Skip over menu?
  

Cleveland Metropolitan School District:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Cleveland Metropolitan School District

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.63
Support from management
3.46
Teamwork
3.90
Freedom to work independently
3.66
Internal Communication
3.27
Office / Work Environment
3.54
Environmental Friendliness
3.13
Work-Life Balance
3.66
Challenging Work
4.24
Inclusive / Diverse
4.34

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.29
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.07
Career Development
3.41
Overall compensation for your work
3.37
Company Image
3.73
Job Security
4.05
Handicapped Accessibility
4.26
Workplace Safety
3.82
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 3 of 41 reviews Parking in 16 of 41 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 10 of 41 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 41 reviews 401(k) in 15 of 41 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 1 of 41 reviews Desirable office location in 4 of 41 reviews Tuition assistance in 3 of 41 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 12 of 41 reviews 401(k) Match in 6 of 41 reviews Flexible spending account in 6 of 41 reviews Paid time off in 22 of 41 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 26 of 41 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 21 of 41 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 6 of 41 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 5 of 41 reviews Health and wellness programs in 21 of 41 reviews Employee discounts in 12 of 41 reviews Vehicle allowance in 4 of 41 reviews Employee events in 8 of 41 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 4 of 41 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 2 of 41 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 12.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

5

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better foundation, more hands on one on one with the students.

What I like about the company

Great experience. I love my job

What I dislike about the company

Nothing, it's perfect. The is really nothing that I would change about they company that I work for.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about Cleveland Metropolitan School District? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 04.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

The people I work with are great, but the leadership is lacking. They do not supply the staff with the tools needed to do their jobs correctly.

Support from management

They talk about helping, but in reality I lack the tools needed.

Teamwork

We have meetings to share our resources and information on students, but sometimes it really a waste of time that the State thinks will help.

Freedom to work independently

As teachers we have to work independently

Internal Communication

There is communication, though maybe not what we need to hear.

Overall compensation for your work

Best retirement and heath care around

Office / Work Environment

We all have control of our room temperature, but technology can be a challenge.

Environmental Friendliness

None available.

Work-Life Balance

As a teacher, we have to do a lot of work at home.

Company Image

There lack of technology and training is a joke compared to other districts.

Job Security

We have seniority as one of our ways of determining who gets laid off

Workplace Safety

Very basic training and lack of security to support teachers.

Challenging Work

Dealing with HS kids from the inner city can be a difficult. They lack the background in learning and acceptable social skills.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make it easier to kick the kids out who come to school without the desire to learn. They just cause trouble and are a distraction. They prevent others from reaching their learning potential.

What I like about the company

The most positive experiences are my co=workers and the students who come to school and are willing to learn. There is nothing like having a student, current or past who comes up to you and tells you that you have made a difference in their life.

What I dislike about the company

We have some of the lowest achieving students in the state. The district has a goal of becoming a "premiere" district. How can we become a premier district when we don't even have working computers in the classroom. They want us to use technology to engage the students but they do not provide it.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 30.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Degraded and stepped on for every imaginable problem. Inadequate materials and poor support and supervision.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Replace all leadership roles including the Mayor who is in charge of the district. What a joke.

What I like about the company

The other teachers. They’re amazing working with nothing and producing so much.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 29.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Most of the people who work in my building are team players. The moral is good for the most part.

Teamwork

Team building is always offered and emcouraged. We meet weekly as a team.

Freedom to work independently

Many employees are professional and are able to complete tasks and meet deadlines. There are always a few outliers though.

Internal Communication

Many work related things are communicated via email in a timely manner. I often feel like I’m in ‘the-know’ about my district.

Gender Equality

Everyone is treated and paid fairly. We have a set pay scale and it does not mater your age/race/gender. Everyone is paid based on experience jn the field.

Attitude towards older colleagues

As states above, everyone is treated fairly.

Career Development

Many professional developments are offered by the district and are paid for by the district

Overall compensation for your work

I am paid higher than most people in my position in other districts.

Office / Work Environment

The building I work in was built in 2011. We have state of the art technology, air conditioning, and security. All buildings are not like this though.

Environmental Friendliness

We have a recycling program, and a water filtration system in the lobby that supplied recycled water for plants and a fish pond.

Work-Life Balance

CMSD allows me to be a great teacher with many professional developments that are offered during the work day. I also feel like I have ample time with my family at home.

Company Image

There are many benefits that we receive that make me proud to work there.

Job Security

With yearly evaluations I know how I am performing and know that my job is stable.

Handicapped Accessibility

Every aspect of our building is ADA compliant.

Workplace Safety

Although we have metal detectors, some things are not caught

Challenging Work

We work in a high poverty/high crime neighborhood. Many families do not value education. Often student suffer from trauma/lead poisoning/ abuse.

Inclusive / Diverse

There is no one race or gender that overpowers another in our workplace.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Our HR department is sometimes lacking in communication. I, and many people I know, have taken maternity leave or FMLA. We did not know how this process was handled and many HR personnel do not email or call back.

What I like about the company

Working for CMSD has been enjoyable. If someone is unhappy in their position, they are always able to apply for another position in a different building. Professional developments are always provided and paid for.

What I dislike about the company

Some administrators are unkind and unfair. I have seen employees lose their jobs because they were ‘not liked’ and deemed ‘unfit’ for positions, even though this may have not been true.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Office space should be given to every officer

What I like about the company

I get to help influence the future if our youth

What I dislike about the company

The pay should be more and Heath care sign up shouldn't have a deadline

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland metropolitan school district
  • City
    Cleveland Heights
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 20.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Let employees work from home occasionally. Offer more professional development.

What I like about the company

I get along well with everyone on my team. It is a diverse work environment which I like as well. Great health benefits and time off.

What I dislike about the company

There are no opportunities for advancement or professional growth.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 20.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • At this time I cannot think of anything that I did not already mention

What I like about the company

The team I work with is awesome! Teamwork makes the dream work

What I dislike about the company

Bad weather think about those staff members that drive really far and students that have to walk

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered
  • 19.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More cohesive feel where everyone listens and has a little sympathy

What I like about the company

You are constantly meeting new people. You are the captain of a vessel you do what you feel is right to get you and your passengers where they need to go safely. That is the job

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes the management doesn’t seem to appreciate what we do. They get overwhelmed at times with situations but don’t take away into account what will happen to us.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would make activities/events for students and their families mandatory on a once a month, if not more basis!

What I like about the company

Self-awareness, self-growth, for sure! Working with children opens up your eyes to things you probably don’t even think of normally. Getting through to the children is one of the greatest feelings in the world!! When you know that you’ve touched a life, like actually made an impact on a child— it feels like walking on sunshine!! These children need us! They need guidance, and help! They need to be aware of all that they can do in this world without limits!!!’

What I dislike about the company

The administrators not being a part of the teachers union

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 09.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I believe there can be more support for teachers from administrations in all schools.

What I like about the company

My relationships with my coworkers are great.

What I dislike about the company

Administration is not fair, supportive or helpful.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District
  • City
    Cleveland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee