Skip over menu?
  

GKN Aerospace:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Engineering
Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews for GKN Aerospace

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.56
Support from management
2.28
Teamwork
2.76
Freedom to work independently
2.64
Internal Communication
2.20
Office / Work Environment
2.69
Environmental Friendliness
2.88
Work-Life Balance
2.48
Challenging Work
2.96
Inclusive / Diverse
2.70

Career factor

Gender Equality
2.66
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.73
Career Development
2.35
Overall compensation for your work
2.92
Company Image
2.42
Job Security
2.38
Handicapped Accessibility
2.94
Workplace Safety
3.24
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 18 of 109 reviews Parking in 54 of 109 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 8 of 109 reviews Stock or equity options in 15 of 109 reviews 401(k) in 66 of 109 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 2 of 109 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 2 of 109 reviews Ability to work remotely in 10 of 109 reviews Desirable office location in 12 of 109 reviews Tuition assistance in 28 of 109 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 20 of 109 reviews 401(k) Match in 52 of 109 reviews Flexible spending account in 32 of 109 reviews Paid time off in 56 of 109 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 56 of 109 reviews Relocation allowance in 7 of 109 reviews Life insurance in 56 of 109 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 31 of 109 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 7 of 109 reviews Health and wellness programs in 49 of 109 reviews Employee discounts in 24 of 109 reviews Vehicle allowance in 5 of 109 reviews Employee events in 24 of 109 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 1 of 109 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 5 of 109 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 15.Oct 2018
  • Employee

What I like about the company

Great people, excellent development opportunities

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Gkn aerospace
  • City
    Tallassee
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Human resources/recruiting

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about GKN Aerospace? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 25.Sep 2018
  • Employee

Support from management

I was treated good until I told them I was not working 7 days a week. Something they dont tell you until after you are hired and start working.

Work-Life Balance

I went 5 weeks without a day off. It's a 7 day work week. You may go months before you get a day off and they dont care.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop making people work 7 days a week for weeks without a day off.

What I like about the company

I liked what I did but not enough to work 7 days a week.

What I dislike about the company

7 days a week work. You can work weeks or months without a day off unless you use your bank hours/points so you can rest then if an emergency happens you have nothing to use.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    GKN Sinter Metals Inc.
  • City
    Salem
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Not specified
  • Department
    Others

Company Culture

Slightly worse than typical US automotive sector.

Support from management

They do what they can. Handicapped by financial environment and primitive cost management methods.

Teamwork

Better than expected from historically combative US automotive sector.

Freedom to work independently

Perhaps a bit of a strength.

Internal Communication

The right hand does not know what the left is doing. Inventory across 3 facilities and final shipping run via shared Excel spreadsheet. Comical confusion.

Career Development

A foundation, not an apex, not even mid-mountain.

Overall compensation for your work

Par

Office / Work Environment

Office conditions reflect the industrial grinding, welding, cutting fluids of adjacent processes. Get used to it.

Environmental Friendliness

Inefficient lack of systems perspective wastes energy. Metal and fluid reuse/recycle good to excellent

Company Image

It's a place. Sort of.

Job Security

Consistent with US auto, ie mediocrity is the maximum expectation

Challenging Work

A good place to build a foundation in many technical processes. Weak hypercentralized IT is handicapped by management structure and mediocre access to software.

Suggestions for improvement

  • HVAC approach is primitive. Dump process heat outside the building instead of equipment intensive nested layers of heat transfer equipment moving heat from process to building to environment.

What I like about the company

The squeak of the induction hardeners, the hiss of the CO2 laser, the interference welding, close tolerance GD&T centerless hard turning and grinding. Big toys. Big money. Improvement can have a real impact on cost and quality. You won't see the money and the customers probably won't either. The existential pleasures of engineering.

What I dislike about the company

Cursed by the antagonistic approach that characterizes union tainted industries like US automotive. Using Excel to manage inventory on this scale is financially foolhardy and primitive beyond redemption.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    GKN
  • City
    Mebane
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Production
  • 10.Sep 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

Hostile takeover this year...New GM...ALL steps in a positive direction!!!

Support from management

Although I am quite supported...We definitely need to work on this!

Internal Communication

We definitely need to work on this!

Attitude towards older colleagues

Most of our work force is mature--which is great because if the newbies' have questions--there is always someone there to answer a question.

Career Development

We definitely need to work on this!

Overall compensation for your work

I love what I do.

Office / Work Environment

I have a supportive team around me.

Work-Life Balance

It is what you make of it. Lots of work to keep you busy...but, positive attitude and good work ethic make it work!

Company Image

We definitely need to work on this!

Job Security

I love what I do.

Handicapped Accessibility

We make accommodations when needed.

Workplace Safety

Robust E S & H Team that ensure that safety is a top priority!

Challenging Work

Sometimes deadlines are extremely difficult to meet...but, I love what I do!

Suggestions for improvement

  • We need to incorporate an annual bonus structure...perhaps a small, well thought of Christmas gift...

What I like about the company

Never a dull moment. Lots to keep you busy. Great people and belief in the work.

What I dislike about the company

Constant turn-over.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    GKN Aerospace
  • City
    St. Louis
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Human resources/recruiting

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered

Company Culture

Very Friendly co-workers, company seems to be headed in right direction

Support from management

Management is clear on their goals and ask that you buy into the team. They are there to help if needed.

Teamwork

Everyone fights the day to day battles together. Not a political company.

Freedom to work independently

There are a lot of projects to move your career in the right direction.

Internal Communication

Upper Management is starting to be more vocal about expectations.

Work-Life Balance

Work longer hours but not obsessive.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered
  • Company
    GKN Aerospace
  • City
    GKN Aerospace
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 21.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • It needs many improvements and policies only apply to certain people if they like you then you are good to go and if not you’re in trouble.

What I like about the company

I don’t know if any sorry. They are all for themselves and don’t want to help each other.

What I dislike about the company

The fact they do things their way under the table and not the right way.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    GKN Driveline
  • City
    Sanford
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I like working there. The one thing i think they should improve is communication between management and employees and between different shifts.

What I like about the company

I like that you get alot of paid vacation time and paid personal days.

What I dislike about the company

I dont like the amount of overtime and weekends you have to work.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    GKN Driveline North America, Inc.
  • City
    Bowling Green
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 24.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would make sure the environment inside and around the plant was safe for people and wildlife

What I like about the company

Being appreciated by the bosses

What I dislike about the company

Nothing that I can think of. Maybe safety could be better

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    GKN
  • City
    Emporium
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 17.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Could give a lot less points. And not work as many days per week.

What I like about the company

Gives personal time off easily.

What I dislike about the company

Give points for doctors notes.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    GKN Driveline Newton, LLC
  • City
    Newton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 02.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Teamwork

Where I am at everyone works together

Internal Communication

It seems like no one there knows what is going on...management wise

Gender Equality

Seems like more men than women

Attitude towards older colleagues

A lot of younger people work there and have no kind of respect for older people

Overall compensation for your work

Pay doesn't reflect the work you do

Job Security

Everyone is replaceable

Handicapped Accessibility

not sure

Workplace Safety

Safety is number one there

Challenging Work

After you learn everything it is boring

Inclusive / Diverse

Your option doesn't matter

What I like about the company

Most of the people there are friendly and we all get along

What I dislike about the company

Depends on who you are if you move up

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    GKN Driveline Newton, LLC
  • City
    Newton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Vehicle allowance is offered