Skip over menu?
  

Kimball:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Kimball

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.39
Support from management
3.18
Teamwork
3.16
Freedom to work independently
3.44
Internal Communication
3.13
Office / Work Environment
3.57
Environmental Friendliness
3.57
Work-Life Balance
3.25
Challenging Work
3.29
Inclusive / Diverse
3.38

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.64
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.67
Career Development
3.13
Overall compensation for your work
3.21
Company Image
3.66
Job Security
3.41
Handicapped Accessibility
3.70
Workplace Safety
3.97
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 12 of 34 reviews Parking in 19 of 34 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 2 of 34 reviews Stock or equity options in 5 of 34 reviews 401(k) in 24 of 34 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 2 of 34 reviews Desirable office location in 5 of 34 reviews Tuition assistance in 7 of 34 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 5 of 34 reviews 401(k) Match in 12 of 34 reviews Flexible spending account in 11 of 34 reviews Paid time off in 24 of 34 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 24 of 34 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 21 of 34 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 9 of 34 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 2 of 34 reviews Health and wellness programs in 17 of 34 reviews Employee discounts in 14 of 34 reviews Vehicle allowance in 5 of 34 reviews Employee events in 22 of 34 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 6 of 34 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 4 of 34 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would staff some areas with more people and reduce staffing in other areas. Plus, the company wants to encourage a culture of "employer of choice." As such, things such as the first two days of absentee are not counted against an employee. Having previously served in the military, there is a lot of gray areas for my taste.

What I like about the company

If time off is needed, the company works with you. When my father had a heart attack, my supervisor told me to go and leave everything and they would take care of it. Also, I had kidney stones and had to take several days off, which the company worked around.

What I dislike about the company

I would prefer that the company match the 401(k) contribution rather than the board of directors making the decision once a year about how much to contribute.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    Kimball International, Inc.
  • City
    Salem
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
What is the company culture like at Kimball? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 23.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Meeting between 2 and 8 people. Delegate someone to write down the proposed ideas. Everyone speaks and expresses their ideas. Do not criticize the ideas of others, just complement them (the goal is not to inhibit the flow of ideas). After 2 to 4 hours the meeting is stopped (interrupted), the participants can mull over the ideas and suggestions in their heads during the interval. The next day the meeting is resumed, with participants reading a list of ideas and selecting the best 4 or 5. Now participants can criticize, change and give suggestions to format ideas. At the end of 2 to 4 hours, 4 or 5 company process improvement ideas should be ready.

What I like about the company

i have had many working here for so many years but i have to say the best positive personal experience is going to work seeing the crew in a good mood. glad to have a working , "work" group that can really get the job done!

What I dislike about the company

Not very much, when i think something needs fixed, i go to H&R or my boss , and tell them my problem , and why i want it changed etc.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimball Electronics Group, LLC
  • City
    Jasper
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 13.Feb 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • not sure that there are any specific changes to be made

What I like about the company

they offer great coaching and support

What I dislike about the company

there a lot of decision makers and it can take time to come to a final decision

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Kimball, Tirey & St. John, LLP
  • City
    San Diego
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Fitness center on site is offered
  • 06.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • allow for employees to refute claims made against them or submit evidence of innocence

What I like about the company

I don't have anything to share

What I dislike about the company

Too many opportunities for employees to make unsubstantiated claims

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimball Electronics Incorporated
  • City
    Indianapolis
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • -Get rid of the late shift -laptops for everyone

What I like about the company

Most employees are helpful and welcoming.
The company is forward thinking with new products and technology.
They care about the employees and try to promote from within.

What I dislike about the company

I'm too new to really answer this. I would say maybe further training for new hires.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimball
  • City
    Jasper
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 03.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More support for the opioid epidemic. ,, more communication.

What I like about the company

I've worked at this company for 20 yrs. Started I dietary and moved up.

What I dislike about the company

Different CEO every 5 years or so,, to many changes.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Day kimball healthcare
  • City
    Putnam
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 14.Sep 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

Deceptive hiring practices!

Freedom to work independently

No, birdog your every move

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    KIMBALL MIDWEST
  • City
    Stockton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 30.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • manager is not also friendly and is hard to talk too

What I like about the company

I work with some great ladies and we make a great team

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered
  • Company
    Kimball's
  • City
    Nederland
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Could be more environmentally conscious for example waste less food

What I like about the company

Coworkers, work environment, we all get along well

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Day Kimball Healthcare, Inc.
  • City
    Putnam
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 02.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better cooling for plant employees in the summer.

What I like about the company

the amount of things the company does for the community

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimball Hospitality Inc
  • City
    Martinsville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered