Skip over menu?
  

Hampton Inn and Suites:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Restaurants/Hotels/Hospitality
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Hampton Inn and Suites

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.68
Support from management
2.20
Teamwork
2.58
Freedom to work independently
2.71
Internal Communication
2.25
Office / Work Environment
2.81
Environmental Friendliness
2.62
Work-Life Balance
2.65
Challenging Work
2.86
Inclusive / Diverse
2.42

Career factor

Gender Equality
2.61
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.71
Career Development
1.85
Overall compensation for your work
1.98
Company Image
2.66
Job Security
2.43
Handicapped Accessibility
2.98
Workplace Safety
2.89
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 14 of 59 reviews Parking in 27 of 59 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 6 of 59 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 59 reviews 401(k) in 7 of 59 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare No ability to work remotely Desirable office location in 2 of 59 reviews No tuition assistance Paid Parental Leave in 1 of 59 reviews 401(k) Match in 6 of 59 reviews Flexible spending account in 2 of 59 reviews Paid time off in 13 of 59 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 18 of 59 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 59 reviews Life insurance in 7 of 59 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 59 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 59 reviews Health and wellness programs in 7 of 59 reviews Employee discounts in 43 of 59 reviews Vehicle allowance in 6 of 59 reviews Employee events in 15 of 59 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 14 of 59 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 11 of 59 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 13.Sep 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Poor

Support from management

Poor

Workplace Safety

Poor

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00
  • Company
    Hampton Inn
  • City
    Fayetteville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
Have a question about Hampton Inn and Suites? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 22.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Support from management

Unclear and passive agressive management.

Internal Communication

Communication is weak among all workers.

Work-Life Balance

Management uses guilt trips to get what he/she wants as well as passive-agressive actions.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn and Suites
  • City
    Coal Center
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 03.Jun 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

The Hilton company itself looks awesome. Although this was family owned so we never participated in any of the events/programs Hilton sent out.

Support from management

Management is the owners. Mom and dad and daughter who are foreign. They will not hire front desk management or housekeeping management. They live in the hotel and are gone every weekend to Houston.

Teamwork

3 out of 5 housekeepers do not speak English but they are very nice so I learned to speak pacito espanol. The front desk ladies are nice to your face.

Freedom to work independently

Management would tell me they always felt safe when they are away and I was working because I had been there so long I knew what to do.

Internal Communication

You do your computer training in the beginning and about 1-2 weeks training with another front desk lady. After that we do not learn anything further only by trial and error when it comes to it.

Gender Equality

There are no men so I can not answer this.

Attitude towards older colleagues

They respect the older people. Senior colleagues, it depends on the situation. They try to make everyone happy even if it's their first week, so in the end the senior worker usually gets upset.

Career Development

Hilton is a major company who always tries to stay active with it's employees and environment but at this particular hotel there is no career development.

Overall compensation for your work

When you are hired they say you will get a yearly evaluation and at that time may or may not get a raise. I did a lot of managers duties (as well as the other front desk ladies, since management was always gone) but in 5 years never got 1 evaluation. I only got compensated for my work when I asked for it and explained the things I was doing.

Office / Work Environment

Heated bathrooms right down the hall is nice. Front desk has their own microwave, fridge and water cooler.

Environmental Friendliness

Management will take all recyclables when they go back to Houston. This includes newspaper, light bulbs and batteries.

Work-Life Balance

I worked 6 days a lot but mostly due to other workers. It's a great place to work if you are always late or like to call in and it is also a good job when you need to make a life like I did for me and my daughter. I worked all the time and was able to support us. Now that I have a boyfriend and my daughter is older I don't work over as much but I did still work 6 day weeks.

Company Image

Exciting to work for a corporate Hilton facility. Franchise owned I will never work at again, maybe Hilton needs to have stricter requirements.

Job Security

Almost no one gets fired. They do try to work with everyone as much as possible when events in your life are happening.

Handicapped Accessibility

The desk we work at is made for wheelchair accessibility which is very uncomfortable for someone with back problems and is tall. But if they were to hire a disabled person, they would be okay. Management fixes everthing themselves so they painted the wheelchair access from the parking lot to the back door with regular red paint, so when it rains it is very slippery (you are supposed to put grit into paint that's going on concrete so it won't be slippery).

Workplace Safety

Front doors lock at 11pm and we open them at 7am. For the most part it is safe.

Challenging Work

You never learn anything new. The most challenging can be is how the Hhonors guests can be.

Inclusive / Diverse

They only hire whites and spanish (even when they don't speak english). I worked there for 5 years when I started there was a man from the previous owners. After he moved, the new management (who I worked for, for 5 years) never hired another man or any other ethnicity even tho a lot of African Americans put applications.

Suggestions for improvement

  • They should listen to their employees more. Even though your employees don't have a lot of money or own business, they probably have a lot of experience they can bring to the table.

What I like about the company

For someone trying to get on your feet and your dealing with a lot of life issues, this would be the best job.

What I dislike about the company

No benefits at all. No paid vacation, no structure from management.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Hampton Inn
  • City
    Orange
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 03.Jun 2017
  • Employee

What I like about the company

They are willing to give equal opportunity to everyone. General Manager is flexible and tries to work with you and your work/life situation. Tries to fix problems or give suggestions how you can fix it.

What I dislike about the company

No employee benefits other that hotel discounts.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    Hampton Inn, E Dupont Rd
  • City
    Fort Wayne
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 18.May 2017
  • Employee

What I like about the company

I love the atmosphere of the hotel. Its a great place to work. The employees are amazing, and the guests are wonderful. It feels like another home.

What I dislike about the company

I dislike the owners. They do not allow for any career advancement and its extremely hard to even get a .25 raise.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn by Hilton
  • City
    Laplace
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 26.Apr 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Horrible

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop gossiping about guest and employees

What I dislike about the company

The general and assistant general manager

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn Huntersville
  • City
    Huntersville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 19.Apr 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Terrible

Support from management

The unprofessional management is the worst

Internal Communication

Awful

Attitude towards older colleagues

Awful

Overall compensation for your work

Terrible

Office / Work Environment

Awful

Environmental Friendliness

Awful

Job Security

Terrible

Inclusive / Diverse

Awful

Suggestions for improvement

  • No sense of privacy....Assistant G M is a gossiper and very unprofessional.....very fake talk about everyone including the owners and guest

What I like about the company

Get rid of Assistant GM

What I dislike about the company

No benefits and pay

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn Huntersville
  • City
    Huntersville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 04.Apr 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Was ok

Support from management

Not much support.more talking behind backs

Teamwork

There was some teamwork

Freedom to work independently

H

Suggestions for improvement

  • Get people who care

What I like about the company

Got meet different people

What I dislike about the company

Management needed work...and not make remark

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn
  • City
    DeLand
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 21.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make sure they're not aggressive through texting but when it comes to addressing problems in person, they run like they don't know what happened.

What I like about the company

Nothing.

What I dislike about the company

Everything about it. It was a complete joke.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Hampton Inn & Suites
  • City
    Columbia
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 07.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • should understand more English less gun whole mexico co workers

What I like about the company

I didn't very badly run either you were with the gang or you were"t

What I dislike about the company

to modern does not fit with todays times... rooms weren"t really cleaned as well as they should of been stay over weren"t even cleaned

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hampton Inn
  • City
    Goleta
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered