Skip over menu?
  

Carolinas Healthcare System:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospital & Health Care
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Carolinas Healthcare System

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.71
Support from management
3.52
Teamwork
4.02
Freedom to work independently
3.87
Internal Communication
3.52
Office / Work Environment
3.70
Environmental Friendliness
3.68
Work-Life Balance
3.48
Challenging Work
3.82
Inclusive / Diverse
3.98

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.93
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.88
Career Development
3.67
Overall compensation for your work
3.29
Company Image
4.08
Job Security
3.74
Handicapped Accessibility
4.07
Workplace Safety
3.81
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 11 of 48 reviews Parking in 28 of 48 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 10 of 48 reviews Stock or equity options in 7 of 48 reviews 401(k) in 37 of 48 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 48 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 2 of 48 reviews Ability to work remotely in 9 of 48 reviews Desirable office location in 10 of 48 reviews Tuition assistance in 29 of 48 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 12 of 48 reviews 401(k) Match in 36 of 48 reviews Flexible spending account in 22 of 48 reviews Paid time off in 41 of 48 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 38 of 48 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 35 of 48 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 21 of 48 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 48 reviews Health and wellness programs in 36 of 48 reviews Employee discounts in 36 of 48 reviews Vehicle allowance in 5 of 48 reviews Employee events in 25 of 48 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 1 of 48 reviews Fitness center on site in 3 of 48 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 8 of 48 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 20.Jul 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

Leaders here only require a piece of paper of graduation from a masters program. No experience or knowledge of the job at all. Makes it very hard for employees to respect leaders that cannot perform.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Rethink management requirements. A masters degree doesn't mean you are cut out for a job.

What I like about the company

I enjoy working with my teammates. We all work very well together and can function in our department very well. Always get very positive comments from our patients.

What I dislike about the company

Management
Unaffordable healthcare insurance

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about Carolinas Healthcare System? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 29.Jun 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

No support.... you are alone...

Teamwork

The older securities are the one taking the best positions. The new ones take the bad ones.

Freedom to work independently

The supervisor and manager distributes the work load.

Attitude towards older colleagues

I was told that I am old and was dragging my feet. As per a younger officer was walking next to me. He was walking too fast to my steps. He told the manager about it. Just to score some points.

Office / Work Environment

Bad

Environmental Friendliness

No available.

Challenging Work

Yes, I am proud of my work.

Inclusive / Diverse

Very superficial.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Employee management with degrees and experience. Do not promote from ranks below. They may have the experience but lack the education. To fully do a great job.

What I like about the company

Pay was very good.

What I dislike about the company

The security Director failed to recognize my bachelor degree in Security Management. He was just a football coach compare to me with 20 years of private security.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2013
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Others
  • 26.Jan 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

There have been times where I have had great managers and they will do anything to help you grow and I have had others that say they will and then don't more for their own gain.

Work life balance is more work than life. Coming in early, not getting a full lunch and staying late, a lot.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Listen to your employees. Remember one bad apple spoils them all. Pay could be a lot more on the national level, we are some of the lowest paid nurses in the country and even in the state.

What I like about the company

They do give us a yearly gift and are trying to offer more activities for employees to take part in.

What I dislike about the company

They don't listen to feedback from their staff or choose to bring it up and have no answers for how to fix it or make it better.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Non-cert. nursing support/nursing support

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 08.Dec 2015
  • Employee

Support from management

I ended my decade of service to the patients of CMC because Administration offered no support. If you don't drink their kool aid, your opinion is not valued. It is a very political organization.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Reduce the levels of hierarchy. Especially at CMC, administration expects to be treated as gods. It is the employees on the floor working with patients that deserve that respect. Serving ice cream and giving speeches a out one team isn't enough. It is actually very condescending.

What I like about the company

Looks really good on my resume because it is an organization with a great community reputation. I am appreciative for my decade of experience with the System.

What I dislike about the company

It is very political. Senior leaders do not have hands on experience to lead employees in the trenches. Too many levels of management.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 14.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • There are no improvements that I could suggest

What I like about the company

Work Life Balance and respect

What I dislike about the company

I do not disapprove of any part of this company

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership

Suggestions for improvement

  • The workplace moral could be a little bit better.

What I like about the company

I have been working for the company for several years. Great place to work and a great diverse team.

What I dislike about the company

Health benefits could be better considering it is a healthcare company.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 07.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More remote positions. Let us wear casual on Fridays.

What I like about the company

Paid time off and overtime. Work life balance is okay.

What I dislike about the company

The cost we pay for health insurance. The taking away of casual Fridays. Not enough remote positions. Need more pay.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 16.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Feel more stable. Layoffs and big changes including wanting better patient care with less employees.

What I like about the company

Good 401k. Offer medical insurance

What I dislike about the company

Acquiring more and more but laying off employees. Monopolizing all of charlotte.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 15.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Provide more opportunity for upward mobility for all employees

What I like about the company

The opportunity to work with a diverse group of people

What I dislike about the company

Lack of upward mobility for my position

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Provide better free food options for night and weekend shifts

What I like about the company

my employer is willing to help work my schedule around family emergencies, etc

What I dislike about the company

Its a big company so there isn't much flexibility with negotiation

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Carolinas Healthcare System
  • City
    Charlotte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered