Skip over menu?
  

Columbia Bank:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Columbia Bank

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.75
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.58
Freedom to work independently
2.92
Internal Communication
3.33
Office / Work Environment
3.58
Environmental Friendliness
3.25
Work-Life Balance
3.58
Challenging Work
2.91
Inclusive / Diverse
3.36

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.58
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.58
Career Development
3.17
Overall compensation for your work
3.08
Company Image
3.64
Job Security
3.82
Handicapped Accessibility
3.73
Workplace Safety
3.91
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 5 of 12 reviews Parking in 6 of 12 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 2 of 12 reviews Stock or equity options in 5 of 12 reviews 401(k) in 10 of 12 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 3 of 12 reviews Desirable office location in 3 of 12 reviews Tuition assistance in 5 of 12 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 5 of 12 reviews 401(k) Match in 9 of 12 reviews Flexible spending account in 5 of 12 reviews Paid time off in 8 of 12 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 8 of 12 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 6 of 12 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 1 of 12 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 3 of 12 reviews Health and wellness programs in 6 of 12 reviews Employee discounts in 4 of 12 reviews Vehicle allowance in 3 of 12 reviews Employee events in 6 of 12 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site Free Snacks/Drinks in 2 of 12 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • Programs need to be well developed by management before they are released to company. Branch leadership needs to be monitored a little more closely with regard to fulfilling stated roles and responsibilities.

What I like about the company

Very involved in helping the local community

What I dislike about the company

Branch specific, leadership can be lax and there is little response to constructive feedback

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Madras
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about Columbia Bank? Get answers from others who know this company!

Suggestions for improvement

  • Additional benefits or higher pay for our area

What I like about the company

Great mangers who will help you in every needed situation

What I dislike about the company

Better tuition assistance would be nice

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Tacoma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 02.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Be willing to give more tools to complete your job.

What I like about the company

Columbia Bank takes good care of there employees with their great benefits.

What I dislike about the company

I believe that they could have more competitive pay.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Columbia State Bank
  • City
    Tacoma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 22.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Communication is the biggest thing that could be improved. Often times we will get different directives from different people for the same task and nobody communicates with each other to know what needs to be done and how.

What I like about the company

I like how flexible they can be with my hours when it comes to personal time for things like doctor's appointments, school meetings, and other things that come up for my daughter.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Maple Shade
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 18.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • better payback for tuition.

What I like about the company

the people

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Lake Oswego
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 08.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

One of the top cultures I've ever worked at.

Career Development

They have a great process on paper.

Overall compensation for your work

They pay fair but not great.

What I like about the company

Their culture

What I dislike about the company

They are very average in terms of pay and advancement

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Columbia State Bank
  • City
    Tacoma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 05.Nov 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Higher pay is always good and better training for employees. Please work at supporting newer employees

What I like about the company

Reliable paycheck and fair company

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Fair Lawn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified
  • 19.Aug 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

One of my former managers screamed at me for something she did wrong. I went out on medical leave for 5 weeks because of stress.

Suggestions for improvement

  • They need to focus on the needs and welfare of their employees. They need to stop hiring management who treat employees like they are machines.

What I like about the company

I liked the relationships I formed with branch employees.

What I dislike about the company

Everything else. I left the bank with severe anxiety, depression, and self esteem issues. It was confirmed by a fellow employee, that they were trying to get me to quit. If I had the money for an attorney, I could have filed a harassment and discrimination case.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Columbia State Bank
  • City
    Tacoma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered
  • 16.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Truth

2.72

Suggestions for improvement

  • n/a

What I like about the company

They offer a 401 K & Pension and good health benefits

What I dislike about the company

It stopped being a fun envirement, progressively got worse over the 18 yrs. No loyalty to long term employees, popularity contest on promotions.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Columbia Bank
  • City
    Fair Lawn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 18.Apr 2017
  • Employee
Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Columbia Bank Merchant Services
  • City
    Tacoma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered