image
3.18
Job Security
2.81
Handicapped Accessibility
3.30
Workplace Safety
3.48
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 23 of 72 reviews Parking in 13 of 72 reviews Easy access to public transportation Stock or equity options in 1 of 72 reviews 401(k) in 45 of 72 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 9 of 72 reviews Desirable office location in 5 of 72 reviews Tuition assistance in 6 of 72 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 5 of 72 reviews 401(k) Match in 24 of 72 reviews Flexible spending account in 10 of 72 reviews Paid time off in 29 of 72 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 28 of 72 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 72 reviews Life insurance in 21 of 72 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 72 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 6 of 72 reviews Health and wellness programs in 20 of 72 reviews Employee discounts in 21 of 72 reviews Vehicle allowance in 13 of 72 reviews Employee events in 5 of 72 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site Free Snacks/Drinks in 5 of 72 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 30.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

When I started my job with Acosta it was a good company but the president of the company decided to step down and become the Chairman of the board so they hired another president when they did that the company went down hill

Support from management

The Managers I had just ignored me

Teamwork

There was favoritism in the team that I was on that was one of the reasons why I quit

Freedom to work independently

You do work independently

Internal Communication

There were days I did not receive an email from my supervisor

Gender Equality

Men get paid more than woman

Attitude towards older colleagues

I am an older colleague and I was ignored

Career Development

There is no career development

Overall compensation for your work

I worked there for over 5 years and I never got a raise

Office / Work Environment

I was not in an office I worked out in the field

Environmental Friendliness

I worked out in the field

Work-Life Balance

Family did come first with this company

Company Image

It's not good

Job Security

It's a job if they want to fire you they will

Handicapped Accessibility

I worked out in the field

Workplace Safety

I worked out in the field

Challenging Work

Work was not challenging

Inclusive / Diverse

No opinion

Suggestions for improvement

  • Treat your RCMS better

What I like about the company

Working Independently , No Supervision . Doing what you want to do .

What I dislike about the company

Very Lonely Job , Being ignored by Management and Company . Favoritism . My supervisor praising 2 employees on my team of 14 and ignoring the rest of us .

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    acosta sales and marketing
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
Have a question about Acosta Sales & Marketing? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 02.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

No raises or bonuses for last 8 years. Work put on you when someone left

Support from management

Immediate management was great. Above that NOTHING!

Teamwork

We had a very helpful team and backed up each other

Gender Equality

Men were sales and can work from home in bad weather. Women were backup for the most part had to be in the office no matter the weather or take a vacation day

Office / Work Environment

Sometimes here stressful because of certain people

Environmental Friendliness

See above

Handicapped Accessibility

Only a freight elevator which was reached by a steep incline in the basement. Otherwise only stairs.

Workplace Safety

No fire doors just doors needing a key

Inclusive / Diverse

Inclusive. No minority

Suggestions for improvement

  • More people, more raises, more attention from the top. They did a survey but never read it or did anything about working conditions

What I like about the company

Some of the people I worked with

What I dislike about the company

Everything else

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Sales & Marketing
  • City
    Gilbert
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Not specified
  • Department
    Administration

Suggestions for improvement

  • Learn to manage millennial and take our feedback. Keep things consistent, if one employee is able to work from home everyone else should be able to. Get a new GM who isn't pushing the millennial generation out the door, with an office of 50+ employees there shouldn't be only 6 millennials.

What I like about the company

I have met some great people and now consider them my family, since my family doesn't live here. Some leadership is willing to listen and help me grow in my career. The technology that they provide us with is pretty much up to date. Great company culture with work life balance. Every holiday is celebrated here with a company meal and entertainment. Overall, very comfortable work environment and work/life balance make it a great company to work for.

What I dislike about the company

Salaries are lower then national average. Local leadership does not know how to manage the millennial generation. They are not willing to listen to feedback that the younger generation brings to the table. Very stuck in the ""This is the way we have always done it"" thought process. Holding on to many workers that are retirement age, so this defers the upper movement the younger generation is trying to do. When employees make moves to stay within the company but take a different job, GM acts like a child and don't speak to you.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Sales and Marketing
  • City
    Grand Rapids
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company Culture

I felt respected by coworkers and supervisors alike.

Support from management

Supervisors were extremely helpful at times.

Internal Communication

Communication was fine. We had weekly conference calls, and supervisors would call with information. I had my supervisors' cell numbers, if I needed to call them.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Acosta needs to promote from within. They also need to give wage raises to employees who earn them on a regular and consistent basis.

What I like about the company

I liked that I was responsible for my work schedule and that I did not have a supervisor looking over my shoulder every day.

What I dislike about the company

I disliked how expendable they made me feel when I asked for a couple weeks off to handle my house burning down. Instead of giving me the time I requested, they terminated me.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Inc.
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Vehicle allowance is offered
  • 15.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

There was a lot of a lack of communication between the company itself and territory teams

Support from management

Changes happen while in the middle of projects if materials we needed didn't get to us prior to project time management was not really able to help and would always blame others and claim to"look in to it" but hardly ever did so management would also not be clear on projects we had to do and so when following what instructions that we were given sometimes company would tells us we did it wrong and needed to go back in stores to redo even if we never received the correct instructions

Teamwork

We worked almost always independently on our side and the stores we worked in where their employees didn't do there part and if we needed the stores to do what they should have done before we arrived they often would not work with us

Freedom to work independently

Yes

Internal Communication

Huge gap in communication on way too many occasions

Attitude towards older colleagues

Yes

Career Development

There's very little opportunities for advancing in the company also company doesn't give better pay unless you are one of few that get promoted

Overall compensation for your work

They make it hard for part timers when it comes to pay and travel reinvestment

Environmental Friendliness

Company would only show concern when it came to us using our own car i.e. weather conditions but when it came to going to store locations that were known by many other team members and vendors from other companies to be unsafe just in the parking lots or inside the store management as well as the company did very little to protect us i.e. harassment,and muggings in the parking lots, store employees not being respectful and getting angry with us over when we were to just following what we were in the store do do on behalf of our clients.

Work-Life Balance

Very flexible hours for part time employees but having to go to from very little hours to accepting manageable hours but never the types of hours they tell you when you start the job

Company Image

For a short time I felt good about working for the company but ended up taking care of stores that had no rep assigned to always being told it will only be in that store for no longer than a month there was a lot of turn over of team members not lasting long and I would spend a lot,of training new employees that never stayed with the job for no more than 2 weeks

Job Security

No

Workplace Safety

No company doesn't really tell you much about accident prevents

Challenging Work

Some work was simple and some more challenging because of physical labor

Inclusive / Diverse

You don't really get to see other team members due to working alone 95% of the time

Suggestions for improvement

  • Have territory managers be more involved with the team members and make sure they give clear updated instructions on calls we do in store

What I like about the company

Working on my own and not having a specific time for me to work just getting told work needs to between certain hours of the day

What I dislike about the company

Store list and hours aren't good they would change locations without informing you prior they would constantly change time frames for tasks needed to do as well as cutting projects leading to lower hours

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Sales & Marketing
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 03.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make more efforts to communicate better with employees and give more notice on changing schedules so associates are prepared if their hours will go dramatically from week to week and correct job description for part time employees because the always claim up to 25 hours a week but 98% of the time you work nowhere close to those hours

What I like about the company

Flexible hours work on your own

What I dislike about the company

communication with management as well as corporate making changes to hours and consistently changing your store list to travel to and from. No one ever will see a raise nor promotions company would cut tasks times or tasks being cut all together

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Ability to work remotely is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Sales & Marketing
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 29.Jun 2017
  • Employee

Freedom to work independently

This is a field rep job and 99% solo

Overall compensation for your work

Better hourly rate than other merchandising companies; mileage reimbursement; paid vacation; PTO; full-time sick days.

Office / Work Environment

Work from home location

Job Security

Some positions can fluctuate from PT to FT and back based on client demands

Suggestions for improvement

  • none

What I like about the company

working independently

What I dislike about the company

corporate office completely "out of touch" with field reps

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Inc.
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

Vehicle allowance is offered
  • 11.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • It allows for growth, employee benefits, you can increase your pay rate, and you can eventually become a stock holder if you are there for a set period of time as an employee.

What I like about the company

I like the workplace. I feel at ease with my team, and know that the work I do is of value. I feel the work I do there matters and is going to go towards a greater goal for the team.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Inc.
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 09.Dec 2016
  • Employee

marketing

3.83

Company Culture

It is diverse. Many different employees

Support from management

you can set your own hours

Teamwork

It really depends on the people you work with that day.

Freedom to work independently

the majority of the job is working independently

Internal Communication

yes

Office / Work Environment

you work in grocery stores

Environmental Friendliness

not sure

Challenging Work

it can be, but it is basically following directions

What I like about the company

I enjoyed doing something different daily

What I dislike about the company

Not enough hours offered

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Sales & Marketing
  • City
    Grand Rapids
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management
  • 09.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Workplace Safety

The company only provides basic safety, courses, as a field rep my office is my home.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay raises, promote from within, be family friendly, get a vacation merchandiser for field reps, this person could also be a trainer when not covering vacations. Hiring a coverage merchandiser would go a long way. You are becoming top heavy like most companies and not valuing the worker bees. Why do a review if there are no raises. Reviews are Waste of money right there. Be a single parent friendly company, and offer some true Work at Home positions. Consider Full-time 30 hours or more. You could have Full-time tier 1 with all benefits and 2 weeks vacation, 1week personal and 1 week sick, and Full time tier 2, 30-35 hours per week, with 1 week vacation, 3 personal days 5 sick, and both holiday pay for Thanksgiving and Christmas and floating Christmas. Part time should at least get paid 1 vacation week, sick days and Thanks & Christmas Day.

What I like about the company

Writing my own schedule, plenty of vacation days if full-time. Not required to work in inclement weather. 401k is one of the best matches at 6%. Easy hiring process.

What I dislike about the company

They never give raises. And despite what they say, they don't promote from within.
Medical is to expensive and doesn't cover much. Medical didn't cover mammogram or women's wellness check. Had to pay out of pocket. Some managers are Micro-managers. While you make your own schedule you could get yelled at if they feel your not covering your stores properly, (all Store visits must be made when taking time off, while you can shorten calls to get them in, you must become exhausted before a vacation since your doubling up). You can't take a real vacation week with two weekends, cause the stores must be covered. This means your vacation is a Thursday and Friday and the Monday and Tuesday, and then you'll be exhausted Driving to all your stores trying to get everything covered, They need a vacation person to cover vacations.
Don't like the driving 4 days out of the week I spend 1 & 1/2 hours driving. Mileage check is ok could be better rate. I spend way more in gas than I get from a mileage check. Your location does ping on your tablet, they can even tell if your starting the call in the parking lot, to big brother. some teams are told one thing and another team something else. They need to streamline all rules. Example, Why allow one team to start calls in the parking lot but tell the other team they must be in store. When I first started you could open your calls at home then drive to store within 30 mins,, and leave Store up to half hour early, so you would be getting paid while your driving even tho you weren't getting mileage, now you only get paid drive time, in between two stores if it's more than 30 minutes, don't like that I'm not getting paid for this time. If your part-time they cut your hours down, with no warning. Not a good job for supporting a family, not reliable source of income. Once your cut down to 20 hours, you lose part time insurance benefit, you see.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Acosta Inc.
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered