Skip over menu?
  

The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospital & Health Care
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.40
Support from management
2.40
Teamwork
2.50
Freedom to work independently
2.80
Internal Communication
2.40
Office / Work Environment
1.60
Environmental Friendliness
1.80
Work-Life Balance
2.20
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.60

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.80
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.60
Overall compensation for your work
2.80
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.20
Handicapped Accessibility
2.80
Workplace Safety
3.00
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 1 of 5 reviews Parking in 3 of 5 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 3 of 5 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 5 reviews 401(k) in 1 of 5 reviews No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 5 reviews No ability to work remotely Desirable office location in 1 of 5 reviews Tuition assistance in 2 of 5 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 2 of 5 reviews 401(k) Match in 1 of 5 reviews Flexible spending account in 3 of 5 reviews Paid time off in 5 of 5 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 5 of 5 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 2 of 5 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 5 of 5 reviews No meal or transportation allowance Health and wellness programs in 3 of 5 reviews Employee discounts in 2 of 5 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 2 of 5 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 31.Mar 2019 (Last edit 29.May 2019)
  • Employee

Company Culture

As of 5/28/19 I forgive the person that retaliated against me. I have found empathy for him and I understand how anger and animosity could not leave mind. Some can not move on and get past animosity and choose a vindictive path which is only a vicious cycle for them. I forgive as I understand and accept now.

Support from management

Condescending, I was called fat or balding for fun. This person was very vindictive after I reported issues. Then I was put on the sidewalk like a bag of trash after 5 years of 5 star work. Just a brutal and ugly culture.

Teamwork

Ok

Freedom to work independently

Micromanaged and a lack of agree-ability just to be mean or hold leverage.

Internal Communication

Good with my people but I was mislead and lied to, deceptive, no review when it was due, only wrongful termination without warning.

Gender Equality

Ok

Attitude towards older colleagues

Ok

Career Development

I learned QAPI and how to run a great team. I also learned that a little corruption is known and acceptable and that retaliation is totally illegal. My job story was a very corrupt attack on a good person who reported issues. I was never mean enough to fit in with these people.

Overall compensation for your work

No respect what so ever. I never knew how much you can be hated for making the simple decision to report an issue. I was in charge of complaint taking but ironically it is why I was written up and terminated.

Office / Work Environment

Not much fun.

Environmental Friendliness

Ok

Work-Life Balance

Long commute and parking was expensive. Management would monitor the time you pulled into the parking lot. I was accidentally texted about what time someone parked. These people are very suspicious of the normal and good people, it's creepy.

Company Image

It is all about the look. no real empathy for the staff who are good and who do care.

Job Security

None and my termination was hidden from me and issued without warning after 5 years and 3 perfect surveys. I saw a person who was so happy to inflict carnage on me, it was pathetic and sick.

Handicapped Accessibility

Ok

Workplace Safety

Ok

Challenging Work

Yes, we all worked hard to get 5 stars. The work was not the problem.

Inclusive / Diverse

OK

Suggestions for improvement

  • Eliminate the corrupt, they are not to be put on a pedestal because they hurt people to get personal "results". This is a nursing home, corruption and revenge have no place in a nursing home. Morals and ethics must be 100% correct at all times in nursing home leadership, that is not the case at all here. Is it in the best interest of resident rights to give a final written warning to a director 24 hours after they submitted 2 valid resident complaints? these complaints were submitted by staff members to investigate in accordance with the facilities abuse reporting policy. Is this conduct acceptable to Brookdale Hospital?? Is it o.k. to contact a former disgraced employees wife for no known reason years after that employee was wrongfully terminated?? Its all predatory behavior to me and my family for that matter, no question about it. I hope this person can learn from these choices and never harm another again, that would be great.
  • Brookdale hospital needs to stop brushing off real issues coming from one unethical leader who seems to have much protection. Brookdale should work toward "Respect dignity and integrity" not just advertise it. The time for a change is long past due. Brookdale Hospital, please do the right thing, nursing home residents and their rights are counting on you and so am I. I am choosing forgiveness today as this is what God wants all of us to do. I forgive you, but I wont forget the pain and suffering I endured on and off the job from the little things on good days to the terrible things on bad days. it was such a hard way for me but I know now how hate got the best of you and I understand you now. You are forgiven by me.

What I like about the company

QAPI and what I learned. I love the residents with all my heart. It was an honor to help people who needed so much help.

What I dislike about the company

Bulling and being called fat and balding. Being written up under a false narrative for reporting legitimate issues. I was traumatized by pure hatred on the day I was wrongfully terminated. My wife was contacted by the same individual years later which was re-traumatizing. They know how to carry out revenge no doubt. Myself ever deserving revenge is pathetic, all I ever wanted to do is to help others and be respected, valued, and liked by my leaders I worked every day to achieve that. I don't play politics or look the other way when it comes to resident rights, lets be clear on that. I am choosing to forgive as of 5/28/19. The advice is to understand the dangers of retaliation, to accept other peoples points of view and respect them. To never bully your subordinates as it is mean even on the best of days. To learn empathy skills and use them. To know that Leadership and integrity are not found on a path of hatred and anger, that's not the way of God. If you truly hate a subordinate you can not fairly lead them so maybe recuse yourself from being the boss as hate is unfit and unfair in leadership.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc
  • City
    Brooklyn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 23.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Schulman and Schachne pretty much is up to date when it comes to workplace policies and culture. There are changes (cosmetically) that can be made.

What I like about the company

Schulman and Schachne provide great inservice to make sure employees are well informed and in the know.

What I dislike about the company

Equipment need updating as well as staff lounge.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc
  • City
    Brooklyn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • A lot needs to be updated. Compared to other companies I've worked for, this place is a bit behind times.

What I like about the company

Some individuals in management treat you with respect and dignity.

What I dislike about the company

They need to listen more to their employees. Especially the employees who provide direct care to their patients.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc
  • City
    Brooklyn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 22.Jun 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

No support

Suggestions for improvement

  • Have experienced strong leader who can motivate staff to be a team!

What I like about the company

Very poor communication or support from management! Very poor teamwork among staff.

What I dislike about the company

Staff uncooperativeness or willingness to help each other! Lazy staff who violate many rules.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc
  • City
    Brooklyn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 19.Jan 2017
  • Employee

What I like about the company

The patients

What I dislike about the company

Lack of support or recognition to good employees and lack of raises or incentives for hard work.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The Schulman and Schachne Institute For Nursing and Rehabilitation Inc
  • City
    Brooklyn
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2016
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered