Skip over menu?
  

National Grid:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Energy
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for National Grid

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.74
Support from management
3.63
Teamwork
3.81
Freedom to work independently
3.80
Internal Communication
3.29
Office / Work Environment
3.75
Environmental Friendliness
3.84
Work-Life Balance
3.54
Challenging Work
4.01
Inclusive / Diverse
4.04

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.94
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.78
Career Development
3.79
Overall compensation for your work
3.75
Company Image
3.77
Job Security
3.70
Handicapped Accessibility
3.86
Workplace Safety
4.15
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 25 of 96 reviews Parking in 45 of 96 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 16 of 96 reviews Stock or equity options in 32 of 96 reviews 401(k) in 60 of 96 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 5 of 96 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 8 of 96 reviews Ability to work remotely in 29 of 96 reviews Desirable office location in 19 of 96 reviews Tuition assistance in 32 of 96 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 34 of 96 reviews 401(k) Match in 54 of 96 reviews Flexible spending account in 34 of 96 reviews Paid time off in 54 of 96 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 51 of 96 reviews Relocation allowance in 3 of 96 reviews Life insurance in 47 of 96 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 51 of 96 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 16 of 96 reviews Health and wellness programs in 40 of 96 reviews Employee discounts in 39 of 96 reviews Vehicle allowance in 19 of 96 reviews Employee events in 34 of 96 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 32 of 96 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 15 of 96 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 22.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • It would be nice if there was onsite daycare.

What I like about the company

They gave me two months off fully paid when I had my daughter. This company really cares about their employees.

What I dislike about the company

Nothing. This company is the best employer I’ve ever had.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    ma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
Have a question about National Grid? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 15.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would love on-site daycare.

What I like about the company

I was lucky to have 2 months off paid when my daughter was born.

What I dislike about the company

We don’t need to change procedures every time there is a human error.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    ma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 13.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More hours more overtime Better benefits

What I like about the company

We have company outings and that's really fantastic

What I dislike about the company

The bosses up high are a bit high strung

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid USA Service Company, Inc.
  • City
    West Roxbury
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 13.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • On site daycare would be great.

What I like about the company

They have great parental leave.

What I dislike about the company

On site daycare would be great.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    Waltham
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 12.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Value the input of employees instead of ignoring them

What I like about the company

My supervisor is nice but that's about it

What I dislike about the company

Management is too self centered

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered Ability to work remotely is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid USA
  • City
    Waltham
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 08.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like if they had onsite child care.

What I like about the company

They help me live my life away from work.

What I dislike about the company

Nothing. I love my company. They do great.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid Transmission Services Corporation
  • City
    Westborough
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 01.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Company Culture

Upper management has a demonstrated disdain for all things union including their people.

Support from management

See above

Teamwork

Management threw the entire union team out in the streets before we even had a chance to vote on a new collective bargaining agreement.

Freedom to work independently

When the company is not trying to destroy decades of benefits, we can work somewhat independently.

Internal Communication

Great lip-service regarding employee input. Actual respect for it...not so much.

Attitude towards older colleagues

The company would love nothing better than to exit all senior employees to save a few dimes on their bottom line, even though they had 24% profit last year.

Career Development

Yet another area that the Company is seeking to damage in this contract negotiations.

Overall compensation for your work

The company is in a constant process of attempting to dismantle every aspect of compensation and to break the Union.

Office / Work Environment

I'm certain there will be plenty of residual tension once this lockout is over.

Environmental Friendliness

1200 union employees are in their 3rd month of being locked out even as the pipelines that need replacing are leaking in hundreds of locations. Natural gas escaping into the atmosphere daily is not exactly environmentally friendly.

Work-Life Balance

Union employees had the health care rug pulled out from under them by the union 5 days after the company locked them out.

Company Image

Much better than it should be...if only the general public knew the truth.

Job Security

One of the cornerstones of the Union that the Company is trying to do away with is job security.

Workplace Safety

Under-trained replacement workers are violating personal and professional safety procedures on a daily basis.

Challenging Work

The work is very challenging. It's even more challenging when the Management has no respect for it.

Suggestions for improvement

  • I think the entire company would benefit from American ownership rather than being owned by a London-based firm.

What I like about the company

My co-workers are decent, hard working people and my direct manager is good man and a good supervisor, even though he gets very little support from upper management.

What I dislike about the company

Upper management has proven undeniably in this current contract negotiation that they have concern only for the dollar, and absolutely none for the lives of their employees and their families.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    ma
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

Suggestions for improvement

  • More chargepoint stations for electric cars. When someone is slacking in their job, then it needs to be addressed sooner rather than later.

What I like about the company

When my son became sick, my bosses allowed me to take off whenever I needed to tend to him with some of that time not counting towards my paid time off. For the most part, I am autonomous in my position and my immediate supervisor does not even work in the same building.

What I dislike about the company

They need to pay for overtime worked. They can tend to micromanage. They are always trying to push the "less is more" mentality.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    Waltham
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered
  • 25.Sep 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Personal computers and cell phones for all employees would be a more efficient way of keeping communication active

What I like about the company

Personal office with new office equipment. Vehicle is paid for. Plenty of vacation and sick time

What I dislike about the company

Long working hours. Waste of company resources at times ie papee

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid Energy Corporation
  • City
    Syracuse
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • More charging stations for electric cars. Go back to the healthcare tiers we used to have.

What I like about the company

When my son was sick, they let me adjust time off and my hours to be able to take him to appointments.

What I dislike about the company

We do not always get paid for overtime and can end up working weekend days for 12-16 hours for free.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    National Grid
  • City
    Waltham
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered