Skip over menu?
  

Bellum Entertainment:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Arts/Culture/Entertainment
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Bellum Entertainment

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.83
Teamwork
2.83
Freedom to work independently
2.67
Internal Communication
2.17
Office / Work Environment
2.67
Environmental Friendliness
2.17
Work-Life Balance
2.33
Challenging Work
2.33
Inclusive / Diverse
2.50

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.20
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.60
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.86
Company Image
1.67
Job Security
2.33
Handicapped Accessibility
3.40
Workplace Safety
2.67
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 2 of 7 reviews Parking in 2 of 7 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 2 of 7 reviews No stock or equity options 401(k) in 1 of 7 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 1 of 7 reviews Desirable office location in 1 of 7 reviews No tuition assistance No Paid Parental Leave No defined contribution company match/employer 401(k) match No flexible spending account No paid time off No healthcare (including vision and dental) No relocation allowance No life insurance

The following perks are offered

No on site cafeteria No meal or transportation allowance No health and wellness programs No employee discounts No vehicle allowance No employee events No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 1 of 7 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 7 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 14.Jul 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Expand the production infrastructure and communication within the organization.

What I like about the company

A lot of opportunities to contribute to productions and development of projects. Productions last a long time (typically 104 episodes per series) which is hard to find in Los Angeles. Really nice and professional production staff.

What I dislike about the company

Tight deadlines and lack of resources are hard sometimes.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    Burbank
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about Bellum Entertainment? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 19.May 2017
  • Employee

Career Development

They underpay their actors... I mean, the DON'T pay their actors. Two months without a check. When I finally sent a letter threatening suit, I received my check two days later.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay your people a fair wage in a timely manner.

What I like about the company

Can't think of a single thing.

What I dislike about the company

They underpay their actors... I mean, the DON'T pay their actors. Two months without a check. When I finally sent a letter threatening suit, I received my check two days later.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    all
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Freelance/self-employed
  • Department
    Production
  • 11.May 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Nothing to encourage teamwork.

Support from management

Communication is something this company has trouble with on a daily basis. Most deadlines are based on how quickly and cheaply episodes can me made or before a vendor cuts them off for non-payment.

Teamwork

The employee's work well together. We all try to meet deadlines, create a streamlined workflow, and work hard despite sometimes waiting to get paid.

Freedom to work independently

Yes. Although sometimes I would like guidance on something I am working on.

Internal Communication

No. Most of the time they don't even tell you when checks are not arriving.

Career Development

This is the place to learn something new. Camera operator, editor, DP, if you have minor experience they will hire you. Although, the downside is the company has an overwhelmingly negative cloud over it that most people do not want to associate with.

Overall compensation for your work

They pay you per episode. Some episodes might take a couple weeks with consideration to the road blocks you have to face. No benefits. I would say 90% of the employees that are asked to come in on a daily basis are 1099 freelance.

Office / Work Environment

For the most part, yes. Most employees bring in their own computers. If one of their computers go down, they'll ask you to take care of it.

Environmental Friendliness

There is a recycling bin in the kitchen.

Work-Life Balance

They have not expressed any concern over employee's families.

Company Image

No.

Job Security

Not stable. At all.

Workplace Safety

It looks safe. I have never seen or been in any safety meetings at this company.

Challenging Work

There are several reasons why the work can be challenging. Disorganization, lack of communication, vendor blocks because of non-payment, last minute revisions. The projects sometimes feel rushed.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hire someone with real experience to run every department

What I like about the company

Opportunities to work on new projects.

What I dislike about the company

I could write a long list of negatives, but I will sum it up with saying Bellum is not a good company to work for or with.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Ability to work remotely is offered
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    all
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Freelance/self-employed

The following perks were offered to me

Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 21.Oct 2016 (Last edit 02.Nov 2016)
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay invoices in a reasonable amount of time and without need for constant emails from the payee to get what is rightfully owed. Most productions say they'll pay within 2 - 4 weeks but often get their checks out within 1 week of wrap.

What I like about the company

Typical Los Angeles film set, professional.

Shows appears to be distributed in the marketplace.

What I dislike about the company

Invoices went unpaid for me and several actors for over two months from wrap.

Somewhat unclear about role when posted, could be considered background work since actor's face and audio aren't used.

Pay is a low flat rate for number of hours, anywhere from 8 hours to almost 12 hours.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    all
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Freelance/self-employed
  • Department
    Others
  • 17.Mar 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make an effort to appreciate employees. At the very least, Pay on time. Don't cause employees undo stress about being able to pay their bills. This will build trust and free them up to focus on their work, be more productive, and do a great job for you.

What I like about the company

My coworkers. Convenient office location.

What I dislike about the company

Every employee paycheck was late. Several bounced. They didn't keep up to date on their vendor payments, which made it nearly impossible to do our work.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    New Orleans
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Production
  • 09.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay your employees, plain and simple. This is the only place for Bellum to begin improving.

What I dislike about the company

Talent was hired with an agreement for pay, but even as we see the episodes we filmed airing on tv, we're still waiting to be paid for our work. This is theft on Bellum's part.

Company Culture
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    New Orleans
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Trainee
  • Department
    Others
  • 01.Nov 2016
  • Employee

What I like about the company

Great working environment and company culture. Everyone is really nice. Bellum produces some awesome content and seems to be everywhere in the marketplace.

What I dislike about the company

There can be some challenges with the multiple production offices that Bellum has but it seems to be getting better.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered
  • Company
    Bellum Entertainment
  • City
    all
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Freelance/self-employed

The following perks were offered to me

Free Snacks/Drinks is offered