Skip over menu?
  

Catholic Health Initiatives:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospital & Health Care
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Catholic Health Initiatives

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.56
Support from management
3.42
Teamwork
3.69
Freedom to work independently
3.86
Internal Communication
3.27
Office / Work Environment
3.79
Environmental Friendliness
3.71
Work-Life Balance
3.54
Challenging Work
3.93
Inclusive / Diverse
3.96

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.37
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.96
Career Development
3.47
Overall compensation for your work
3.58
Company Image
3.69
Job Security
3.47
Handicapped Accessibility
4.25
Workplace Safety
4.00
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 39 of 142 reviews Parking in 97 of 142 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 27 of 142 reviews Stock or equity options in 8 of 142 reviews 401(k) in 96 of 142 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 5 of 142 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 142 reviews Ability to work remotely in 16 of 142 reviews Desirable office location in 24 of 142 reviews Tuition assistance in 81 of 142 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 24 of 142 reviews 401(k) Match in 76 of 142 reviews Flexible spending account in 71 of 142 reviews Paid time off in 113 of 142 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 110 of 142 reviews Relocation allowance in 2 of 142 reviews Life insurance in 97 of 142 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 81 of 142 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 4 of 142 reviews Health and wellness programs in 101 of 142 reviews Employee discounts in 73 of 142 reviews Vehicle allowance in 8 of 142 reviews Employee events in 59 of 142 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 36 of 142 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 10 of 142 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Company Culture

PAY IS NOT VERY COMPETITIVE

Challenging Work

ITS MODERATE

Suggestions for improvement

  • THEY NEED TO HIRE MORE PEOPLE AND RETAIN THEM BETTER WITH BETTER PAY AND BENEFITS

What I like about the company

I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN ABLE TO PUT SCHOOL FIRST AND STILL WORK FULL TIME. THEY VALUE EDUCATION AND WANT TO RETAIN THEIR EMPLOYEES THROUGH THE EDUCATION PROCESS AND AFTER

What I dislike about the company

THEY DO NO PAY FAIRLY AND ARE ALWAYS UNDERSTAFFED

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
What is the company culture like at Catholic Health Initiatives? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 29.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would suggest offering a better on site gym to encourage employees to increase their fitness

What I like about the company

Good and timely feedback with the management staff

What I dislike about the company

The way that the merger has gone

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives Colorado Foundation
  • City
    Durango
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 28.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Not having to use PTO for holidays and sick days.

What I like about the company

Supportive leadership team that engages their employees. The company allows employees to have a voice and be a part of change and growth.

What I dislike about the company

No paid holidays or sick pay. Everything is PTO

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives Colorado Foundation
  • City
    Durango
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 25.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would pay the employees a little more and hire more help so everyone is not working overtime.

What I like about the company

I enjoy working there, have great friends as coworkers and get to meet exciting people everyday

What I dislike about the company

Nothing that I don't approve of at this time.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives Colorado Foundation
  • City
    Durango
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 18.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Safer patient to staff ratios would be ideal

What I like about the company

I love the environment and the team I work with

What I dislike about the company

Better patient to staff ratios to make for a safer environment

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 17.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Most toxic environment I have ever worked in

Challenging Work

“Do more with less” was the motto

Suggestions for improvement

  • The culture is terrible. People are competitive and nasty. Everyone is in it for themselves. No one cares about teamwork, safety, or staffing.

What I like about the company

I literally have nothing good to say. I worked in heath care for 15 years now and it was by far the worst place I have ever seen.

What I dislike about the company

Quit treating each other like total crap. A little kindness goes a long way. There is potential there but, until administration gets their bits together...it will suck to work there.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered

Support from management

management has never been there - always advised to handle problems on your own. including safety issues with patients and fellow coworkers

Overall compensation for your work

surrounding hospitals have much higher salaries for lower positions

Workplace Safety

little to no security

Suggestions for improvement

  • putting managers in charge that have actually done the job. this facility is notorious for hiring people as managers who have never actually worked the job they are expected to manage. better security for the ER.

What I like about the company

Other than being able to grow in my profession and learning skills there was nothing positive taken from working for this organization.

What I dislike about the company

Management. They promote themselves as being a non-profit organization but insist on always getting paid and/or their monies worth.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 07.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Management turnover rates increase

What I like about the company

I honestly don’t know of a particular experience to share. It’s just work

What I dislike about the company

Management should be more approachable and employee friendly

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 28.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • There aren't any improvements that I can think of.

What I like about the company

Good work environment. Great co-workers.

What I dislike about the company

I'm happy where I work. I have nothing to complain about.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 25.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay raises especially for nurses

What I like about the company

Most the workers all view each other as team members

What I dislike about the company

They do not fully value their employees. They are too concerned with the appearance of being a good hospital

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Catholic Health Initiatives - Iowa, Corp.
  • City
    Des Moines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered