Skip over menu?
  

Kimley-Horn and Associates:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Engineering
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Kimley-Horn and Associates

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.50
Support from management
4.10
Teamwork
4.50
Freedom to work independently
4.70
Internal Communication
4.30
Office / Work Environment
4.30
Environmental Friendliness
4.50
Work-Life Balance
3.40
Challenging Work
4.44
Inclusive / Diverse
4.22

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.70
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.80
Career Development
4.50
Overall compensation for your work
4.50
Company Image
4.80
Job Security
4.60
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.70
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 5 of 10 reviews Parking in 8 of 10 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 3 of 10 reviews Stock or equity options in 3 of 10 reviews 401(k) in 8 of 10 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 10 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 3 of 10 reviews Ability to work remotely in 4 of 10 reviews Desirable office location in 5 of 10 reviews Tuition assistance in 4 of 10 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 4 of 10 reviews 401(k) Match in 7 of 10 reviews Flexible spending account in 3 of 10 reviews Paid time off in 8 of 10 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 7 of 10 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 10 reviews Life insurance in 7 of 10 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 10 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 10 reviews Health and wellness programs in 2 of 10 reviews Employee discounts in 4 of 10 reviews Vehicle allowance in 2 of 10 reviews Employee events in 5 of 10 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 2 of 10 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 1 of 10 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 04.Feb 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • nothing I think they have everything covered

What I like about the company

Very friendly lots of activities to get to know employees

What I dislike about the company

long working hours not able to work from home.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    kimley-horn
  • City
    Tysons Corner
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about Kimley-Horn and Associates? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 13.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More diversity in hiring practices

What I like about the company

Great training program to become proficient in your industry.

What I dislike about the company

The hours and utilization rate can become a back breaker if you would want to have a family.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
  • City
    Phoenix
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Either completely stopped hiring non-professional employees or be honest during the hiring process and tell them that, they have a very very difficult battle to grow in the organization. They should also be prepared to be treated like a tool instead of a team member.

What I like about the company

I've had to work very hard to get to a position where I'm at now, but I now have the ability to come and go as I please for the most part, make my own decisions, and I make a pretty good salary.

What I dislike about the company

I disapprove in the style of the upper management. They do not listen to the employees in production at all. There's too much of a gap between upper management or the decision makers and the employees who actually do the production. They are not very open to change and if you are a non-professional employee meaning you don't have your professional engineering license, you are treated like a second-class citizen. This includes but is not limited to employees who do more for the organization then many of the professional employees.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-horn
  • City
    Raleigh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 07.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More focus on work life balance, as well as a structured education program built into the new hire curriculum.

What I like about the company

I worked with great teams wherever I was sent, and was compensated very well.

What I dislike about the company

Work life balance was difficult due to nature of the work and wanting to exceed client expectations. More emphasis on making sure employees keeping regular hours and only working late under extreme circumstances would be helpful.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
  • City
    Jacksonville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee
  • 20.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Should provide meals/ and more flexible working schedule

What I like about the company

flexible hours and holidays and PTO

What I dislike about the company

Change the flexible hours into more personal, some people arent morning person

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates
  • City
    san francisco
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Improved workspaces, more collaborative work environment, and more defined work policies on flexible hours.

What I like about the company

Excellent pay, good people to work with. Good leadership at the top.

What I dislike about the company

If you aren't an engineer, opportunities for advancement can be somewhat limited or at least delayed/suppressed.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 16.Feb 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I don't want to answer this. I don't want to answer this.

What I like about the company

I don't want to answer this. I don't want to answer this.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
  • City
    Columbia
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 10.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • 0

What I like about the company

Flexible and work with your life-balance as long as you get your work done. Friendly environment

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates, Inc.
  • City
    Richmond
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 08.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Strong company culture that welcomes you and assimilates you fast.

Support from management

My supervisor was incredible and had a great relationship with upper management throughout my tenure.

Teamwork

From the start you recognize everyone wants to see you succeed.

Freedom to work independently

I was given a full workload my first week and was able to pick and choose my projects immediately.

Internal Communication

Incredibly effective.

Career Development

They are trying just like any company to find a groove for career development it still needs work outside the P ladder.

Overall compensation for your work

Remarkable benefits and surprise compensation quarterly it seemed like.

Office / Work Environment

Large office with tons of resources.

Work-Life Balance

You are expected to work overtime but the schedule lends itself to that. So I never found a problem with that but some might.

Challenging Work

Always challenging work with the freedom to jump to projects outside your office.

Suggestions for improvement

  • None

What I like about the company

Fantastic challenging work and really gives you a chance to shine.

What I dislike about the company

Their career development for people outside the Production Ladder was lacking and didn't afford those emplyees some of the same benefits.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates
  • City
    Raleigh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Design

The following perks were offered to me

Fitness center on site is offered
  • 05.Dec 2015
  • Employee
  • FORBES
Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered
  • Company
    Kimley-Horn and Associates
  • City
    Raleigh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered