Skip over menu?
  

Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.82
Support from management
3.36
Teamwork
3.91
Freedom to work independently
3.55
Internal Communication
3.64
Office / Work Environment
4.09
Environmental Friendliness
3.73
Work-Life Balance
3.45
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.82

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.91
Career Development
3.45
Overall compensation for your work
3.18
Company Image
3.73
Job Security
3.27
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.91
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 4 of 11 reviews Parking in 6 of 11 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 1 of 11 reviews No stock or equity options 401(k) in 8 of 11 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 1 of 11 reviews Desirable office location in 2 of 11 reviews Tuition assistance in 8 of 11 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 4 of 11 reviews 401(k) Match in 6 of 11 reviews Flexible spending account in 4 of 11 reviews Paid time off in 9 of 11 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 9 of 11 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 4 of 11 reviews

The following perks are offered

No on site cafeteria No meal or transportation allowance Health and wellness programs in 7 of 11 reviews Employee discounts in 6 of 11 reviews Vehicle allowance in 1 of 11 reviews Employee events in 6 of 11 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Company Culture

Love my coworkers but management tears you down

Teamwork

They see everything as competition

Freedom to work independently

Managers have no faith in you

Internal Communication

My coworkers communicate very well. We are one team

Work-Life Balance

Had to miss school because they wanted me to work

Challenging Work

Very easy job

Suggestions for improvement

  • Management needs refreshing on positivity in the workplace

What I like about the company

My coworkers were amazing I love Them all to pieces. The customers were great too

What I dislike about the company

Show your employee they are valued

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 15.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

They ensure to recognize all cultures

Challenging Work

There is always something new to learn

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would possibly suggest a large company culture days to bring the entire company together

What I like about the company

They supported me through a difficult time with my health.

What I dislike about the company

None at this time. I enjoyed my time working for them.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 05.Feb 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need better work life balance. The points system for late arrivals or call outs is slightly unfair

What I like about the company

Great benefits including PTO and comparable pay. A lot of awesome people within the company.

What I dislike about the company

Inconsistency within departments. Black and white policies that don't take work life balance into consideration.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Company Culture

Great working environment

Challenging Work

Challenging and interesting

Suggestions for improvement

  • The company found that they were paying employees below fair market value and they began giving raises over time to bring the salaries up to fair market value.

What I like about the company

I enjoyed working in the Credit union. The people worked together well and it was fun going to work.

What I dislike about the company

I didn't have a problem. I tended not to get involved in office gossip and that was a good thing.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 19.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • None at this time to be given as far as improvements

What I like about the company

Opportunities are always available

What I dislike about the company

The Short lunch breaks given to employees

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 09.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • There is nothing I would change.

What I like about the company

It's a not for profit institution that helps the community. I enjoy helping people and my job has been a tool or vehicle to do just that.

What I dislike about the company

At this time there is nothing I would say I disapprove of.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Newburgh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 22.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More managerial support

What I like about the company

Great benefits

What I dislike about the company

Employees are not valued nor appriciated. We are treated and reminded that we can be terminated any day for any reason. Poor job security.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 10.May 2016
  • Employee

What I like about the company

Great benefits, great coworkers, great bosses

What I dislike about the company

Sales pressures, no room for freedom, very conservative

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Lake Katrine
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 12.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Attitude towards older colleagues

This year alone more than 10-15 employees have left HVFCU due to their way of treating their employees that I've know of. Many of the individuals that I know of were with the company for 15+ years. Even though they say we are non-profit, sales is all they talk about with their employees now.

Work-Life Balance

Work-Life balance has been an issue within the last 10 months. Earlier this year we were hourly then converted to salary with a weekend notice in order to mandate over time and now that system core upgrades are over with they are converting their underwriters back to hourly. So based on that alone, there has been pressure to stay longer hours. Vacation days were limited. Working hours can vary from week to week. Very unprofessional.

Inclusive / Diverse

Opinions and ideas are only supported if you can make the company money or save money. Such as switching underwriters to salary in order to mandate overtime, having underwriters review last owner search on properties instead of attorneys in order to save the cost of attorney fees.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Company needs to become human again. Stop thinking about controlling the marketplace and consider what we can do to retain their long time employees with years of experience. HVFCU needs to connect with their members as well on even playing field; we need to stop trying to cross sell evey product we offer.
Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 09.May 2018
  • Employee
Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered
  • Company
    Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union
  • City
    Poughkeepsie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Internship in
  • Position
    Not specified
  • Department
    Human resources/recruiting

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered