Skip over menu?
  

First Community Bank:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for First Community Bank

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.26
Support from management
2.95
Teamwork
3.38
Freedom to work independently
3.25
Internal Communication
2.81
Office / Work Environment
3.39
Environmental Friendliness
3.17
Work-Life Balance
3.25
Challenging Work
3.14
Inclusive / Diverse
2.81

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.08
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.05
Career Development
2.71
Overall compensation for your work
2.92
Company Image
3.21
Job Security
3.14
Handicapped Accessibility
3.72
Workplace Safety
3.78
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 6 of 40 reviews Parking in 23 of 40 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 3 of 40 reviews Stock or equity options in 7 of 40 reviews 401(k) in 29 of 40 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 40 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 40 reviews Ability to work remotely in 3 of 40 reviews Desirable office location in 7 of 40 reviews Tuition assistance in 10 of 40 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 11 of 40 reviews 401(k) Match in 24 of 40 reviews Flexible spending account in 16 of 40 reviews Paid time off in 27 of 40 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 31 of 40 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 40 reviews Life insurance in 29 of 40 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 8 of 40 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 4 of 40 reviews Health and wellness programs in 17 of 40 reviews Employee discounts in 11 of 40 reviews Vehicle allowance in 4 of 40 reviews Employee events in 10 of 40 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 2 of 40 reviews Fitness center on site in 3 of 40 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 5 of 40 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 15.Jan 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

My supervisors were always great; however, upper management is the issue here.

Gender Equality

This company should not consider themselves and Equal Opportunity Employer.

Career Development

Once you work in the corporate office, there is really no advancement.

Overall compensation for your work

Benefits are okay. Pay is absolutely terrible. Raises are literally like 5 to 10 cents per year. The manager will lie about giving bonuses (say there are none), but then you find out from co-workers that they have received a bonus. The company is SO unfair with compensation. There are no incentives either.

Job Security

So many people in the areas want jobs that they find you easily replaceable so they don't really care how you feel.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Community Bank
  • City
    Bluefield
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2009
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about First Community Bank? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 11.Jan 2016 (Last edit 12.Jan 2016)
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Change the leadership, significantly improve communications, and review compensation of all employees for more consistent and equitable pay for all staff.

What I like about the company

Quite honestly, I can't think of anything - aside from many of the employees are truly good people; it's just that the executive management doesn't sincerely take care of the employees - the people who are actually the "face" of the Bank to the public.

What I dislike about the company

Lack of communication from the leader. In spite of consistently promoting to the staff that the company is increasing its' profitability (thanks to the hard work of the employees), there is absolutely no job security and the average annual pay raise is @ 1%.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    First Bank and Trust
  • City
    New Orleans
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others
  • 24.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Company Culture

There is constant drama, and talking behind each others backs. I took more sick days than I should have because I just couldn't deal with the drama anymore, and I never call in sick.

Support from management

Everyone is expected to do more than they can with very little support. Conflict is solved with dismissal, drama, and being talked about negatively any time you are not present.

Teamwork

Some coworkers are helpful, management almost never is.

Freedom to work independently

More work is unfairly given to those who have been there longest, regardless of their ability to handle the workload or stress. I was not given jobs I could have handled simply because I was the newest member.

Career Development

No room to move up at all.

Overall compensation for your work

Minimum wage, with no bonuses, or hopes for a raise.

Office / Work Environment

There was black mold in the building that anyone who had the power to fix just ignored.

Job Security

They run so short on staff to begin with it's more likely you'll get even more work when someone else quits because they can't stand it anymore.

Workplace Safety

In order to protect the employees still there I will not say why I felt unsafe, just trust me when I say it's not good at all.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Tear it down and close it. They are terrible to both employees and customers.

What I like about the company

It was close to home at a time when I didn't have a car.

What I dislike about the company

Working in a building with black mold, and a stressful drama filled environment destroyed my mental and physical health in a matter of 8 months. I will never go back there again.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank of Ohio (Tiffin, OH / United States)
  • City
    Marietta, OH
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others
  • 23.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Company Culture

The president of the bank himself makes a point to ask all new employees, after their training and introductory period, what they think of the company and if anything could be done better. If a good idea is presented to him, or any superior, they make it happen.

Support from management

Totally open communication between everyone. Conflict was a non issuse because any issues were delt with before ever getting to a point of conflict. Everyone involved, regardless of position or seniority was given fair consideration.

Teamwork

It was like being adopted into a family, but without the fighting at holidays.

What I like about the company

Literally everything, I miss this job so much, and I wish circumstances had allowed me to stay.

What I dislike about the company

That they don't have a branch near me so I can still work there.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank (Strasburg, VA / United States)
  • City
    Strasburg, VA
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 14.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • One can make suggestions however it will not change. This is a family owned company and the current leader will not change. The only chance for change will be in the future with a new leader.

What I like about the company

Very little.

What I dislike about the company

First Bank Owasso has an environment that offers very little room for advancement and if you are not "in the club" you will go no where. Managers are "hand selected" by the President and he lets it be known. There is continued turnover in the teller and customer service areas due to the levels of expectation. It is a very stressful environment.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Flexible spending account is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    First Bank of Owasso
  • City
    Owasso
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

Fitness center on site is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better work schedule to meet family needs and remote access for bad weather days

What I like about the company

Currently I’m FMLA with a supportive staff

What I dislike about the company

Hiring open positions within in the company

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank
  • City
    St. Louis
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered
  • 24.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • there are no improvements to be made at this time.

What I like about the company

Growth and leadership opportunities

What I dislike about the company

I don't disapprove of any parts of the company.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Community First Bank, Inc.
  • City
    Menahga
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 21.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Again I don't know and I don't want to share

What I like about the company

I don't want to share anything.

What I dislike about the company

I don't know I don't want to share

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank
  • City
    Lubbock
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Less pom-pom pep rallies and greater real support of employees

What I like about the company

have worked there 18 years and MANY have worked there longer. A testament to the employer

What I dislike about the company

upper management is distancing itself from the employees that perform the jobs that keep the bank in business, which is bad for morale

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank of Missouri
  • City
    Hazelwood
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 26.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More communication from higher management.

What I like about the company

Stable job Nice coworkers. Good location.

What I dislike about the company

Not enough room for growth. I wish HE and higher management would communicate to employees more.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    First Bank
  • City
    Wilmington
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee