Skip over menu?
  

The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.53
Support from management
3.71
Teamwork
3.94
Freedom to work independently
3.71
Internal Communication
3.76
Office / Work Environment
3.88
Environmental Friendliness
4.38
Work-Life Balance
3.53
Challenging Work
4.18
Inclusive / Diverse
4.12

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.29
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.41
Career Development
3.71
Overall compensation for your work
2.76
Company Image
4.06
Job Security
4.35
Handicapped Accessibility
4.63
Workplace Safety
4.13
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

No flex. working hours Parking in 8 of 17 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 1 of 17 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 17 reviews 401(k) in 8 of 17 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 1 of 17 reviews Desirable office location in 2 of 17 reviews No tuition assistance No Paid Parental Leave 401(k) Match in 1 of 17 reviews Flexible spending account in 5 of 17 reviews Paid time off in 9 of 17 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 12 of 17 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 11 of 17 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 9 of 17 reviews No meal or transportation allowance Health and wellness programs in 11 of 17 reviews Employee discounts in 9 of 17 reviews Vehicle allowance in 1 of 17 reviews Employee events in 3 of 17 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 27.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The Marazanno system of evaluation needs to go. It's way too complicated. Nobody likes it or understands it.

What I like about the company

I'm a math teacher, for seniors. We have a great time preparing for college.

What I dislike about the company

None really. We're observed and evaluated under a poor system but we all deal with it.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    Boca Raton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
Have a question about The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 08.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The income ratio to living in Palm Beach County does not work well if you do not have a second income coming into the house. Other than that, I have no complaints at all. I loved working for the school and wish that I did not have to leave the state to make a living.

What I like about the company

Leaving was the hardest thing all around. The employees are wonderful to work with, and the children are even better to work with at all times.

What I dislike about the company

I don't like that for everything that I did within the company, I did not make enough money to be able to live in Palm Beach County as a single mom with my income alone.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    Delray Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Nov 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Less admins. Pay teachers a fair living wage.

What I like about the company

The district has tried to make improvements and cut the fat from district offices.

What I dislike about the company

Too many administrators making too much money.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 17.Nov 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The district could be more passionate about helping students with special needs, and less focused on test scores. The constant worry, and having to teach towards tests, creates a very heavy work place energy during that time of the year.

What I like about the company

Working in Palm Beach County has given me the opportunity to work with a diverse group of children and teachers, from various countries and heritages. I have been exposed to so many different cultures, socioeconomic statuses, and lifestyles, that I feel it helps me be a better teacher.

What I dislike about the company

More money needs to be put into Exceptional Student Education. Teachers also need to be paid a living wage for Palm Beach County.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered
  • 23.Sep 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I think the company overall is fine, but some individual schools need to work on better procedures within the school.

What I like about the company

I have had the pleasure of working and learning from some phenomenal teachers.

What I dislike about the company

I think some principals need to be better leaders.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    Loxahatchee Groves
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 21.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • A better way to greet and support substitutes. And the should get some form of a benefit package after so many days or hours worked

What I like about the company

The teachers you cover are appreciative.

What I dislike about the company

The low pay, no benefits, and the lack of respect you feel immediately from the staff when you enter some of these school.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 20.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like to see teachers get paid for the job they do.

What I like about the company

I have been employed by the school district for 14 years and have not encountered any problems during my time there.

What I dislike about the company

I would like to see teachers get paid more for all they do.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    Boynton Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 09.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay people more money for doing a good job

What I like about the company

I get lots of paid time off and the benefits are great.

What I dislike about the company

The pay is not what it should be

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County (SDPBC), Florida
  • City
    Boca Raton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • 02.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay us an extra $10k a year plus our backpay of 8 years!

What I like about the company

The children are what matter, even when their parents don’t care

What I dislike about the company

Everything other than the children. The district doesn’t care we don’t have learning materials, we can’t afford medical care copays with horrid raises, they expect us to work for free after hours in dangerous areas.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District of Palm Beach County Florida
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 31.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • They should take in consideration the responsibilities and duties of every group before giving raises, instead of looking at groups, they should look at individuals.

What I like about the company

Great company to advance and retire. Like I said before the pay is not great but the benefits are.

What I dislike about the company

Salary, the increases in our salary are minimum while the amount of work that we need to do gets bigger every year.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The School District Of Palm Beach County (Sdpbc) Florida
  • City
    West Palm Beach
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered