Skip over menu?
  

kununu US:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews for kununu US

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.58
Support from management
4.32
Teamwork
4.46
Freedom to work independently
4.44
Internal Communication
4.24
Office / Work Environment
4.24
Environmental Friendliness
3.78
Work-Life Balance
4.46
Challenging Work
4.56
Inclusive / Diverse
4.04

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.41
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.30
Career Development
3.83
Overall compensation for your work
4.07
Company Image
4.17
Job Security
3.83
Handicapped Accessibility
4.14
Workplace Safety
4.48
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 11 of 30 reviews Parking in 1 of 30 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 17 of 30 reviews No stock or equity options 401(k) in 10 of 30 reviews No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 30 reviews Ability to work remotely in 11 of 30 reviews Desirable office location in 17 of 30 reviews Tuition assistance in 1 of 30 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 3 of 30 reviews 401(k) Match in 6 of 30 reviews Flexible spending account in 3 of 30 reviews Paid time off in 16 of 30 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 16 of 30 reviews Relocation allowance in 1 of 30 reviews Life insurance in 7 of 30 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 3 of 30 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 14 of 30 reviews Health and wellness programs in 5 of 30 reviews Employee discounts in 1 of 30 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 17 of 30 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 5 of 30 reviews No fitness center on site Free Snacks/Drinks in 17 of 30 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 31.May 2018
  • Employee

Work-Life Balance

For a small company, hours are pretty reasonable

Suggestions for improvement

  • Honestly, there isn't much that comes to mind here. The things that don't work well (for example management communication) we actively work on. Sometimes fixes work, sometimes they don't but there always seems to be a desire to listen to input and improve.

What I like about the company

Lots to list. The people, the informal but decisive culture, my day-to-day work, the company mission, free lunches on Friday, etc.

What I dislike about the company

We're definitely packed in here closely together. Doesn't both me, but it could bother some folks.

Company Culture
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    kununu US
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about kununu US? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 11.May 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Company Culture

It's a high school atmosphere. It's more of a hang out rather than a place of business.

Support from management

Leadership doesn't care about your well being and all they care about is "when the next deal is coming in or what is our conversion %"

Teamwork

Colleagues take your perspective personal if you don't agree with their point of view which in most cases is completely wrong

Freedom to work independently

Leadership has to control everything and unfortunately their guidance is completely off.

Internal Communication

Departments act separately.

Career Development

No chance of moving up in the company because the product is not a market fit and will never be successful.

Office / Work Environment

No space. We were on top of each other. Not enough conference rooms/space to take calls. They expected us to take calls on the floor as they blast loud music and play catch w the football or while dogs are running around the office barking trying to eat food in my barrel.

Company Image

They preach their "value" but no one lived those values.

Job Security

They always threatened that you were at "at will" employee. They gave promotions to the people that adopted the "fake it till you make it" approach and not the real hard working employees.

Challenging Work

The product doesn't work the way the market needs it to work.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Completely change leadership at all levels. They have hurt the company based on their lack of experience and their ability to make rational decisions.

What I like about the company

Unfortunately, there's no positives at this company.

What I dislike about the company

EVERYTHING, but the worst part is leadership and their lack of EMPATHY.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    kununu US
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

Company response

Thank you for your opinion! We appreciate the time it took for you to write these sentiments down and we’re sorry that you hold negative feelings about your time here. In terms of your thoughts on our office environment - we agree that our small office space could use more meeting spaces, but since adding square footage is impossible we make the best out of what we have and actively communicate with each other as a team about space needs. Looking at the other critical points of your feedback and it appears that your perspective is themed around disagreements with / about leadership, dislike or distrust of your peers, and an overall opposition to “everything” at the company. We hear you and are very sorry to hear about these less-than-positive feelings. Since we have not found similar feelings shared among any of your peers - past or present - we are, however, at a loss on how we can remedy those isolated concerns that you have. Regardless, this review has been shared and reviewed by our management team and they thank you for your candor. We, as a team, review this feedback and internal feedback on a weekly basis and will always try to use it to become a better company. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors and hope that you’ll be able to cultivate more positive experiences in your future role(s)!

kununu

  • 13.Feb 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

What I like about the company

Absolutely nothing.

What I dislike about the company

Everything

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    kununu US
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

Company response

Thank you for your input! We appreciate the feedback. It would be much more actionable for us if there were more specifics around what shaped your experience in this way. Feel free to reach out to us to help us better understand and improve! Thanks again for your time - we hope you find what you're looking for in your next role.

kununu

Teamwork

Every team works well together, and there's also many opportunities for cross-functional collaboration too

Work-Life Balance

Managers are extremely reasonable about letting employees working remote or from home, although many team members choose to be at work a lot because they enjoy it

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing that hasn't been opening addressed and actively worked on already!

What I like about the company

The members of the leadership team are very open, friendly and genuinely care about each person in the company, so it's a nice feeling to be supported that way and led by people you can trust. There's also lots of laughter and camaraderie among the whole team on a daily basis, which makes for a great working atmosphere in the open office space.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    kununu US
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company Culture

The perks are amazing. Casual office environment located in one of the best locations surrounded by cafés and restaurants. Free lunch every Friday, ping pong game room, chilled happy hours.

Support from management

The company core values are Boldness, Transparency, Inclusiveness, Empathy and Improvement – the Management encourages the team members to apply them on a day-to-day basis. Management actively look to improve things because they know how important it is to keep the good culture.

Teamwork

The company is amazingly open and flexible: every Friday we hold what's called kununu AllHands where food, beer, etc. is served, new projects are presented. There are open forums to ask the team members anything you want.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 31.Aug 2016
  • Employee

Overall compensation for your work

I was paid a fair wage for my work, but the office is in Boston and the commute got expensive.

Challenging Work

I was a short term intern and did not have enough time to take on large and more complex projects. The work I was doing was pretty boring but every now and then I would help out with with something more engaging.

What I like about the company

It is a fun, engaging, and happy atmosphere.

What I dislike about the company

The website can be difficult to work with.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Internship in 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 25.Jul 2016
  • Employee

Sales

4.50

Company Culture

fun culture that is very special

Support from management

great leadership team dedicated to making the company successful

Teamwork

awesome group of talented people who are great to work with

Freedom to work independently

great opportunity to have meaningful roll in building the company

Internal Communication

transparency abounds and it makes for successful communication

Attitude towards older colleagues

all are welcome - even those with experience who know what to do

Office / Work Environment

sunny - cool bricks - pingpong

Work-Life Balance

for a start up there is a real focus on this and it make for a great working environment

Company Image

image and reality match

Job Security

back by 9 years of success in Europe - very stable

Challenging Work

very challenging and tons of fun

Inclusive / Diverse

all are welcome - diversity = success

What I like about the company

fun company on a mission with great people

What I dislike about the company

nothing

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 20.Jun 2016
  • Employee

Company Image

we don't really have one yet...

Suggestions for improvement

  • Keep making effective hires in order to distribute workload evenly.

What I like about the company

It's totally transparent. The start-up environment is bold, creative and interesting in many ways. There's a lot of work to go around, but it all feels rewarding because it produces tangible results. Leadership is supportive and helps you as you troubleshoot various problems. The people here are vibrant and open, communication is easy and mostly effective.

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes it appears that communication and information relay is slow and impossible at times with our office in Vienna, but I trust that that process will be figured out.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Internship in 2016
  • Position
    Temporary

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 10.May 2016
  • Employee

Marketing

4.83

Support from management

The management style is supportive yet laid back - a rare combination

Suggestions for improvement

  • It´s a start up - of course there are improvements possible. But really, all I would hope they do is stick to their guns and just keep on going the way they are.

What I like about the company

kununu is a rare combination of easy and relaxed communication style yet demanding work. People genuinely like each other and manage to be direct while being friendly.- If there is an issue - they don´t waste time to address and clarify and get back to smooth runnings. They´re also pretty gutsy when it comes to business and truly believe in what they are doing. It´s a great place to work.

What I dislike about the company

I´m hard pressed to think of something.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Freelance/self-employed
  • Department
    Marketing/product management

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered
  • 18.Apr 2016 (Last edit 04.Apr 2017)
  • Employee

Support from management

The entire team has been kept well informed and input considered in the go forward strategy

Teamwork

Excellent environment with everyone jumping in to assist wherever and whenever they can

Suggestions for improvement

  • Lets get into our own space and continue to grow the team and the business!!

What I like about the company

People are direct and honest and understand how much work is required to move forward and grow the company. We all enjoy the work and working together as a team.

What I dislike about the company

Even though we are in a beautiful shared office location, we are not in our own space yet (we will be soon!)

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Kununu Us, LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Not specified