Skip over menu?
  

Clean Harbors:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Clean Harbors

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.25
Support from management
2.33
Teamwork
2.57
Freedom to work independently
2.60
Internal Communication
2.18
Office / Work Environment
2.39
Environmental Friendliness
2.56
Work-Life Balance
2.22
Challenging Work
3.19
Inclusive / Diverse
2.39

Career factor

Gender Equality
2.41
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.43
Career Development
2.31
Overall compensation for your work
2.33
Company Image
2.53
Job Security
2.60
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.13
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 13 of 70 reviews Parking in 27 of 70 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 3 of 70 reviews Stock or equity options in 10 of 70 reviews 401(k) in 44 of 70 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 6 of 70 reviews Desirable office location in 8 of 70 reviews Tuition assistance in 18 of 70 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 5 of 70 reviews 401(k) Match in 21 of 70 reviews Flexible spending account in 15 of 70 reviews Paid time off in 43 of 70 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 44 of 70 reviews Relocation allowance in 4 of 70 reviews Life insurance in 34 of 70 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 19 of 70 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 10 of 70 reviews Health and wellness programs in 26 of 70 reviews Employee discounts in 18 of 70 reviews Vehicle allowance in 7 of 70 reviews Employee events in 12 of 70 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 8 of 70 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 7 of 70 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 23.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Almost non existent.

Support from management

More like baby sitters

Teamwork

Encouraged, not practiced.

Freedom to work independently

No.

Internal Communication

Always received quarterly results. However, no wage increase since 2014.

Gender Equality

It's a man's world.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Always looking to get rid of the older folks.

Overall compensation for your work

Below average pay.

Challenging Work

Overwhelming.

Suggestions for improvement

  • The company needs to take a good look at the way employees are being treated.

What I like about the company

nothing.

What I dislike about the company

Greed that begins at the very top. CEO acquires new companies at an uncontrollable rate without compensating the employees that are picking up the the extra work.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors Environmental services
  • City
    Norwell
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
Have a question about Clean Harbors? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 06.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Overall compensation for your work

Below market norms.

Office / Work Environment

Everyone has an attitude. No one is happy here.

Work-Life Balance

34 hrs at home per week.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Employ/contractor recognition. Regular pay increases.

What I like about the company

Job stability.

What I dislike about the company

Employee attitude.
Employees pass the buck. Dont do their jobs.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    clean harbors environmental company
  • City
    Norwell
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Others
  • 16.Feb 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

They set their employees up to fail.

Support from management

Non exsistant. Most don’t or can’t do the jobs they are supposed to manage.

Teamwork

Maybe within each department but, otherwise it’s each department manager trying to make the others look bad

Internal Communication

Management believes it’s below them to communicate with hourly employees

Gender Equality

Two stars because they will make a supervisor out of a willing female

Attitude towards older colleagues

How fast can they force them out seems to be the idea.

Career Development

Not going to happen so forget that.

Overall compensation for your work

Lowest paying chemical plant in this town

Environmental Friendliness

Can’t keep up with the waste in the warehouse.

Work-Life Balance

They believe 60 plus hours a week is nothing. To them it would. They’re off every weekend.

Company Image

No problem here. They have no public image here.

Job Security

Always, always watch your back

Workplace Safety

Just a lot of posturing.

Inclusive / Diverse

Not at this plant. Most anti white plant you can imagine

Suggestions for improvement

  • Try to get a GM from the south. The yankee mentality doesn’t work well here. Stop taking benefits away from employees.

What I like about the company

If you leave there you’ll feel so much better from what I’ve been told by many who have quit.

What I dislike about the company

Anti employee atmosphere. No help or support from management. They are always looking for an excuse to berate,belittle or attempte to intimidate.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    clean harbors. el dorado, at.
  • City
    El Dorado
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Production

Suggestions for improvement

  • Slow down the expansion and buying of other companies to increase stock prices. And step back and remember those that get dirty are the ones making those profits possible take care of them

What I like about the company

After 13 years with company. I have no positive feedback. I held on only because the possibility of promotion was dangled in front of me and I was too stubborn to move on. Been three years since I left and it was the best thing for my mental health I ha

What I dislike about the company

Stop promoting unqualified personell that manages their staff with scare tactics, harassment, and humiliation to achieve high profits. Being with the company for as long as I was I saw this treatment in numerous offices throughout the country. Many quali

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors Environmental Services, Inc.
  • City
    Norwell
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 31.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Awesome ppl

Challenging Work

Gr8

Suggestions for improvement

  • Perhaps improve the website ...

What I like about the company

They treat me like I'm the family member.

What I dislike about the company

None. Not a single bad experience.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors
  • City
    Norwell
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would recommend more schedulers, paid travel.

What I like about the company

Positive experience includes the opportunity to spe as k directly the owner of the company

What I dislike about the company

Only 1 person is responsible for scheduling pick ups and the calls come in constantly and appointment times are filled too quickly.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Clean Harbors Sacramento CA.
  • City
    Sacramento
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 16.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Possible work from home days, more flexible hours, better pay

What I like about the company

Good manger, easy commute for me

What I dislike about the company

Too picky on hours, very strict about 8-5

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors
  • City
    Norwell
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 15.Nov 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

What culture? What is written is not what is followed.

Support from management

Much shared in messages but not followed through in reality in the field.

Teamwork

Everyone out for self and willing to throw anyone under the bus if it puts them in a better light even when false.

Freedom to work independently

Encouraged to take on as much work as can possibly get done while keeping the overtime down to barest minimum.

Internal Communication

Much more gossip than actual communication from the top to the bottom; leadership has no skills for managing or how to communicaqte with employees

Gender Equality

Hard field work open to any who can handle it; few women attempt. Office work open to all.

Attitude towards older colleagues

If already employed older colleagues ok for most part. unless time to cut staff. Older employees in office rolls, passed over.

Career Development

Tuition assistance allowed IF can get classes done while still meeting the job demands when scheduled to work during class hours.

Overall compensation for your work

Fair in most areas; some field personnel years behind on increase or promotion. Job descriptions years out of scope.

Office / Work Environment

Poor managerial skills, drama throughout, including inappropriate liasons with office and management personnel.

Environmental Friendliness

Cleaning company that does not recycle!

Work-Life Balance

Job first at all costs.

Company Image

Falling

Job Security

Never feeling secure irregardless of effort, quality, and quantity made.

Workplace Safety

Attempts are made, progress was seen over last year but ongoing.

Challenging Work

Hard to work the jobs safely and accurately when equipment provided is years past it's life. Very few updated equipment and trucks.

Inclusive / Diverse

hard work and rough conditions open to all.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Clean house and stop the advancement from sexual activity with leadership.

What I like about the company

Decent insurance benefits; not great but decent.

What I dislike about the company

POOR human resources, questionable leadership, in-house DRAMA, cover ups to keep from having to settle another lawsuit; same issues all across the nation.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors Industrial Services, Inc.
  • City
    Deer Park
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 15.Nov 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The improvements I would make is more diversity, and better communication

What I like about the company

My personal experience is that my company gave me paid maternity leave when I had my children

What I dislike about the company

I disapprove of not having more African-Americans in management

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors
  • City
    Baltimore
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 27.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

Unavailable jobs, inconsistent pay.

Internal Communication

Phone unresponsive. Hang off on field employees.

Suggestions for improvement

  • My suggestion for improvement better communication with new hires, pay roll system for new hires is a mess. Always inconsistent pay. Job availability.

What I like about the company

Team work, field managers and supervisors co-operation. Safety standards and strict adherence.

What I dislike about the company

Staying ideal after end of contract job. Inconsistent pay. Dispatch communication attitude towards new hired. Arrogant and hanging off phone on new employees. Lack of patient and understanding. Poor courtesy.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Clean Harbors
  • City
    Houston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered