Skip over menu?
  

The Boston Globe:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Internet/Media
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The Boston Globe

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.22
Support from management
3.11
Teamwork
3.33
Freedom to work independently
3.22
Internal Communication
3.00
Office / Work Environment
2.50
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.56
Challenging Work
3.44
Inclusive / Diverse
3.67

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.67
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.67
Career Development
2.89
Overall compensation for your work
3.89
Company Image
3.56
Job Security
2.67
Handicapped Accessibility
3.25
Workplace Safety
2.75
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

No flex. working hours Parking in 4 of 9 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 2 of 9 reviews Stock or equity options in 2 of 9 reviews 401(k) in 3 of 9 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare No ability to work remotely Desirable office location in 1 of 9 reviews No tuition assistance Paid Parental Leave in 2 of 9 reviews 401(k) Match in 1 of 9 reviews Flexible spending account in 2 of 9 reviews Paid time off in 4 of 9 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 4 of 9 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 3 of 9 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 9 reviews No meal or transportation allowance No health and wellness programs Employee discounts in 2 of 9 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 2 of 9 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 1 of 9 reviews No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Suggestions for improvement

  • I can't think of anything I would change. I love my job and I don't ever want to leave!

What I like about the company

I have felt as if I could approach my boss with anything, knowing I won't be belittled for not knowing something. My co-workers are helpful and friendly and we all help each other to get the work done and meet deadlines.

What I dislike about the company

Absolutely nothing! The Boston Globe has completely nailed the work system!

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    The Boston Globe LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about The Boston Globe? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 14.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Dress code should be given. Too much of casual clothing should not be allowed.

What I like about the company

It is a nice company to work with.

What I dislike about the company

The dress code should be given to employees.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • 12.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing. This place is perfect.

What I like about the company

My boss is amazing, my co-workers are amazing, and everyone is super helpful. It is a very inclusive work unit, where everyone helps everyone else to make their deadlines.

What I dislike about the company

Nothing. This place is perfect.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 11.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Change the whole customer service management.

What I dislike about the company

Call center atmosphere, lack of concern for the customers

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 01.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • No improvements in the last night of the above said

What I like about the company

Great people made the job easy to do and a pleasure to go to work

What I dislike about the company

Handling of assignments was at times uneasy

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Not specified
  • 30.May 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • There aren't any improvements

What I like about the company

They can be very understanding when it come to personal issue.

What I dislike about the company

There isn't anything I disapprove of.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 04.May 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Turn over with upper management Build real trust

What I like about the company

Management makes all decisions with little input from workforce

What I dislike about the company

Planning vision outlook on labor

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The Boston Globe LLC
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 03.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I genuinely don’t know it’s an ageing industry that is no longer valued and has been slowly been replaced by the internet

What I like about the company

My whole family has worked there

What I dislike about the company

They do not care about employees and I doubt the job will be there in a few years

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Boston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 20.Apr 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • have someone that cares

What I like about the company

unknowing

What I dislike about the company

unemployed

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The Boston Globe
  • City
    Millbury
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered