Skip over menu?
  

Hospital for special surgery:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Office Administration
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Hospital for special surgery

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.80
Support from management
3.59
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.69
Internal Communication
3.86
Office / Work Environment
4.21
Environmental Friendliness
4.15
Work-Life Balance
4.31
Challenging Work
3.93
Inclusive / Diverse
4.15

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.13
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.14
Career Development
4.07
Overall compensation for your work
3.71
Company Image
4.15
Job Security
3.73
Handicapped Accessibility
4.57
Workplace Safety
4.21
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 7 of 17 reviews Parking in 6 of 17 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 9 of 17 reviews No stock or equity options 401(k) in 10 of 17 reviews No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 4 of 17 reviews Ability to work remotely in 4 of 17 reviews Desirable office location in 3 of 17 reviews Tuition assistance in 14 of 17 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 8 of 17 reviews 401(k) Match in 7 of 17 reviews Flexible spending account in 10 of 17 reviews Paid time off in 14 of 17 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 13 of 17 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 17 reviews Life insurance in 11 of 17 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 12 of 17 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 2 of 17 reviews Health and wellness programs in 12 of 17 reviews Employee discounts in 14 of 17 reviews Vehicle allowance in 3 of 17 reviews Employee events in 13 of 17 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 2 of 17 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 17 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would encourage additional employee benefits and recognition

What I like about the company

I am encouraged and supported by my manager and the overall work environment is postive.

What I dislike about the company

I think they could offer better/more benefits such as employee matching for 401K and charitable donations

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for special surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about Hospital for special surgery? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 23.Feb 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • higher pay for the staff and better emotional intelligence and communication skills

What I like about the company

most employees are nice and friendly. hospital is very well run and patient friendly

What I dislike about the company

poor leadership among the middle managers. low pay and a lot of work

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for Special Surgery
  • City
    New York City
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 14.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • They do an amazing job of breaking down bottlenecks and are proactive on improving.

What I like about the company

The patients always ask “why is everyone here so pleasant?” My employee takes care of their employees

What I dislike about the company

It’s a great place to work. Sometimes I wish my experiences and skills from previous institutions were leveraged.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for special surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 09.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Encouraging them to keep up with their love and caring

What I like about the company

Great well welcoming assistant to employees that needed helps

What I dislike about the company

Nothing they are well respectful

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for special surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • they are doing such a great job just as is

What I like about the company

they constantly are having events for their employees

What I dislike about the company

i approve of all of it. i dont have anything negative about it

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for special surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 21.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • i want the old computer system back

What I like about the company

My company once had a boat ride of their employees and their families.

What I dislike about the company

i hate the new computer system we are using

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hospital for special surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 23.Jul 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Great family like

What I like about the company

Team work. Patient focused, help with all they can to get job done

What I dislike about the company

Location

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital For Specialty Surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Higher-level services in healthcare and nursing

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Manager

3.00

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing.

What I like about the company

Location

What I dislike about the company

No room for growth

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hospital For Specialty Surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 26.Jan 2016
  • Employee

What I like about the company

they really care about their employees and their customers

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital For Specialty Surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 12.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Support from management

Excellent

Freedom to work independently

Excellent

Job Security

Easily accessible by public transportation.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make facility a 24 hours operations especially the operating room.

What I like about the company

A safe, friendly and Rrespected work environment.

What I dislike about the company

Mostly elective cases were done, should have been a 24 hours facility

Support from management
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Job Security
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hospital For Specialty Surgery
  • City
    New York
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2007
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Non-cert. nursing support/nursing support

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered