Skip over menu?
  

Covance Inc:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Research and Development/Sciences
Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews for Covance Inc

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company culture
2.33
Support from Management
2.33
Teamwork
3.00
Level of Autonomy
2.67
Communication
2.64
Office/Work Environment
2.38
Eco-consciousness
2.58
Work-Life Balance
2.44
Challenging Work
2.96
Inclusive/Diverse
2.47

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.03
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.45
Overall Compensation for your work
2.76
Company Image
2.50
Job security
2.55
Handicap Accessibility
3.22
Workplace Safety
3.32
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 13 of 35 reviewers Parking in 21 of 35 reviewers Easy access to public transportation in 6 of 35 reviewers Stock or equity options in 12 of 35 reviewers 401(k) in 26 of 35 reviewers No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 35 reviewers Ability to work remotely in 9 of 35 reviewers Desirable office location in 10 of 35 reviewers Tuition assistance in 19 of 35 reviewers Paid Parental Leave in 6 of 35 reviewers 401(k) Match in 20 of 35 reviewers Flexible spending account in 20 of 35 reviewers Paid time off in 25 of 35 reviewers Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 22 of 35 reviewers Relocation allowance in 4 of 35 reviewers Life insurance in 21 of 35 reviewers

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 22 of 35 reviewers Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 35 reviewers Health and wellness programs in 16 of 35 reviewers Employee discounts in 11 of 35 reviewers Vehicle allowance in 1 of 35 reviewers Employee events in 9 of 35 reviewers No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 8 of 35 reviewers Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 35 reviewers
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 06.Nov 2017
  • Employee

What I dislike about the company

Not willing to work with employees for continuing education schedules.

  • 18.Oct 2017
  • Employee

Company culture

This company requires a lot employees and they not treated fairly.

Support from Management

Hardly any

Teamwork

They choose who they want to be on their team regardless of qualification.

Communication

You can't talk to higher personnel unless approved supervisor. They promote their friends instead an employees qualifications.

Work-Life Balance

High stress level

Suggestions for improvement

  • How they employees, promotion process
  • 11.Oct 2017
  • Employee

Stay away

2.50

Company culture

Two mergers within two years no direction just integration with many purges of good people

Support from Management

They are running around like chickens with their heads cut off

Teamwork

Non applicable total dissaray

Level of Autonomy

Who knows

Communication

Non existant

Attitude towards older colleagues

Eliminating senior folks to save money

Career Development

Non existent


Work-Life Balance

Not emphasized

  • 13.Sep 2017
  • Employee

Company culture

For the best, I will rather reserve the comment. It almost costed me my life!

Teamwork

No

Level of Autonomy

No

Communication

Yes

Gender Equality

May be yes. Population of women to men was 4:1

Attitude towards older colleagues

There are no older workers. I saw one only at the time

Overall Compensation for your work

No

Office/Work Environment

Yes

Eco-consciousness

Yes, there are recle bins

Company Image

Not at all

  • 29.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Career Development

no career dev. path

Office/Work Environment

horrible environment. Absolutely NO perks compared to every other pharma I have worked at.

Suggestions for improvement

  • look at more progressive companies and see what you are doing wrong compared to them. By treating your employees well you will get less turnover and better quality of work.

What I like about the company

nothing only possible plus was that it is fast paced

  • 29.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Workplace Safety

Covance is a horrible horrible working environment. I would not recommend this company to anyone. I would rather work at a North Korean labor camp than ever work at Covance again.

Suggestions for improvement

  • decrease employee workload, allow for work/life balance, increase pay, don't emotionally abuse employees

What I like about the company

Nothing

What I dislike about the company

Covance is a horrible work environment. Everyone is overworked, underpaid and treated like garbage. I would rather work in a North Korean labor camp than ever have worked there. I also am at a sponsor company, and since my time there have explicitly not recommended that anyone use Covance as a CRO.

  • 26.Jul 2017
  • Employee
Company culture
5.00
Support from Management
0.00
Teamwork
5.00
Level of Autonomy
0.00
Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
0.00
Overall Compensation for your work
4.00
Office/Work Environment
0.00
Eco-consciousness
0.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job security
5.00
Handicap Accessibility
0.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive/Diverse
5.00
  • 23.May 2017
  • Employee

Company culture

often at times, it feels like a sweat shop environment.

Support from Management

For the workload, there are unrealistic expectations as projects are typically under resourced.

Teamwork

colleagues and team members strive to do their job well.

Level of Autonomy

Yes

Communication

expectations are not always clearly articulated.

Career Development

No, often times you are pigeon hold, unless you were considered a manager/management 'favorite'.

  • 17.May 2017
  • Employee
Company culture
3.00
Support from Management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Level of Autonomy
3.00
Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall Compensation for your work
2.00
Office/Work Environment
2.00
Eco-consciousness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job security
1.00
Handicap Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive/Diverse
2.00
  • 04.Apr 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Upper management should really listen to the employees who actually do the work for efficiencies and not to people who have never performed the processes and/or tasks they seek to improve.

What I like about the company

Teams work very hard to accomplish work goals

What I dislike about the company

Upper management is disconnected from the day to day tasks. Implements SOPs and work requirements that duplicate efforts. Also, work load requirements are unrealistic and are the root for errors that constantly emerge.