Skip over menu?
  

San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS):What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Retail & Consumer Goods
Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews for San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS)

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.21
Support from management
4.18
Teamwork
4.26
Freedom to work independently
4.17
Internal Communication
3.62
Office / Work Environment
4.30
Environmental Friendliness
4.23
Work-Life Balance
4.02
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.34

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.53
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.40
Career Development
3.65
Overall compensation for your work
3.57
Company Image
4.36
Job Security
3.96
Handicapped Accessibility
4.42
Workplace Safety
4.38
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 48 of 100 reviews Parking in 24 of 100 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 8 of 100 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 100 reviews 401(k) in 52 of 100 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 8 of 100 reviews Desirable office location in 9 of 100 reviews Tuition assistance in 8 of 100 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 3 of 100 reviews 401(k) Match in 32 of 100 reviews Flexible spending account in 25 of 100 reviews Paid time off in 72 of 100 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 43 of 100 reviews Relocation allowance in 3 of 100 reviews Life insurance in 71 of 100 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 1 of 100 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 5 of 100 reviews Health and wellness programs in 20 of 100 reviews Employee discounts in 87 of 100 reviews Vehicle allowance in 3 of 100 reviews Employee events in 25 of 100 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 2 of 100 reviews Fitness center on site in 12 of 100 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 100 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 22.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

SAS promotes positivity & quality product at all levels from Corp to sales floor.

Internal Communication

Very good.

Environmental Friendliness

It might be good to have small bags for retail stores to use with shoe care products. Imagine a leather cream in 1-pair sized handled bag.

Shipping from Corp to stores often send 5 pair box with new styles. Maybe could wait to release with regular shipment to cut down on shipping waste.

Suggestions for improvement

  • with Omni it’s no longer needed to have all pairs in all sizes & colors. 1-2 pairs in a new color is great. But to grow pairs we need new customers. We really need to have one color with a wider range size runs. Guests need to have something to try on so they can feel the ‘SAS’ comfort and take the leap of faith to order in their color. We continue to loose pairs due to not having slims or small/large sizing available in our store. Also, we need a silver sandal please.

What I like about the company

It’s a great family company. The product is wonderful.

What I dislike about the company

I love our company and the product!
I would like to have promotions rung up using the same method. Scan a bar code. Adding the comment line takes a long time and could be scanned and more accurately tallied at the end for data collection.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
What is the company culture like at San Antonio Shoemakers (SAS)? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 19.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

losing some of our identity that the public has come to know

Support from management

more can be done to include stores in decisions

Teamwork

for the most part good in the field

Freedom to work independently

trust from store manager

Internal Communication

lack of communication, especially when it come to promotions , to many changes right up to and during the promotion.

Attitude towards older colleagues

their input not requested or listen to

Office / Work Environment

very good

Work-Life Balance

don't fell family is considered to a great extent

Company Image

for the most part

Job Security

unsure day to day

Handicapped Accessibility

good

Workplace Safety

repairs made where needed for employees and customer

Challenging Work

every day is a challenge to do better and improve

Inclusive / Diverse

don't fell our input is listened to

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 17.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

I have worked for SAS a long time. While I miss the "old" SAS the new SAS has good things going for it.

Internal Communication

Their communication is very bad. Not to long ago the Omni system had a problem. This caused problems with the stores and the customers. A simple email stating there was a problem , what the problem was and when it would be fixed would have saved time and money for everyone. Not one word was or has been said about this.

Attitude towards older colleagues

As one of the older employees both in age and time with the company I feel very appreciated.

Work-Life Balance

Store hours are very good for retail. Unless your center demands it most stores are closed by 7. I am very disappointed in some of the stores being made to open this past Easter. No need for that.

Challenging Work

You are working with the public. This is the most challenging part of the job. It is you attitude that will make it a good thing or bad.

Suggestions for improvement

  • PLEASE talk with us. Let us know what's going on. This is where some of the stress comes from. Slow down , make sure the stores have a shoe before having a sale. Please try to have us do the audit's twice a year not every three months, that's nuts.

What I like about the company

The hours for retail are good. They do care the business comes first but they do understand we have family. If you enjoy working with the public we would be a great place to work. Not easy but remember all work is hard.

What I dislike about the company

Not much honestly.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 16.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Internal Communication

It has gotten a little better but still needs improvement.

Overall compensation for your work

We are not getting paid what we are worth, especially if you have been here a long time.

Office / Work Environment

Work environment is great but the technology has always been a struggle. We are barely moving forward technology wise.

Job Security

Anyone is replaceable, no one is safe.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better pay for employees, keep up with technology and continue improving business practice. Stay clear of "it's the SAS way" or "This is how we have always done it"

What I like about the company

It seems to be going in the right direction business wise. Overall it's not a stressful work environment.

What I dislike about the company

Pay and technology being out of date

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 16.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

I love how this company started, it warms my heart.

Suggestions for improvement

  • I feel we would have less turnover and better employees if the pay scale was higher.

What I like about the company

That it is family owned.

What I dislike about the company

Its changed so much and not in a good way when the original owners passed away. I feel like we have become just like all the other sales places out there, and we used to be very different than any other company I ever worked for.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 15.Jul 2019
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Attitude towards older colleagues

We definitely seem to do better employing more mature people. Went thru 3 previous employees very quickly that were young.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better availability in reducing overstock by sending back discontinued colors or styles of shoes.

What I like about the company

Good support from Corp. Bonuses on occasion!

What I dislike about the company

Not enough raises. Have worker here 6 yrs. and make the same as a brand new employee.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered

Company response

San Antonio Shoemakers performs regular performance appraisals for all of our employees, and managers & Supervisors have the discretion to recommend raises during the appraisal process provided that performance meets or exceeds expectations.



  • 15.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

A good family business

Support from management

could be more

Teamwork

could be better

Internal Communication

associates are rude when asking or presenting a problem

Gender Equality

very good

Attitude towards older colleagues

Great teams think alike

Career Development

not much

Overall compensation for your work

more money and bonus for hard work

Office / Work Environment

work environment very good

Environmental Friendliness

could be better

Work-Life Balance

work at the store over 40 hours a week

Company Image

good family business

Job Security

never know

Handicapped Accessibility

good

Workplace Safety

Need burglar alarms.

Challenging Work

to make daily goals

Inclusive / Diverse

very diverse

Suggestions for improvement

  • stop raising prices and give more money to deserved employees

What I like about the company

Family owned

What I dislike about the company

Does not pay enough

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 15.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Freedom to work independently

SOMETIMES MY MANAGER WATCHES OVER MY SHOULDER AND COMMENTS ON WHAT COMES NEXT FOR ME TO ENTER WHEN RINGING A SALE. MANAGER HAS ALSO TAKEN OVER WITH A CUSTOMER I AM WORKING WITH WITHOUT SAYING ANYTHING MAKING ME FEEL LIKE I'M NOT DOING THINGS RIGHT BUT MAKES NO COMMENT LATER. I'VE BEEN HERE ALMOST A YEAR AND DO FINE WHEN THE MANAGER IS NOT HERE.

Internal Communication

SOMETIMES FEEL THAT CORP DOESN'T UNDERSTAND THE FLOW OF THE STORE WHEN WE ARE GIVEN SPECIFIC PROCEDURES TO FOLLOW FOR EACH SALE. WHEN YOU HAVE A LINE AT THE ONLY REGISTER YOU HAVE TO MOVE ALONG AND NOT BE REREADING MEMOS.

Overall compensation for your work

MINIMUM WAGE BUT THE TWICE YEARLY BONUS CHECKS ARE NICE!

Suggestions for improvement

  • WE HAVE AN ABUNDANCE OF THE VERY OLD STYLE SHOES. WE NEED MORE SPACE FOR LARGER SIZES PLUS WIDES AND NARROWS. DON'T GET A RESPONSE WHEN BROUGHT UP TO THE MANAGER

What I like about the company

LOVE THE STORE ENVIRONMENT AS A WHOLE. HOURS ARE GREAT. DISCOUNTS ARE WONDERFUL.

What I dislike about the company

BEING WATCHED. IT MAKES ME NERVOUS WHICH LEADS TO MISTAKES. I MAY TAKE AN EXTRA SECOND TO MAKE SURE I HAVE ALL THE INFO AND MANAGER WILL START TELLING ME WHAT I NEED TO DO NEXT AS IF I AM TOO SLOW WHICH I AM NOT

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 15.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • HOME OFFICE WOULD ALLOW EMPLOYEES INPUT ON SIZES AND STYLES FOR OUR STORE LOCATION

What I like about the company

BENEFITS

What I dislike about the company

NOT ENOUGH EMPLOYEE INPUT ON STOCK

Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales
  • 15.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Teamwork

Store level teamwork is great.

Internal Communication

Lack of communication.

Overall compensation for your work

Free shoes and summer checks were nice.

Office / Work Environment

A little slow. Not many customers can afford these shoe. Brand name purses are cheaper than SAS’s purses.

Work-Life Balance

Not sure what you are asking.

Challenging Work

No.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Lower some prices on shoes and make the purse cheaper than shoes.

What I like about the company

Nothing, it’s just a job.

What I dislike about the company

Prices. Lower the prices on some shoes for people that can’t afford them.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Sas Shoemakers
  • City
    San Antonio, TX
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered