Skip over menu?
  

Citrix Systems:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Citrix Systems

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.38
Support from management
3.14
Teamwork
3.38
Freedom to work independently
3.28
Internal Communication
3.22
Office / Work Environment
3.49
Environmental Friendliness
3.70
Work-Life Balance
3.54
Challenging Work
3.43
Inclusive / Diverse
3.53

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.61
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.31
Career Development
2.95
Overall compensation for your work
3.58
Company Image
3.44
Job Security
2.54
Handicapped Accessibility
3.57
Workplace Safety
3.83
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 18 of 37 reviews Parking in 23 of 37 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 9 of 37 reviews Stock or equity options in 15 of 37 reviews 401(k) in 24 of 37 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 2 of 37 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 2 of 37 reviews Ability to work remotely in 13 of 37 reviews Desirable office location in 13 of 37 reviews Tuition assistance in 17 of 37 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 12 of 37 reviews 401(k) Match in 19 of 37 reviews Flexible spending account in 14 of 37 reviews Paid time off in 23 of 37 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 19 of 37 reviews Relocation allowance in 4 of 37 reviews Life insurance in 21 of 37 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 29 of 37 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 8 of 37 reviews Health and wellness programs in 18 of 37 reviews Employee discounts in 21 of 37 reviews Vehicle allowance in 6 of 37 reviews Employee events in 16 of 37 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 7 of 37 reviews Fitness center on site in 18 of 37 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 19 of 37 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • Management just need to care about and listen to employees

What I like about the company

Many friendly faces and a lot of perks like free end of month breakfast and lunch as well as snack Wednesday in addition to the stocked kitchen. And I do have the option to work from home occasionally

What I dislike about the company

The top dogs need to stop focusing on where to cut costs and care more about employees. All this has lead to layoffs, rumors of more layoffs, incredibly long wait times for customers calling support and the sales team has to be able to do everything from sell to onboard and make sure they retain the customer.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Raleigh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about Citrix Systems? Get answers from others who know this company!

Suggestions for improvement

  • Just make it more flexible with work from home option.

What I like about the company

My experience has been very positive and motivating. I enjoy the culture relationship between management and employee. They empower you rather suppressing you. They are a leader in the Software Technology Platform. Great benefits and flexibility.

What I dislike about the company

Should offer more flexibility with work from home option.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix
  • City
    Fort lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 01.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Since Elliot Management joined the board and with the turn over of CEOs, the culture has gone downhill.

Support from management

It doesn't seem to matter how good of a job one does, reviews and rewards don't show that. One bad manager and/or employee can ruin a person's reputation and career growth, which happened to me. Management was completely inept at handling issues when they arose.

Teamwork

It seems that employees take direction from managers without the employee having any say in the matter. Challenging work doesn't exist anymore, the work is boxed in.

Freedom to work independently

When I started at Citrix, management supported employees to work independently. The best manager I had was one who let me lead and make decisions without micromanaging me. Anymore, there are tight reins to make sure everyone does the same thing. Attempts to take initiative is slapped down. Creativity is not encouraged.

Gender Equality

Depends on where you are doing your job: CA or FL. The Santa Clara office is not tolerant of women but the Fort Lauderdale office is.

Career Development

Training and education to advance wasn't paid for. Not once in all of the time I worked there was I able to get training approved. I stagnated because much of the training I wanted to take was expensive and wasn't reimbursed. I didn't want to go back to college, which Citrix did pay for.

Overall compensation for your work

Before all of the changes I was rewarded well for my work. I made a great salary that I can't match outside of Citrix.

Job Security

Too many layoffs.

Challenging Work

Not anymore.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Tell Elliott Management to take a hike. Executive management needs to work on clarity of the products they are building and how to deliver those products.

What I like about the company

I loved working at Citrix because at one time I worked on a challenging product that I loved. Management trusted me to do the right thing. Citrix treated me well in the beginning, offering a decent relocation package, salary, and benefits. For my role, Citrix pays better than other companies today.

What I dislike about the company

That management is incapable of dealing with bad employees and refuses to support good employees.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 18.Oct 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Nothing like it used to be. Last 5 years have been neurotic; changing focus non-stop, changing C-level execs like they were underwear, changing processes and systems “for the better” with end results being the opposite, and leaders with egos bigger than the 851 building. And the layoffs....oh, the layoffs. If you enjoy fearing twice a year that your job will be shipped off to India, this is the place for you.

Teamwork

Lots of managers and directors are roadblocks to getting things done.

Internal Communication

Tend to over communicate but are very ineffective in getting the core message across.

Attitude towards older colleagues

For the most part, appropriate respect is given to those who deserve it.

Overall compensation for your work

Somewhat competitive to other employers but the salary gaps between those in the same grade/function in the company is way off.

Office / Work Environment

Work anywhere concept forced upon you. Can’t keep pictures of your family or work momentos on your desk because you have none. You show up, throw your stuff into a tiny locker, grab a fistful of Lysol wipes and try to find a work area that has working equipment and isn’t surrounded by those who talk loudly non-stop all day, even when you are on conf calls.

Work-Life Balance

Still pretty good - one of the few things keeping me here.

Company Image

Once excellent, now becoming a joke.

Job Security

I can count on two hands how many rounds of layoffs I’ve been through in my time here.

Challenging Work

Very challenging, because they are constantly changing direction.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop changing direction, focus and product names non-stop.

What I like about the company

Insurance benefits are pretty good. Lots of people still here do care about the company and doing good work.

What I dislike about the company

Everything mentioned in comments above.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Goleta
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 08.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Deceptive and dishonest workplace - doing what is ethically right and telling the truth might come with consequences; even when shared in the most constructive manner driven by good intentions.

Support from management

I was not involved in any of the decisions relating to my career when roles and responsibilities changed. Changes in the Citrix environment happen with a frequency of every six months. Unfortunately at Citrix employees are treated as resources and tools rather than as beings with families and careers. Attrition is high

Teamwork

Group theory isn't something practiced. There is talk and projection toward teamwork - however the core departments work independently and not as one force.

Freedom to work independently

No

Internal Communication

Communication is not open door. Since changes occurs frequently, there are a alot of underground activities and communications for control by leadership.

Office / Work Environment

To a liar, the honest man will forever be his immortal enemy. Working in an environment where many are willing to tell mistruths becomes exhaustive to battle and takes away from the company as a whole. management should reward honesty and integrity.

Job Security

Based on the legacy frequency of mass layoffs every 3 years; Citrix should be seen as a job not a career. Career minded beware!

Suggestions for improvement

  • Listen - it's an art and a science with many truthful rewards.

What I like about the company

The Technology and legacy founder

What I dislike about the company

Lack of Business Ethics from Leadership. And the lack of commitment to their employees. No pension and no job security makes it a risky career decision.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 31.Aug 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

They put a great show up for there workers, as best they can at this point. there budgets from year to year on events keeps getting smaller as they focus more on stock prices.

Support from management

Yes, Your manager sets goals and work with you to make and progress in the goals set. In the over all picture the goals mean nothing as they choose money over good people.

Teamwork

Team work on the teams are great, everyone pulls together to fix an issue in the US office's. once an issue is out of the USA that's where it falls apart and customer end up having issue's and the US support team fix the issue after they are upset.

Freedom to work independently

Independently is how all parts of support starts till you hit a wall. Its how fast you hit this wall and where you ask for help defines the level of support you can offer.

Internal Communication

As for how the company is doing and where they want to go is given on weekly updates. As for training and how things are fixed or done is all hands on.

Attitude towards older colleagues

They don't keep most people for more than 5 years, they down size and remove anyone of age or illness

Career Development

If you don't move to new department and grew you end up being out sourced.

Office / Work Environment

The environment is great, updated work areas. clean effective, where the issue is Technology, the systems used are not up to what is needed to do the job.

Environmental Friendliness

PR department is great at demonstrating concern and green all the way.

Work-Life Balance

The company on paper states this is something they consider on everything, if you are in manager and up jobs.. for the rest there is not many options for working from home even tho that is what the company is about.

Challenging Work

Challenging work yes ever customer is different.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Keep the people that helped support customers, stop moving jobs out of country

What I like about the company

The People you work with are great and care for each other.

What I dislike about the company

When it comes to stock prices they will do anything (move more than 85% of the company out of the USA to India)

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 19.Aug 2016
  • Employee

What I like about the company

I really enjoyed all the free food provided by the company.

What I dislike about the company

They cultivated an environment of harassment and fear: a lot of employees were scared to take time off to visit their sick or dying parents because they would still have to make up for the time loss.
As someone who was not only a minority but apart of the LGBT community I heard many racial slurs lobbied against me. When I reported the person for using slurs in regards to me they said they would take care of it, they never did.
If you're a woman, you will be harassed by everyone. You will be leered at and you were most likely hired based on your looks.
The office is filled with homophobic slurs and gay/trans bashing.
Management is inept: they are former sales rep who worked for the company when the strict 150 calls, 6 booked demos, and whatever monetary goal you have was not in place for them. As a result they have no idea what its like to be under that stress and pressure and don't understand how that works.
The turn over rate is high beacuse of this and one more reason: the company uses a Hunter/Seller model of sales. If you are starting out you will be booking demos but it is up to the closer to close the deal; you however are still held responsible for the deal. If the closer likes you, they'll try if they don't they will move on and burn through your booked demo. A lot of the people who are sellers usually have the option of opening and creating their own deals, these deals will garner the closer a full commission rather then splitting it with you. There is no real incentive for the closer to try and help you, they only care about meeting their own quota and keeping their jobs.
As one of the managers once told me "you guys are mulch we feed into a machine, which is why we higher taxi cab drivers and college drop outs." before she smiled informing me he was just kidding.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Raleigh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 09.Feb 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

mangers and leads are amazing. VP's only care about money and not people "even the customers"

Teamwork

Per teams are great. Per groups as a hole don't work very well

Internal Communication

No one ever knows what is going on from day to day on anything till a customer calls in upset

Office / Work Environment

Never had the computers to reimage anything

Job Security

they out source every job

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stick with what you know how to do. keep the people that fix issues.

What I like about the company

the people that are and where there are amazing

What I dislike about the company

They say they are there to help there customers, but it seem like they never got any where with it.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 12.Dec 2015
  • Employee

Company Culture

Employee friendly - allowed flexible hours and telecommuting except for some managers who were more rigid.

Support from management

My manager was very supportive but needed to be more effective politically since other departments usually got credit for our work and results.

Teamwork

Most employees were willing to collaborate and help when needed.

Work-Life Balance

Good lip service but you needed to stay on top of email nights and weekends and put in long hours when project deadlines were unrealistic.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Allow more decisions to be made by middle management. Upper management decided which positions were eliminated during the layoff and, in some cases, didn't fully understand the impact or know what the position really did. Many middle managers and individual contributors still there don't know "the plan" of what their group will be expected to do with significant cuts or what changes are being considered to improve efficiency or effectiveness.

What I like about the company

Compensation and benefits were good, but didn't improve much during my 9 years there. People were bright and willing to support others. With some exceptions, it was a collaborative rather than a competitive environment.

What I dislike about the company

The company is undergoing significant change due to pressure from an activist investor. Having just been impacted by a 10% downsizing, I understand from those still there that survivors don't know anymore who does what or how to get some things done and some managers, including my former manager, are simply saying they no longer have the staff to do what they used to.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 06.Dec 2015
  • Employee

Company Culture

Announced on the christmas party that they will fire 2000 people world wide. Thats strange for a christmas party.

Support from management

Management is new and don't know how to manage.

Teamwork

There where no real team where I was working, but I know from others, that it depent on the team you are in.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Improve your middle management with "real" managers.

What I like about the company

Extremely flexible with time and remote work

What I dislike about the company

The Goleta location has a strange culture. Everyone pretened to be super friendly but kick you when you turn around.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Citrix Systems, Inc.
  • City
    Goleta
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered