Skip over menu?
  

City of Hope:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for City of Hope

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.26
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.42
Freedom to work independently
3.43
Internal Communication
2.86
Office / Work Environment
3.78
Environmental Friendliness
3.59
Work-Life Balance
3.43
Challenging Work
3.58
Inclusive / Diverse
3.70

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.57
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.67
Career Development
2.86
Overall compensation for your work
3.43
Company Image
3.78
Job Security
3.33
Handicapped Accessibility
3.91
Workplace Safety
3.91
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 10 of 36 reviews Parking in 21 of 36 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 8 of 36 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 36 reviews 401(k) in 22 of 36 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 36 reviews No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 6 of 36 reviews Desirable office location in 7 of 36 reviews Tuition assistance in 10 of 36 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 11 of 36 reviews 401(k) Match in 13 of 36 reviews Flexible spending account in 14 of 36 reviews Paid time off in 27 of 36 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 30 of 36 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 36 reviews Life insurance in 20 of 36 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 24 of 36 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 2 of 36 reviews Health and wellness programs in 19 of 36 reviews Employee discounts in 16 of 36 reviews Vehicle allowance in 2 of 36 reviews Employee events in 19 of 36 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 4 of 36 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 2 of 36 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • better downward communication to all employees

What I like about the company

being a part of the process in fighting cancer and discovering cures

What I dislike about the company

Upper management is very corporate-minded

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
What is the company culture like at City of Hope? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 24.May 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More consistentcy between similar departments

What I like about the company

Collaborative group working together to find cures

What I dislike about the company

Could improve communication between upper management and main workers

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 21.May 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More communication with employees at locations other than main campus

What I like about the company

You know you are part of the larger effort to find a cure for cancer and other diseases

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes individual leadership personnel dont seem to connect with their staff

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 18.May 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

They have a lot of culture

Support from management

Sometimes

Teamwork

Sure

Freedom to work independently

no problems

Internal Communication

communication sucks.

Gender Equality

yup

Attitude towards older colleagues

there are older pepole there

Career Development

not really

Overall compensation for your work

It is Okay

Office / Work Environment

most of the time

Environmental Friendliness

sure

Work-Life Balance

It is fine.

Company Image

Been there over 10 years

Handicapped Accessibility

sure do

Workplace Safety

most of the tiome

Challenging Work

sometimes it is, sometimes its not.

Inclusive / Diverse

lots of diffrentr people

Suggestions for improvement

  • Reconice the little people. Not just the one in high chair

What I like about the company

I have learn a lot in my position. I am mostly left alone to do my work.

What I dislike about the company

Communication sucks. Sometimes it is hard to get support during the off shift.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered
  • 08.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Things are starting to change.

Support from management

not really

Teamwork

We are sometimes told to stay away.

Freedom to work independently

I'm usually left alone

Internal Communication

Communication sucks.

Gender Equality

lots of women there

Attitude towards older colleagues

lots of older people there

Career Development

No way to move up.

Overall compensation for your work

pay is ok

Office / Work Environment

It is fine.

Environmental Friendliness

lots of waste

Work-Life Balance

'm not given a lot of overtime

Company Image

used too.

Job Security

not too sure right now.

Handicapped Accessibility

lots of ramps

Workplace Safety

Never gotten hurt.

Challenging Work

Some days are easy, some days are hard.

Inclusive / Diverse

lots of different people there

Suggestions for improvement

  • The doctors are treided like royalty but the lower workers are treated like crap.

What I like about the company

I have learned a lot in my area of work.

What I dislike about the company

They are building more but do not want to pay people to maintain it.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cytogenetics City of Hope Medical Center,
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Would be nice to offer workshops that happen at the main campus to those offices offsite.

What I like about the company

Have only been with the company for a little over 6 months, but most people are friendly and willing to help you.

What I dislike about the company

There is nothing I disapprove of.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 14.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

They are mostly a good company

Support from management

mostly

Teamwork

Not really.

Freedom to work independently

I don't get bothered

Internal Communication

Their communication sucks.

Gender Equality

They are good

Attitude towards older colleagues

we have a lot of older people

Career Development

There is no way to move up

Overall compensation for your work

sure

Office / Work Environment

I'm mostly outside

Environmental Friendliness

not really

Work-Life Balance

It is ok.

Company Image

I used too

Job Security

No position is stable

Handicapped Accessibility

lots of ramps.

Workplace Safety

They don't train very well

Challenging Work

It is not that hard

Inclusive / Diverse

Lots of different people

Suggestions for improvement

  • Treat very one the same. weather they are talking to paicents or unglogging the tiolet.

What I like about the company

They are always growing. Building more and more.

What I dislike about the company

Unless you are a higher up, and you pass away, they will not say anything. We had two guys pass away and there was no mention of it.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cytogenetics City of Hope Medical Center,
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 28.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Parking is the only thing I can suggest for now.

What I like about the company

City of Hope really tries to make it's employees enjoy working there. We all received access to a health and wellness program and the company hosts events specifically for employees several times throughout the year. I also benefit from knowing that I am partaking in a great cause everyday working for City of Hope.

What I dislike about the company

The parking for employees is a little disappointing. It was fantastic that a new lot was created, however most of it isn't accessible to employees. I would really suggest parking structures as opposed to lots considering there are so many employees, and even temporary workers throughout the year.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 22.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • break up the clique. Discard "doctors as gods" mentality

What I like about the company

none I can tell you. Better off if you work somewhere else

What I dislike about the company

the clique system. too much backstabbing , employee morale are low

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 07.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Communitate better, and do things for the lower on the totom pole people. We have had a couple of people in our department pass away, but there is no mention of them. But if I higher up pass away they make sure everyone knows.

What I like about the company

It cares for a lot of people and is really big place with lots more being built.

What I dislike about the company

They want to get more and more buildings, but they don't want to pay the people to fix things.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    City of Hope National Medical Center
  • City
    Duarte
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered