Skip over menu?
  

Cincinnati Children s Hospital Medical Center:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Cincinnati Children s Hospital Medical Center

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.39
Support from management
4.10
Teamwork
4.34
Freedom to work independently
4.41
Internal Communication
4.08
Office / Work Environment
4.23
Environmental Friendliness
4.12
Work-Life Balance
4.04
Challenging Work
4.01
Inclusive / Diverse
4.58

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.49
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.45
Career Development
4.18
Overall compensation for your work
3.83
Company Image
4.52
Job Security
4.33
Handicapped Accessibility
4.76
Workplace Safety
4.50
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 34 of 92 reviews Parking in 64 of 92 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 34 of 92 reviews Stock or equity options in 7 of 92 reviews 401(k) in 56 of 92 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 25 of 92 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 92 reviews Ability to work remotely in 13 of 92 reviews Desirable office location in 29 of 92 reviews Tuition assistance in 56 of 92 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 27 of 92 reviews 401(k) Match in 22 of 92 reviews Flexible spending account in 50 of 92 reviews Paid time off in 75 of 92 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 76 of 92 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 92 reviews Life insurance in 59 of 92 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 68 of 92 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 10 of 92 reviews Health and wellness programs in 69 of 92 reviews Employee discounts in 66 of 92 reviews Vehicle allowance in 9 of 92 reviews Employee events in 61 of 92 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 4 of 92 reviews Fitness center on site in 7 of 92 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 15 of 92 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 29.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing to add on this matter.

What I like about the company

Friendships and professional relationships I have made.

What I dislike about the company

Need an on-site fitness center and better pto methods

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
What is the company culture like at Cincinnati Children s Hospital Medical Center? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 20.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • There is nothing I would actually change about the workplace environment, because again, as I said, this company is the best environment I have ever experienced. Totally safe, trusting, welcoming and respectful.

What I like about the company

Very fair and academic atmosphere. Most of the employees are either medical professionals or academic scientists/researchers. Felt completely safe there. Everyone was treated with respect. There were opportunities for changing careers or growth.

What I dislike about the company

I wish there was more days of vacation and sick time. I think we only had 16 days of combined vacation and sick time, which is a bit limited, considering the state did not recognize that many holidays.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 18.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Internal Communication

Great communication

Gender Equality

Many women in authority.

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like to see l cost for insurance.

What I like about the company

I feel that I am very supported in my personal life as well as professionally

What I dislike about the company

There is nothing that I disapprove of.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 16.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Communication! Hole department leads accountable

What I like about the company

Great benefits, plenty of opportunities to move within the company

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes there is a lack of communication but that seems to be in each department not upper management

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 09.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More staff. Alyssa’s being short of RNs, PCAs, mental health assistance

What I like about the company

All about growth and becoming better.

What I dislike about the company

The pay being lower than the rest of the hospitals in the area

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Company Culture

Love my coworkers we help special young kids with behavior problems that have autism. Putt staff is amazing and supportive in every way

Support from management

My managers are the best

Teamwork

We have the very best managers there is

Freedom to work independently

We are trusted to do the very best job

Internal Communication

Amazing communication

Gender Equality

We are treated equal

Attitude towards older colleagues

This could be better

Career Development

Yes but none that suit me

Overall compensation for your work

Not at all I need to be paid more

Office / Work Environment

We are taken care of

Environmental Friendliness

Not at all

Work-Life Balance

Time at home pulls at me. I wish the money was better so I wouldn’t have to work so much

Company Image

Love my job

Handicapped Accessibility

Yes it’s a hospital

Workplace Safety

Our patients can be very violent. We got each other’s backs

Challenging Work

It’s a little challenging but very rewarding

Inclusive / Diverse

Very diverse I love it

Suggestions for improvement

  • More income. Lower deductible on insurance

What I like about the company

I’m struggling to keep my head above water on my salary. I wish it paid more. I make less than $18 an hour and can’t afford to go to the dr because my deductible is so high.

What I dislike about the company

I love my job, my coworkers & my manager. The insurance has such a high deductible that I’m unable to go to the dr. I work at least 6 eight hour shift a week every week and don’t bring home enough money to have any savings or anything extra. I give plasma 2xs a week to bring in an extra $75 a week. I just wish I was paid more.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 29.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better communication from leadership

What I like about the company

It always puts the patients and families first

What I dislike about the company

Communication from senior leadership

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • I do not have any recommended improvements

What I like about the company

Everyone always tries to make your day better to ensure the best patient care

What I dislike about the company

I do not have any negative things to say

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 28.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I wish that the amount of occurrences would be relative to FTE, how many days a week you work, and how many children you have. It can be challenging, especially with a big family, to juggle when to call in and when not to...knowing you only get 5 occurrences a year.

What I like about the company

Since being with the hospital since 2001, I have grown with the company. There has been a lot of change, all for the good!

What I dislike about the company

When advancing from within, sometimes we lack in the proper training and mentorship.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 27.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

The culture is relatively good with some drawbacks

Suggestions for improvement

  • Create more opportunities for advancement

What I like about the company

I have been there for 10 years, have been supportive and flexible with time off over the years

What I dislike about the company

The severe difficulty to advance no matter how much education you have

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
  • City
    Cincinnati
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered