Skip over menu?
  

Daktronics, Inc.:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Manufacturing
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Daktronics, Inc.

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.60
Support from management
2.60
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.90
Internal Communication
2.75
Office / Work Environment
2.78
Environmental Friendliness
2.67
Work-Life Balance
2.44
Challenging Work
2.75
Inclusive / Diverse
2.88

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.20
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.89
Career Development
2.22
Overall compensation for your work
2.78
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.89
Handicapped Accessibility
2.89
Workplace Safety
3.11
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 3 of 10 reviews Parking in 7 of 10 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 1 of 10 reviews Stock or equity options in 5 of 10 reviews 401(k) in 8 of 10 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 5 of 10 reviews Desirable office location in 2 of 10 reviews Tuition assistance in 5 of 10 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 4 of 10 reviews 401(k) Match in 5 of 10 reviews Flexible spending account in 3 of 10 reviews Paid time off in 7 of 10 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 7 of 10 reviews Relocation allowance in 3 of 10 reviews Life insurance in 5 of 10 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 4 of 10 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 10 reviews Health and wellness programs in 4 of 10 reviews Employee discounts in 8 of 10 reviews Vehicle allowance in 1 of 10 reviews Employee events in 6 of 10 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 1 of 10 reviews No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • Increase pay to at least average industry average.

What I like about the company

Work to life balance is amazing.

What I dislike about the company

The pay is a little below industry average.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    Daktronics Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about Daktronics, Inc.? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 29.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Company First; Employees Last

Support from management

Goals and Expectations were never clearly set; "Do Better."

Teamwork

There was always someone to tell you that you are wrong

Freedom to work independently

Work Independently = Work Alone all the time.

Internal Communication

Lots of communication, i.e email and phone meetings, but few decisions.

Gender Equality

Women do not apply for the field support positions.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Your OK if you are a relative or willing to travel 80%.

Career Development

The company says yes, but I could not experience advancement or move out of my position. Regional employment is very growth limited.

Overall compensation for your work

Regional employees are receive 80% of benefits to employees at other companies.

Office / Work Environment

Work from home and moderate flexibility with personal schedule.

Environmental Friendliness

Promotes environmental protection and recycling, but not outside the corporate office. The customer and subcontractors are responsible for disposing of company materials.

Work-Life Balance

Work first; Life last.

Company Image

I spoke very highly of the company, their products, and their services.

Job Security

There are few opportunities for promotion/advancement, or lateral movement as a regional employee. The roles and responsibilities change every year.

Handicapped Accessibility

Only at the corporate offices and manufacturing facilities.

Workplace Safety

It's your responsibility

Challenging Work

Every day is a different customer and a different issue.

Inclusive / Diverse

Opinions and ideas are not supported. Management always found faults, even when customers had praise of a job well done.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop holding on to an idea simply because you though it would work. Recognize that your employees are conveying what your customers want.

What I like about the company

As a new hire, there was a lot of support and education of their products.

What I dislike about the company

They refuse to recognize that their implementation of Six Sigma and Lean is not liked by customers.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 05.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Ergonomics on the work floor. Consult the people doing the work before they make changes. Upper management has no clue how stupid their changes are, thereby making the floor workers frustrated.

What I like about the company

It is close to home. The pay is decent. The company makes an exciting product

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Redwood Falls
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 16.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Fun company culture

Support from management

Leadership does what any leadership should do... press your folks for higher success financially. You have to realize if you are not bringing in the numbers, they are required to look for others who can. That is just what the role requires

Teamwork

During my tenure at Daktronics, we had so many people to assist you in solving a problem that a customer needed answered. The list of folks who aided me was enormous. Thanks guys! I do not know if you are still there, but publicly, thank you.

Freedom to work independently

Trust is earned. I was trusted with an independent site, and it worked wonderfully... until the economy tanked

Internal Communication

Fortunately, I was always in a good position to receive an overabundance of information

Gender Equality

Women have so much say, I was jealous. But seriously, they have a say

Attitude towards older colleagues

Older colleagues were our mentors. Loved them and their wisdom

Career Development

There was so much room for development and training. I just stayed in my position because I loved it above all else

Overall compensation for your work

This could always be done better. There are only a few locations were people are really compensated satisfactorily to the wishes of the employees

Office / Work Environment

I was in charge of my office, so we always had a fun time helping our customers, and taking care of all their needs.

Environmental Friendliness

We really did not have a concern for this at our independent site. We did recycle all our paper products, and metals

Work-Life Balance

My situation was difficult to provide equilibrium on this category. But it was know up front. Travel was a part of your day. No way you can work on a customers equipment without travel. So it was tough at times. But there were times when I would be at home for long periods of time too.

Company Image

Great image. We were on television all the time. We were at all the big sports events. Great image

Job Security

Before I was let go, they really gave me a chance to get out of the funk that strangled our location. Their patience was thick, but it did not happen when they were forced to ask me to leave. I was thankful for their patience. Of course, shortly after I left, the projected contracts came rolling in. but this was not the fault of anyone.

Handicapped Accessibility

Not an issue

Workplace Safety

I was in charge of weekly / as needed safety briefings, so this was a priority

Challenging Work

I loved solving customers problems with technology. It was very rewarding. Sometimes it was challenging, but after getting experience, it was a matter of polishing off your craft

Inclusive / Diverse

Very open. I am Hispanic in heritage, and my ideas were heard and implemented with success for a long time

Suggestions for improvement

  • Always listen to ideas. They were very good about this, but it is easy to become lax in this exercise

What I like about the company

The fun of video, timing, radio technology and what it can do for customers was always a thrill. Getting access to all the big name facilities was the cherry on the top.

What I dislike about the company

Not a whole lot to dislike. Everyone was just trying to do their job.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 09.Sep 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

Great place to work

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics Inc
  • City
    Sioux Falls
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 13.Feb 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Felt like I didn't matter as a person. We were rarely recognized for accomplishments.

Freedom to work independently

Given strict tasks and order in which to perform.

Overall compensation for your work

Was paid less because I was a student though I did not apply as a student. I had applied for a full time position and was not aware they had reduced my pay because I was a student.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Complement your employees, in every department. Again, I felt like I didn't matter and no matter how hard I tried I felt worse about myself.

What I like about the company

If you are in the right department it can be a resume builder.

What I dislike about the company

I didn't feel like I mattered to the company because they were too focused on end products and not on the well being and feelings of the employees. They reduce compensation for students. I was told upon hiring I would have a position during the winter months but was later told they won't keep students.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 15.Dec 2015
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I won't waste my time answering this. The company is not interested in improvement.

What I like about the company

Nothing.

What I dislike about the company

Micromanagement. Unrealistic goals. False description of internal support. Horrible employee relations. Most sales people move on as soon as possible (months, not years). Chronic employee turnover.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Dartronics, Inc.
  • City
    Perth Amboy
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2011
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Distribution/sales
  • 16.Jun 2018
  • Employee
Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 07.Jul 2016
  • Employee
Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Design

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 05.Dec 2015
  • Employee
  • FORBES
Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered
  • Company
    Daktronics, Inc.
  • City
    Brookings
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered