Skip over menu?
  

JCPenney:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Consumer Goods/Grocery/Retail
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for JCPenney

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.12
Support from management
3.03
Teamwork
3.43
Freedom to work independently
3.19
Internal Communication
2.86
Office / Work Environment
3.16
Environmental Friendliness
3.24
Work-Life Balance
3.10
Challenging Work
3.06
Inclusive / Diverse
3.48

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.49
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.34
Career Development
2.95
Overall compensation for your work
2.97
Company Image
3.22
Job Security
2.99
Handicapped Accessibility
3.51
Workplace Safety
3.58
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 143 of 394 reviewers Parking in 187 of 394 reviewers Easy access to public transportation in 64 of 394 reviewers Stock or equity options in 95 of 394 reviewers 401(k) in 234 of 394 reviewers Onsite daycare facility in 18 of 394 reviewers Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 394 reviewers Ability to work remotely in 18 of 394 reviewers Desirable office location in 39 of 394 reviewers Tuition assistance in 16 of 394 reviewers Paid Parental Leave in 51 of 394 reviewers 401(k) Match in 130 of 394 reviewers Flexible spending account in 50 of 394 reviewers Paid time off in 175 of 394 reviewers Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 175 of 394 reviewers Relocation allowance in 20 of 394 reviewers Life insurance in 120 of 394 reviewers

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 72 of 394 reviewers Free (company provided) Meals in 21 of 394 reviewers Health and wellness programs in 63 of 394 reviewers Employee discounts in 349 of 394 reviewers Vehicle allowance in 11 of 394 reviewers Employee events in 111 of 394 reviewers Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 4 of 394 reviewers Fitness center on site in 20 of 394 reviewers Free Snacks/Drinks in 38 of 394 reviewers
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 27.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

They let people do what they want

Support from management

Dont see him until we go to break or going home

Teamwork

No help

Freedom to work independently

Always working independent

Internal Communication

None at all

Attitude towards older colleagues

Very weak

Office / Work Environment

They do what they want

Work-Life Balance

Very balanced

Job Security

Bad i got robbed my first day leaving there

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need people to be on people like people be there and dont work all day but other do what they had to do

What I like about the company

None

What I dislike about the company

They pick and choose like i come to work on time until one week that i didnt have control over my tardy cause i have a child but people come in 2 or 3 hours

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
0.00
  • Company
    Jcpenny
  • City
    Atlanta
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Dec 27, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 12.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Employees do not matter!

Teamwork

No, structural support

Internal Communication

You only know the basics, poor training.

Gender Equality

No, women are like cattle to them.

Attitude towards older colleagues

No, most employees are young high school kids who only want to use their phones.

Work-Life Balance

Company is out for themselves! They don't care about your personnel life.

Company Image

Not proud to be treated like a dog. If you be at their beck and call, you'll be scheduled fewer hours on purpose, as a punishment!

Job Security

Yes, they do not high the demand for their stores anymore!

Handicapped Accessibility

No shopping carts for elderly people. Was told many times they don't like to shop there because of no carts.

Workplace Safety

I was hurt in breakroom. Passes out busting my head on cement floor, no one found me. I had to call over walkie after gaining consiouness.

Challenging Work

They do not reward you for going above and beyond your duties. Pay is not competitive.

Suggestions for improvement

  • New management required. I won't even shop Jcpenney now

What I like about the company

I dont. I'll never recommend them.

What I dislike about the company

Terrible management, low pay, no respect, treat you like you don't matter.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
0.00
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Muncie
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Dec 12, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 06.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Pretty big on it.

Support from management

Most managers are very helpful, but can sometimes be confusing and hard to find to talk to.

Teamwork

Very good for most part, but sometimes some employees don't put in as much work as others making it harder to complete certain tasks.

Freedom to work independently

Work together w coworkers in your assigned department and also others.

Internal Communication

Management can be confusing sometimes and sometimes don't come when called.

Gender Equality

There are definitely more females than male associates. Some managers treat females better than males/acknowledge them more.

Attitude towards older colleagues

The older associates and ones who have been with the company a long time are extremely helpful and kind. They are there to show you the ropes and don't judge when you make mistakes. Also help you when you don't know what to do in certain situations with customers.

Career Development

I asked some of my coworkers and most of the managers used to be sales associates to start but then got promoted.

Overall compensation for your work

For the long shifts and stress, pay could be better especially considering I'm a seasonal associate. And you're always on your feet so can wear you down as shift goes on.

Office / Work Environment

Mostly nice can be stressful at times but it is retail after all.

Work-Life Balance

Scheduling is pretty good.

Company Image

Pretty good as far as I know.

Job Security

They said they can only keep like 2 or 3 seasonal associates and it's mainly based on favoritism and the number of icaps you open up( which is hard to do in my opinion).

Handicapped Accessibility

Could be better.

Workplace Safety

Other than the rude customers, very safe working place.

Challenging Work

It is not an easy job like most people think, you have to stay on your feet, constantly deal with rude, impatient customers, and maintaining all the clothing and displays through out the day and the fitting rooms. Can also be hard when your having a bad day or not feeling well because you have to smile and act a certain way for "the customers" which I understand but not every day or anyone is perfect so they need to understand that a little better without getting upset/mad at employees.also they don't do a very good job training new employees and I can say they put me on the register up front on a busy Saturday and I had no idea what I was doing so it was pretty rough and intimidating. With other employees help and over time it becomes much better and easier to understand.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better training and better pay for employees. Also more hours! Considering I was told I was not allowed to have a second job even though I wasn't getting as many hours as I needed because I need the money to support myself and pay my bills on time. Also being paid bi-weekly kinda is hard to deal w and accept.

What I like about the company

Friendly co-workers and for the most part great customer service.

What I dislike about the company

The push to open up several icaps each day with threat to lose hours or your job if you don't. Also scheduling is never set so they can change it last minute and you never really have a say so it can be confusing and annoying at times. And also when they only have one manager at the store when it's busy or near holidays.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered
  • Company
    jcpenny
  • City
    ny
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Dec 6, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



Suggestions for improvement

  • I think a few more people in each department would be good. I understand they are trying to hire more but it's hard being bounced around the whole store sometimes.

What I like about the company

Management has been very helpful in anything I need. They are always concerned with the employees well being. They are very flexible in hours and work with my schedule. They trust me to run my own department and now train others. I love this job. The pay s great and the management is awesome.

What I dislike about the company

They need to fix the back door as we can't enter there anymore and have to go through the front. It was better when we had the code to the back door and could go in there to the break room.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Sioux City
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Nov 29, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 16.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Not employee friendly ,only concern with their bottom line, does not work with employee for future advancment.

Support from management

never find a manager, customers are ignored or give runaround

Teamwork

No support form superior, treatment of employees inferior, not even hello when walk floor,

Freedom to work independently

Only to put away mdse at closing, however opinion of employees who service customers on a daily basic is no recognize, or acknowledged.

Internal Communication

Employees suffer financially, at the expense of upper management negligence,

Gender Equality

Balance

Attitude towards older colleagues

Intimidation

Career Development

Rather hire outside

Overall compensation for your work

Need much improvement

Office / Work Environment

Hazardous, and if you're hurt steps are taken to dismiss you for fear of worker's comp.

Environmental Friendliness

Employees are not given the benefit,asu e they are fission rest

Work-Life Balance

Poorly wages anf hours is poverty level,

Company Image

Projections is not in house

Job Security

Need to be UNIONIZED

Handicapped Accessibility

Racks not to ADA standards 36" in most areas

Workplace Safety

Hazardous

Challenging Work

Not

Inclusive / Diverse

Staff is not inline with customers ratio

Suggestions for improvement

  • Set standards for employees to follow

What I like about the company

Not impressed

What I dislike about the company

Negative treatment of employees

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered
  • Company
    jcpenny
  • City
    ny
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Executive leadership

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Nov 16, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 16.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

The company was based on the Golden Rule but now it's just "rule". They implemented a Warrior program but unless the senior leadership is really on board then it won't work.

Support from management

Can I give this no stars? I mean really it's that bad.

Teamwork

Some teams work OK but most are just off doing what they need to do for their part of the business.

Freedom to work independently

It depends on your department

Internal Communication

Lot's of mis communication from the store operations team and asset protection. either nothing or a "just do it and don't ask questions" attitude.

Gender Equality

Non existent- the men run amok.

Attitude towards older colleagues

This is horrible. They keep firing all of the long term associates so they can cut salary expenses. But they have cut off all of the prior knowledge of how the company is run.

Career Development

what is this??? non existant

Overall compensation for your work

Poor to say the least. No raises in a while and no comp checks either.

Office / Work Environment

The new offices are horrible. Go back to the cubicles.

Environmental Friendliness

Most people are friendly...

Work-Life Balance

You are expected to be available 24/7

Company Image

horrible

Job Security

If I could put a negative star here I would. They will fire you in a heartbeat for no reason at all.

Handicapped Accessibility

this is ok

Workplace Safety

what safety?

Challenging Work

Oh it's a challenge to not drink in your car before you come in just to get through the day.

Inclusive / Diverse

If you are a friend of Marvin then you will get whatever you want. Or if you are one of his relatives that he hires all the time.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Get rid of the current leadership and find someone who knows what they are doing.

What I like about the company

nothing any more

What I dislike about the company

Well my comments above pretty much spell it out.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Plano
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Nov 16, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



Support from management

They don't care about me in particular. I feel like I get treated like I'm not intelligent.

Teamwork

I get along with my coworkers

Freedom to work independently

Supervisor constantly breathing down our necks like we don't know how to do our job, when we do it every day.

Internal Communication

I hear more about it through other people's chats, or posted bulletins.

Gender Equality

No problem.

Attitude towards older colleagues

No problem.

Career Development

No comment

Overall compensation for your work

I make $2-3 less than coworkers that do the same job and have been working there less time than I have

Office / Work Environment

High pressure to get work done extremely fast with an understaffed team and an overabundance of tasks to get done.

Environmental Friendliness

Fake friendliness from some upper management.

Work-Life Balance

Early morning hours and off early afternoons off leave a nice part of my day open.

Company Image

Fine

Job Security

It's ok sometimes it's unfair what can get people in trouble

Handicapped Accessibility

No problem

Workplace Safety

No problem

Challenging Work

Physically and mentally exhausting and stressful

Inclusive / Diverse

Many diverse people, races, gay, lesbian. Non discriminatory.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need more hires; a bigger team

What I like about the company

Coworkers

What I dislike about the company

Upper management and mandatory overnight shifts, such as inventory, holists, etc

Company Culture
0.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Lincoln
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Logistics/materials management

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Oct 13, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 06.Oct 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

The company does not care about you at all. Especially during the holiday season. I get it the company is hurting with their money, but to take employees away with their families just to make money is RIDICULOUS!! Management sometimes won't show up when a customer requests for them. Even the department supervisors get yelled at by the store manager if a certain task isn't done correctly.

Support from management

Very little to no support from management. You'll be extremely lucky to get them to come out to speak with the customer if there's a serious issue.

Teamwork

Depends on who you're with when it comes to teamwork. Majority of them don't care and continuously talk, even when a guest comes up to checkout!

Freedom to work independently

If you're a hard worker, you will have that freedom to work independently.

Internal Communication

No communication whatsoever unless there's a store meeting or you have to directly to talk to the manager to discuss whatever you need to speak about. Even when they do post something in the break room, associates don't read or care and later say, "Nobody told me that!"

Attitude towards older colleagues

Management and a good handful of associates don't care. I will say that if you are a hard worker, they will notice and will treat you with respect, more or less.

Career Development

You'll be lucky if you ever get a management and/or a full time position in this career path. It's hard to get it.

Office / Work Environment

It appears clean in the work environment when walking around but there's always hidden trash somewhere in their store.

Environmental Friendliness

It's posted on their boards but I never see any statistics or anyone make mention of it. Overall, nobody cares.

Work-Life Balance

Very stressful and lots of pressure in certain departments. Barely any balance at all.

Job Security

Don't even think this job will give you what you want. This is another dead end job.

Handicapped Accessibility

Don't see any handicap accessibility in the store.

Workplace Safety

Most associates don't pickup safety hazards on the floor.

Challenging Work

It is challenging but incredibly difficult when you're trying to do certain tasks and never get back to them throughout the entire shift.

Inclusive / Diverse

One of the positive things to say is that they are very big in this category by accepting everyone that walks in their doors to shop or work.

Suggestions for improvement

  • They need to think of a different marketing strategy and return policy that doesn't hurt the company in the long run. Also, make their employees happy by giving them the respect they deserve and by giving back Thanksgiving OFF to employees!!

What I like about the company

I like being around associates that have a common mindset and be reminded that we are human beings and we are all in this together.

What I dislike about the company

Lack of communication and poor leadership with certain management.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Pembroke Pines
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Oct 6, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 07.Aug 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

They don't care about their employees at all

Support from management

My boss changed their mind constantly and never gave clear instructions.

Teamwork

Their was so much drama I felt like I was in high school

Freedom to work independently

No you never work alone, it's always with other people.

Internal Communication

There was a VERY BIG communication problem. The management did not communicate with each other and they have the employees several different answers to one question. Then it was our fault if we got it wrong even though we did what one of the bosses told us to do.

Gender Equality

Women are treated equally but the men aren't. They only basically hire women!

Career Development

I have worked for the company for 4 years and I tried to move up into a manger position. I was more than qualified for it. I was training for that position until one day it just stopped and I didn't know why...we ended up having a meeting with our team a week later and they gave someone else the position that I wanted and that I worked my butt off for. That person didn't even care about the position but they took it because of the pay, not to mention they weren't even working there for a YEAR yet. How does that qualify someone for a management position??? I actually cared about those employees and I don't think the management liked that.

Overall compensation for your work

I definitely did not get paid enough to deal with all of that bs

Office / Work Environment

The work environment is like working in a sweat shop. You're pretty much pretending to be a machine.

Environmental Friendliness

They do have recycling but no one ever followed the rules for it.

Work-Life Balance

I ALWAYS felt pressured to work more hours. If you didn't work more hours the manger would cut your hours more because you didn't do what she wanted you to do.

Company Image

I was but not anymore. I won't even shop there, my family knows all about it and they don't shop there either now because they don't care about the people they only care about money.

Job Security

Management always kept you on your toes. If you messed up at all they would mention that they could fire you if they wanted.

Workplace Safety

There is a semi truck full of metal fixtures that is a death trap and they made me go inside and find things that they needed. A bunch of metal rods fell on top of me and I was yelling for help. Finally someone came and pulled the things off of me, they just said "oh it happens all the time" uhhhh ok?? Well that's not safe at all and I could of been seriously hurt.

Challenging Work

I was on sales support and my work was challenging but I've worked for this company for 4 years and never had an issues until I came to this store. I know I am GREAT at my job and they lost a loyal and trustworthy employee.

Inclusive / Diverse

Oh no.... there are no diverse ideas. What this one person says, goes.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Get new management and start over. Get people who care a lot about the company. I know I did and you guys lost a great employee. I would of been an amazing manager one day. You think loosing one person isn't a big deal but it is. I could of been the one person who could help save that company tremendously.

What I like about the company

There's nothing I like

What I dislike about the company

EVERYTHING they don't care about anyone, they only care about money. The people who work for the company are terrible.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
0.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Thousand Oaks
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Aug 7, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 20.Jul 2017 (Last edit 02.Aug 2017)
  • Employee

Teamwork

Q.Do colleagues work well together? A.Depends on the department you work in. Q. Do colleagues interact in an honest and direct manner? A. Honest, no. but an overly fake attitude of friendliness is what will help you climb the ladder here.

Internal Communication

"need to know"

Attitude towards older colleagues

The company forces out the older workers.

Overall compensation for your work

Responsibilities high, pay low.

Company Image

no.

Job Security

Unstable. everyone expects to be fired or let go. Don't ask questions, keep your head down.

Challenging Work

no and no.

What I like about the company

n/a

What I dislike about the company

Cares more about making money off their employees than actually caring about their employees. If sales are bad, they have an associate % off sale and phrase it like its the highest % off of the year, but its technically not. Just worded to mislead their own employees so they can make up for previous losses.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Jcpenney
  • City
    Columbus
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2012
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Aug 2, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 09.May 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Consider investing more in current employee base rather than always hiring and promoting from outside the organization.

What I like about the company

The work atmosphere is good; location is convenient to living in North Dallas area. Also, pay was competitive to the market.

What I dislike about the company

Opportunity for training and learning new skills is very limited. Approach is to hire from outside or offshore technical work.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J. C. Penney Company, Inc.
  • City
    Plano
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on May 9, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 25.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

JCP cares about all employees and strives to ensure they are taken care of so we can take care of the customers

Support from management

All you need to do is ask, there are many avenues to get help and support from all levels

Teamwork

Everyone works together to ensure the store is ready for the customers

Freedom to work independently

JCP believes you need to always evolve to keep up or ahead of the curve and they welcome ideas and solutions

Internal Communication

Communication is honest and ongoing

Career Development

Our current District Manager started in the shoe department as a part time associate years ago. JCP encourages everyone to not consider this a job but a career and family. You can always learn and grow if you take advantage of the resources that are available

Overall compensation for your work

This is retail but for the most part compensation is in line for the job that each person is doing

Company Image

Very proud to say I work for JCP

Job Security

If you apply yourself and can be open to changes there is always a job to do

Handicapped Accessibility

Normally pretty good. I have been in some of the older buildings where it is a challenge as they were built before ADA accessibility was inacted

Workplace Safety

JCP takes very seriously workplace safety. Part of loss prevention's responsibility is workplace safety which is ongoing.

Challenging Work

Working with the public always brings a new challenge each day. This is a job you can't phone it or fake for long

Suggestions for improvement

  • Standardized the max hours you can hold for vacations before you no longer accrue. The formulary matrix to figure out how many hours of vacation you can accrue is mind boggling. A flat 200 hours for everyone would be so simple vs. telling the associates to look at the handbook find your multiplier based on number of months/years worked, average work week etc. Too complicated, people are losing vacation time as they do not know when they are nearing the max hours

What I like about the company

The people, flexibility, and overall culture. JCP cares about the employees

What I dislike about the company

The extended hours to 11pm or midnight the last 2 weeks before Christmas are hard on all the employees and their families.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Jcpenney
  • City
    San Jose
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Human resources/recruiting

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 25, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 14.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Great, very uplifting and customer-driven.

Support from management

They are very encouraging with our goals and hold events to help us achieve them (credit card applications).

Teamwork

Colleagues work well, although certain employees are allowed to get away with laziness.

Freedom to work independently

I can work independently.

Internal Communication

We aren't informed much about the company overall, but as far as our store goes we have meetings every morning discussing sales, credit applications, and things like that.

Gender Equality

Women are treated just as well as men, mostly women work here.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Senior workers are treated fairly and given the some opportunities as new employees, although they may get less hours.

Office / Work Environment

Great work environment, comfortable.

Environmental Friendliness

Not at our store, we mostly throw away recyclables like plastic bags and cardboard.

Work-Life Balance

They work around my school schedule and let us choose when we want to work, except for holidays where you have open availability to an extent.

Challenging Work

It is great work and makes me proud to serve others.

Inclusive / Diverse

I'm a Hispanic female, and the environment is so diverse. Most of the managers are women, with the GM being African-American and our other supervisors being Hispanic, Indian, White, and African-American as well. The associates are also extremely diverse with there being girls and boys of all ages and races.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Kennesaw
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 14, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 14.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Support from management

My store has some of the best managers in the entire company I think, but like all managers they have their flaws. They respect you as an employee and encourage you to do your best. But I constantly run into the issue of my opinions being ignored when asked for. I am hardly ever involved in a decision making process even when it directly affects me.

Internal Communication

There is a clear lack of communication between upper management and the all important sales associate. It does feel sometimes the blood and heartbeat of the store is forgotten.

Gender Equality

Women, I feel, still do not hold the same amount of force a Man would in the exact same position. I see it every day in our upper management.

Overall compensation for your work

I do not believe that we are compensated enough for the jobs we do. As cuts to staffing have been made, workers remaining are required to pick up more duties and hours with no increase in pay or benefits. The benefits package for employees is also outdated, expensive, and does not cover what it should for its cost.

Environmental Friendliness

There is a recycling program in place but it is the bare minimum of what we could be doing.

Work-Life Balance

When hours are available, you are pressured to take them only because it doesn't happen very often. They try their best to work a schedule that you pick out.

Company Image

I openly tell people I work for JCPenney and invite them to come and visit our store. I love my job that I do even with its downfalls.

Job Security

There are a lot of job insecurities, and organizational restructuring is a big part of that reasoning.

Handicapped Accessibility

They are handicapped accessible, and would provide the tools and resources needed for people with disabilities if they were able to get the resources.

Workplace Safety

The company provides training, and constantly preaches safety. However eyes cannot be everywhere and most employees do not follow safety protocol in order to get their jobs done as quickly as possible.

Challenging Work

The work is not very challenging, but I am proud of what I do. It is hard work, but not challenging.

Inclusive / Diverse

My store is very inclusive to all races, religions, ethnic backgrounds, and sexualities.

Suggestions for improvement

  • My biggest suggestions are to pay your retail associates a livable wage, and listen to their ideas. If you pay them, they will produce for you exceptional results in sales and customer service. It has been proven time and time again with Apple, Costco, and other major retailers who pay their employees enough to not have to worry about where they will get their next meal. And to my second point. I encourage management to preach listening to your associates when they tell you their ideas, and give them credit for it. If you are doing a reset of merchandise, ask their input. What gets the most traffic and where. how to blend the floor so that all items get a decent exposure. Sure numbers tell you some things, but there is a human touch only humans can see.

What I like about the company

As an employer, JCPenney is wonderful at flexible scheduling. It is the perfect job for anyone in school who needs to make a custom schedule that fits around their already packed schedule. They will also allow you to request time off, which you are not paid for, but if approved you are guaranteed not to be Scheduled for that time. Which is great, especially if you work part time.

What I dislike about the company

What I don't like mainly is the pay. We are the foundation of the company believe it or not. Without the retail associates, the store would not make a cent. And we are paid the bare minimum for it. I have only received a 5 cent raise the entire time I have been employed there.
Managers do tend to ignore your opinions. They believe they know the store better than you, which is to be expected.
The benefits package is terrible to say the least, all except for the 401K which was recently changed and is actually not bad at all.
Under-staffing and not enough budgeted hours is also another major problem.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Louisville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 14, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 12.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Support from management

No it is their way only. They do not listen to the employees

Attitude towards older colleagues

No there are being pushed out

Career Development

They offer no kind of training for the employee that may want to advance.

Overall compensation for your work

Have not had a raise in 7 years, and no extra benefits or incentives.

Company Image

I used to be but they have taken everything away from us and treat us like we don't matter anymore.

Handicapped Accessibility

There is none at my facility.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    JC Penney Logistics LP Alliance
  • City
    Haslet
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Production

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 12, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 11.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

The company tries to introduce a fun culture. They call their employees their warriors, and provide an activity fund for monthy events if the store is making its credit and sales goals.

Support from management

Most of the upper management can be found in one place. Their office chair.

Teamwork

A lot of employees are great and helpful. Work well together.

Freedom to work independently

None

Internal Communication

The communication is terrible, you can be given three different directions from three different leaders and then also have those directions be different than what the company core standards are.

Gender Equality

I've met men and women in all positions.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Unfortunately they sometimes hire people so elderly they can't perform the tasks necessary for the job.

Career Development

There are few opportunities to advance.

Overall compensation for your work

Pay is on the low end.

Office / Work Environment

The store is old and falling apart. Safety hazards are everywhere, the equipment is all broken

Environmental Friendliness

They recycle plastic as well as cardboard used on trucks.

Work-Life Balance

It depends. When theyre short on staff due to terminations and people quitting then you will never see your home or family. When they have adequate staff and the company chooses to shave 4000 dollars off the budget you wont be able to pay your bills.

Company Image

NO.

Job Security

The company is constantly restructuring, eliminating and creating positions, and they just announced they are closing 150 stores cutting thousands of jobs.

Handicapped Accessibility

our store does not follow the ADA standards and if we were inspected we would receive heavy fines.

Workplace Safety

Broken equipment, cracks and chips in flooring, ripped carpet, exposed wiring, exposed wet areas, shopping carts in a 2 story building.

Challenging Work

It's mindless and easy

Inclusive / Diverse

They hire diversely. All races, genders, and sexual orientations.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop and look around.

What I like about the company

They have some good ideas

What I dislike about the company

They dont care about their employees, they wont repair and fix their stores, and they keep cutting budget and taking money away from stores that need it.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Houston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 11, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 10.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Support from management

not much

Teamwork

no they out only for themselves. act like children

Overall compensation for your work

not at all

Office / Work Environment

no no no

Work-Life Balance

would love more hours

Challenging Work

not enough hours to get job done

Suggestions for improvement

  • all the rules apply for everyone. don't over look all the time clock theft and thing of that nature

What I like about the company

some of the associates and the discount

What I dislike about the company

some of the bulliying from senior employees also never get above min wage

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
0.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Queensbury
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 10, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 09.Mar 2017 (Last edit 13.Mar 2017)
  • Employee

Company Culture

Business-centered

Support from management

No to all of the above

Teamwork

Very little team spirit or camaraderie.

Internal Communication

Very poor communication from management to employees.

Office / Work Environment

Old equipment does not perform well. It is very difficult to get repairs done.

Environmental Friendliness

We recycle, but containers are poorly labeled.

Work-Life Balance

JCP seems to care little about personal life of its employees.

Challenging Work

Challenging during busy times, boring during slow.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make use of the strengths of individual employees, do away with quotas expected of employees

What I like about the company

Flexible hours

What I dislike about the company

Poor communication, low pay, inaccessible department management, poor at providing operational supplies, hires part-timers to save on expenses, poor support for employees, low-staffing policy

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Escondido
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 13, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 07.Mar 2017
  • Employee

What I dislike about the company

The store manager is awful! As a part-time person you barely see her. In some cases that may be great but she really shows that she doesn't care for her employees. She doesn't take the time to get to know them at all. Her supervisors are her little puppets. Anything that needs to be communicated from her to her store employees, she does it through her puppets. They even seem worn out by her. She lacks so much leadership. It's hard to be encouraged or motivated working for her. She hardly shows any recognition or acknowledgement for her employees.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
0.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
0.00
Career Development
0.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Norman
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Mar 7, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 26.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Great

Support from management

Yes from sale floor to store manager we all work side by side

Teamwork

Yes.

Freedom to work independently

10 yrs every day I'm given tasks to do myself.

Internal Communication

Yes we are an open door policy too.

Gender Equality

Yes

Attitude towards older colleagues

Yes even some of our employees retired the same backart time.

Career Development

Offered often through our kiosk and within our own store

Overall compensation for your work

I'm hourly wage. Wish it was faster to get raised instead of a % every year

Office / Work Environment

Yes.

Environmental Friendliness

Yes we recycle

Work-Life Balance

Yes here family comes first work second.

Company Image

Yes love working here JCPenneys great.

Job Security

Some stores that are smaller than us are soon to be cut.but our store I believe is safe we are the 3rd largest in IA.

Handicapped Accessibility

Doors and elevator. Bathrooms remodled but in each dept. Crowded not wheel chair accessible. We have to assist the customer.one on one.

Workplace Safety

We believe on safety first and foremost.

Challenging Work

Yes I'm one who asks did I do good. Then sit back and admire the job well done.

Inclusive / Diverse

Yes very much from sales associates to president

What I like about the company

Fair & fun environment

What I dislike about the company

Nothing

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Cedar Rapids
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 26, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 25.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Its good

Support from management

there are times where the leadership(s) tend to not inform a lot of employees who come in later on what is going on. And/or decision making is done based by the manager and/or the LODs

Teamwork

This one is a mixed.
all work well together, however there are times were some employees wont work with another based on their attitude

Freedom to work independently

Im trusted to work independently

Internal Communication

Only know about how the company is doing in morning meetings. So, if you're second shift or third shift, you dont really know. And they do post them on the board in our Warrior Hall but, no one really looks at it.

Office / Work Environment

Everything is all good

Environmental Friendliness

Theres recycling in our break room for the employees but i think it would also be good to have some throughout our store.

Work-Life Balance

I believe they sometimes value work-life balance. I put a 3 because its in a the middle.

Families are taken into consideration for the most part. And i never feel pressure to work more hours.

Challenging Work

Work is semi challenging and im always proud.

Inclusive / Diverse

Company is very diverse

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stay interactive with all employees and let them all know whats going on, where it be shrinkage, events, contests, etc.,

What I like about the company

Theyre kind and are always willing to help customers out with a product.

What I dislike about the company

How they dont treat customers as customers and focus more on getting credit apps (JC Penney Credit Card) and make it into a competition. Feel they dont care about the customers as they should

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Altamonte Springs
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 25, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 25.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Upper management needs to plan surprise visits and not announce when they are coming and just really see how some of its stores are being run.

What I like about the company

It's a well known name in retail

What I dislike about the company

Mid level and store management don't really realize how to communicate with the employees on a professional level. Some management also holds grudges and shows favortism

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Gastonia
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 25, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 23.Feb 2017
  • Employee

bad

2.22

Suggestions for improvement

  • get back to work and stop being capitalist devils and communicate more and/or better to your associates

What I like about the company

cool fellow associates and nice returning customers that really appreciate you and cigarette breaks.

What I dislike about the company

poor communication between management and associates, lazy and unproductive management and no added perks or appreciation for going the extra mile

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    J.C. PENNEY CORPORATION, INC.
  • City
    Madison
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 23, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 23.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Diversified

Support from management

Awesome we work as a while team.

Teamwork

Dude by side with managers even top district managers when visiting our store.

Freedom to work independently

Yes every day I do.

Internal Communication

Always plus open door policy, can talk to everyone.

Gender Equality

Yes

Attitude towards older colleagues

Yes,some of our retired employees have come back to work part time

Career Development

Yes if you want to move up you do have that choice when available

Overall compensation for your work

Not salary I'm hourly wage, fair benefits are there if wanted,

Office / Work Environment

We have rules when different thing break down for temp control, roof leaks but overall, a Great place to work,

Environmental Friendliness

Yes, we won a new break room with our energy saving program, cardboard plastic & paper recycled.

Work-Life Balance

No I have family time and they always work with me for hours I need off,

Company Image

Love our new slogan get your Pennies worth, Back to basics

Job Security

I am secure where I am, No my job as sales associate is good,

Handicapped Accessibility

Yes we have that available yet our area around clothng is crowded, One in one with customers help,

Workplace Safety

Skip keeps us safe

Challenging Work

I help my manager run my home dept, plus moving and changing sets

Inclusive / Diverse

Always

What I like about the company

Great people to work side by side with, & 25% discount

What I dislike about the company

Raises more than once a year

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Cedar Rapids
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 23, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 22.Feb 2017
  • Employee

A Review

3.61

Support from management

Don't always involve employees or notify of change or new system.

Freedom to work independently

Very trusted in working independently

Internal Communication

Only when working in the morning and have morning meetings. Other than that, night shift tend to not know about anything going on

Gender Equality

Yes

Attitude towards older colleagues

Very much appreciated.

Career Development

Haven't seen or heard any. So i dont know.

Overall compensation for your work

With the amount of work I do, I'm not compensated enough whereas some other hired employees get paid more and do less

Office / Work Environment

Very comfortable.

Environmental Friendliness

They're aware of environment and making things better. Have recycle bins in break room

Work-Life Balance

Sometimes the balance doesn't help some employees,

Company Image

I'm very proud

Job Security

Always risks.

Handicapped Accessibility

We have elevators but no ramps or other things we need to help disable people

Workplace Safety

Training for preventing accidents doesn't happen often or none at all.

Challenging Work

Work is semi challenging and im.always proud

Inclusive / Diverse

It's diverse but, need to have more

Suggestions for improvement

  • Please include all employees about what's going on and hold small meetings not just in mornings but for at nights as well.

What I like about the company

They care more about their employees than some other retales do

What I dislike about the company

Not enough employees on floor to help when cutting hours.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Altamonte Springs
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 22, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 22.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Support from management

No support. They just tell you what you're going to do then just sit in their office.

Internal Communication

Very little communication

Career Development

Too much hiring from outside the company instead of promoting from within.

Overall compensation for your work

Other companies pay higher salaries.

Work-Life Balance

Hardly any. Too many nights and weekends required. And open on Thanksgiving? Family should always come first. Also, associates that have been loyal and dedicated for 20 + years should enjoy special perks such as no nights or weekends.

Company Image

Not alot of people have positive things to say

Suggestions for improvement

  • Close on Thanksgiving, family should always come first. Get rid of that ridiculous survey. Better recognition for longevity. District Managers?...what a waste.

What I like about the company

Good benefits

What I dislike about the company

Way too many expectations.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Company Fund, Inc.
  • City
    Plano
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 22, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 21.Feb 2017 (Last edit 22.Feb 2017)
  • Employee

jcp

2.25

Support from management

they like to believe they are setting "realistic" expectations, but it's hard to do what they "expect" us to do with not enough help

Internal Communication

we do have a "morning meeting" when managers set the goals, etc for the day, and review the previous day's, but then they rely on "word of mouth" with morning associates telling the following associates, but when the day gets busy that doesn't always happen. They need to have a system where ALL employees need to know not only what is expected/ required, but also what is allowed or not allowed...

Attitude towards older colleagues

we don't have a lot of "older" workers in our store, the ones that have been there a while are retiring, and if any are hired they don't stay long...

Overall compensation for your work

great benefits, but we are never given raises

Office / Work Environment

We definitely need new cash registers, the ones we have are old and outdated, and keep crashing. Stockrooms need better lighting

Environmental Friendliness

there is some recycling, I think, but we go through a LOT of plastic bags, and these always end up in the garbage, our store does not recycle these. What a waste.

Company Image

Meh. I am blessed to be able to work, and it's not a bad company to work for, but sometimes too much emphasis on one thing or another...

Workplace Safety

most of the time the working environment is safe, and they tell us to keep it that way, but sometimes they keep racks of clothing in aisles and customers, especially handicapped, cannot get through; sometimes even able- bodied people cannot get through the aisles that are crammed with racks.

Suggestions for improvement

  • sometimes you have to "spend money to make money", treat associates better--Not just "morale" boosters/"fun" things, but essential things like paychecks, and better working environment/tools, not just superficial things like remodeling where none is needed (though some is needed, but not all)

What I like about the company

great benefits, including the best store (employee) discount available, and kind but firm managers

What I dislike about the company

too much "hearsay", managers don't always agree with each other, especially in directing associates; also, too much emphasis on one thing or another (such as Only charge apps, or surveys...) And pay isn't that great.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
0.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
0.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Saint Paul
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 22, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



Suggestions for improvement

  • I think they should handle the interaction of the employee's and I also think they should atleast be in stock Every month. Working in a clean, attractive office can have tremendous effects on the interactions between co-workers.

What I like about the company

Since I work with friends, I like the fact that I can work with them so it won't be so lonely all the time. I also like that asoon as I get off work the transportation is close enough I can walk to. I also love that If Its an emergency and I can't be at work I can easily get paid on my days off.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
0.00
Environmental Friendliness
0.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
0.00
Workplace Safety
0.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    JCPenney
  • City
    Upper Darby
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Nov 22, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 19.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

They Care about All People

Support from management

Yes, they ask our opinions frequently.

Teamwork

We are Warriors and have the Warrior Spirit.

Freedom to work independently

Yes, they train us, trust us, and delegate.

Internal Communication

Daily.

Gender Equality

My boss and her boss are women.

Attitude towards older colleagues

I'm 62 years young, lots of us old guys and gals around.

Career Development

When a job comes open we are encouraged to apply for it and it is posted on the board in the lunchroom.

Overall compensation for your work

Excellent pay.

Office / Work Environment

Yes, they go out of their way for a safe secure and happy environment.

Environmental Friendliness

Were are a Green Company.

Work-Life Balance

Very much, we get three Work Life Balance Days per year as an additional benefit.

Company Image

I am very proud!

Job Security

In business you always have to except change and be ready to reinvent yourself. Retail changes like the seasons.

Handicapped Accessibility

Yes, we lookout for everyone.

Workplace Safety

Just finished monthly safety training Friday. Mold awareness and what to do if you find it.

Challenging Work

I am proud to be a part of a Company that was founded on the Golden Rule by James Cash Penney.

Inclusive / Diverse

We have an Inclusion and Diversity committee, just had a celebration a few months ago.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Fort Worth
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Logistics/materials management

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 19, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!



  • 18.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

JCPenney, has always promoted women and gave them the same salary as the male. It has always been a christian based company, with sting emphasis on family.

Teamwork

Yes., a lot of emphasis on comunacation. If you have a problem with another management person you talk to that person only, if you can't resolve them talk with the HR manager, then the store manager.

Freedom to work independently

Yes, a lot of team work.

Internal Communication

Yes, company always kept us well informed, daily and weekly meetings.

Gender Equality

I started with the company in 1969 and I was impressed then, in the 80's.the women were given equal pay to men in management.

Attitude towards older colleagues

I worked for 40 years in management and retired at 60. I had some managers that was somewhat pushy about older assoicates retiring,others okay!

Career Development

The company does offer further training. I was offered a lot more advancement, more than I could accept with a family.

Overall compensation for your work

At one time in the company the benefits were greater, I think its about the same as other retailers now. The pay I thought was fair.

Office / Work Environment

Yes, very good atmosphere, temp. Control was thru home office! We would have liked it to be thru store Control.

Environmental Friendliness

Very much, recycled everything possible.

Work-Life Balance

Hours were long and not favorable at times. Thats just all retail.

Company Image

Yes, I loved working for JC Penney. The company always supported good values and Morales of everyone.

Job Security

Their is always that problem in every business, we always went above and beyond in placing our people in other positions.

Handicapped Accessibility

Yes, we would always follow the guidlines. We also brought in diabled youth to work on our stockroom.

Workplace Safety

We kept a bulletin board on safety, and we would talk about it in our daily meetings with the assoicates.

Challenging Work

Retail is aLways fun and challenging, something new and exciting.

Inclusive / Diverse

Yes the company is a meltingpot, always up to dated and talk about issues.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    J.C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
  • City
    Canton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2009
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Executive leadership

There are no statements for this review yet.

Company response

The review above has been updated on Feb 18, 2017.

The statement is referring to the following comment submitted earlier:

Suggestions for improvement:

- {[ imp.improvement ]}

The statement is referring to the review submitted beforehand!