Skip over menu?
  

San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS):What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Consumer Goods/Grocery/Retail
Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews for San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS)

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.21
Support from management
4.18
Teamwork
4.26
Freedom to work independently
4.17
Internal Communication
3.62
Office / Work Environment
4.30
Environmental Friendliness
4.23
Work-Life Balance
4.02
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.34

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.53
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.40
Career Development
3.65
Overall compensation for your work
3.57
Company Image
4.36
Job Security
3.96
Handicapped Accessibility
4.42
Workplace Safety
4.38
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 48 of 100 reviews Parking in 24 of 100 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 8 of 100 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 100 reviews 401(k) in 52 of 100 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 8 of 100 reviews Desirable office location in 9 of 100 reviews Tuition assistance in 8 of 100 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 3 of 100 reviews 401(k) Match in 32 of 100 reviews Flexible spending account in 25 of 100 reviews Paid time off in 72 of 100 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 43 of 100 reviews Relocation allowance in 3 of 100 reviews Life insurance in 71 of 100 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 1 of 100 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 5 of 100 reviews Health and wellness programs in 20 of 100 reviews Employee discounts in 87 of 100 reviews Vehicle allowance in 3 of 100 reviews Employee events in 25 of 100 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 2 of 100 reviews Fitness center on site in 12 of 100 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 100 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 10.Sep 2019
  • Employee

What I like about the company

Employees are always 1st. I enjoy that I have the ability to make up my hours if needed.

What I dislike about the company

Pay could be more competitive. Bring back Vacation, Sick Leave, keep PTO as well.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
What is the company culture like at San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS)? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 18.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Support from management

in store management is great, dm and upper management are a little harder to please

Teamwork

Our staff works great together!

Freedom to work independently

we are left alone for long durations at times and it can be trying but for the most part, it's tolerable.

Overall compensation for your work

Currently underpaid when you compare the quality of shoes we sell and the type of care we take with our customers with an employee at Bill Miller's making $13-15 an hr to sell a brisket sandwich they threw together in 3 seconds. From the moment the customer walks in until we walk them out we are dedicated to inform, try on, educate them on the need for sundries, etc and their purchase is more then I make in a week.

Work-Life Balance

very good work/life balance. communication is key

Workplace Safety

other than the amount of shoes in the store sometimes interfering with our ability to work

Challenging Work

depending on the customer, some sales can be challenging

Suggestions for improvement

  • listen to the employees, from the warehouse to the retail stores. we are the ones that deal w/ the customers everyday, we hear the feedback, we have suggestions and someone may want to hear them.

What I like about the company

work/life balance

What I dislike about the company

the amount of changes that happen almost weekly

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 06.Aug 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • need more sizes in new product

What I like about the company

flexable hours

What I dislike about the company

nothing

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    san antonio shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 27.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

American made shoes, strong culture.

Support from management

Management will give you support on occasion

Teamwork

Working well with a team is key to helping the customer get the full SAS experience.

Freedom to work independently

At SAS we are able to work independently by having a hands on experience with customers.

Internal Communication

Receive great communication from business.

Gender Equality

Gender equality is great within the work place.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Respect all colleagues the same.

Overall compensation for your work

Minimum wage for starting sales associates.

Office / Work Environment

Selling environment, be ready to sell!

Environmental Friendliness

We recycle weekly.

Work-Life Balance

Store hours are great, and gives opportunity for balance with personal life.

Company Image

All employees should have the option to wear athletic shoes to work as they are really comfortable.

Inclusive / Diverse

very diverse

Suggestions for improvement

  • The dress code should be adjusted slightly so that athletic wear could be worn to work. Also faster internet and updated computer software would be helpful

What I like about the company

The product is great, and helps out a lot of customers.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales
  • 26.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I think everything is organized properly there is nothing to change.

What I like about the company

I like how friendly of an environment it is

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes customers find out friendly service too overwhelming

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered
  • 24.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Bring the candy back for the guests

What I like about the company

Friendly employees and guests

What I dislike about the company

I have no dislikes

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    San Antonio Shoes Inc.
  • City
    Dallas
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • To have understanding and reasonable managers/workers like Tommy

What I like about the company

The company is not like most companies full of pressure and stress.

What I dislike about the company

The only thing negative I have to say about this company is that they should pay the employees more other than raise the prices of the products that we sell.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 22.Jul 2019
  • Employee

employee

5.00

Suggestions for improvement

  • Increase pay

What I like about the company

Being able to work one-on-one with customers

What I dislike about the company

Hours of operation, we could open earlier

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 22.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Survey

3.72

Freedom to work independently

Give employees more freedom to handle store duties

Internal Communication

Work better on responding to emails and calls when calling/emailing an certain dept.

Overall compensation for your work

We need to be paid more, especially with the store duties than most retail companies

Work-Life Balance

Help the stores to make sure they are fully staffed

Handicapped Accessibility

We need a better access for handicap access

Challenging Work

Only challenging when you are not fully staffed. You can't expect things to get done to the fullest potential when you don't have the staff to help

Inclusive / Diverse

Be more diverse in marketing

Suggestions for improvement

  • Improvements in marketing and coupons being mailed or email to all customer rather lapse or consistent customers. We need a commercial to help improve the new brand and more social media outreach

What I like about the company

The ability to advance with the company is one of my favorite things about the company. The family atmosphere where it's an open door policy and you are able to meet anyone.

What I dislike about the company

The pay could be much better. The restraints on working with duties and things that works for our store. I understand consistency and having policy, but each store is different and works off a different demographic. I believe the systems should be connected and since the prices are going up shipping should be reduced.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 22.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Internal Communication

Stores need to be more aware of new product they are receiving, not just show up and have to scramble to figure out where to place.

Overall compensation for your work

Bonus structure is unobtainable.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need better communication for new product. Items just show up out of the blue and we have no holes to place. There is no reason we cannot be notified of new product arriving before hand.

What I like about the company

Still has that small company feel to it. Friendly individuals for the most part.

What I dislike about the company

The communication is difficult sometimes.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered