Skip over menu?
  

The University of Chicago Medical Center:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospital & Health Care
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The University of Chicago Medical Center

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.96
Support from management
3.68
Teamwork
3.78
Freedom to work independently
3.70
Internal Communication
3.44
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.79
Work-Life Balance
3.70
Challenging Work
3.79
Inclusive / Diverse
4.06

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.98
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.04
Career Development
3.80
Overall compensation for your work
3.71
Company Image
4.22
Job Security
4.08
Handicapped Accessibility
4.43
Workplace Safety
4.04
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 14 of 51 reviews Parking in 16 of 51 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 9 of 51 reviews Stock or equity options in 4 of 51 reviews 401(k) in 33 of 51 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 3 of 51 reviews No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 7 of 51 reviews Desirable office location in 4 of 51 reviews Tuition assistance in 16 of 51 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 7 of 51 reviews 401(k) Match in 22 of 51 reviews Flexible spending account in 17 of 51 reviews Paid time off in 27 of 51 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 27 of 51 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 23 of 51 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 25 of 51 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 3 of 51 reviews Health and wellness programs in 23 of 51 reviews Employee discounts in 25 of 51 reviews Vehicle allowance in 1 of 51 reviews Employee events in 17 of 51 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 8 of 51 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 7 of 51 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 25.May 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I don’t have any specific suggestions

What I like about the company

Good company, challenging but meaningful work, great benefits

What I dislike about the company

Competitive salaries, short staffed in some cases

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Finance

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
Have a question about The University of Chicago Medical Center? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 23.May 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better offices for research teams

What I like about the company

Provided me positive professional growth

What I dislike about the company

In my department there was not a lot of room for movement to higher positions

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered
  • 20.May 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Very diverse environment to work in

Support from management

Not always. In fact I sometimes feel like I know more than my own boss.

Teamwork

Most of the time, we work individualy but as we all know, there is no "I" in team.

Freedom to work independently

For the most part, everyone works on their own, we each have a way of doing things but we also know how to work as a team.

Internal Communication

As with most jobs, communication is key, while the University as a whole is a great at communicating certain information, your section or department isn't always as efficient.

Gender Equality

I believe that men are getting paid more than women

Attitude towards older colleagues

I think after a certain age, the company tries to get you to quit or retire because they can't keep up with the new technology.

Career Development

For someone like me, there aren't really many advancement opportunities

Overall compensation for your work

For the amount of work I do, and the benefits I receive, I think my compensation is fair.

Office / Work Environment

Work spaces are not functional

Environmental Friendliness

does little to no effort to encourage people to recycle

Work-Life Balance

Personal days are offered, and leaniancy is great.

Company Image

I've come a long way and proud to be an employee

Handicapped Accessibility

For a hospital, I don't believe that this facilty is very handicap accessible.

Workplace Safety

There is some safety training and testing done on a regular or annual basis

Challenging Work

Older systems currently in use provide a challenge in getting work completed in an efficient manner.

Inclusive / Diverse

It's very one sided if you ask me.

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like to have an incentive program that gives the employees of the month a bonus such as paid parking for a month, a cash bonus, or even some meal vouchers. I would also like to improve our accounting system and the way we present accounting information to our faculty.

What I like about the company

I have great benefits and flexible work hours. Salary is fair and employee events can be fun.

What I dislike about the company

Parking for employees is just horrible. You either have to pay a few hundred bucks to park close or park blocks or even miles away. Management isn't the greatest and when they ask for feedback from employees, nothing ever really changes. Also, the systems our out of date and work doesn't get completed as accurately as they should be.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 20.May 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would keep more of a professional balance among the workplace tiers and offer more support for staff members lower down on the "ladder", so to speak. Additionally, it would be nice if items were completed at a faster pace.

What I like about the company

I feel that there are many opportunities to further your education and training while you are working here.

What I dislike about the company

It is highly competitive and managers sometimes pass this competition down to even staff members who may or may not feel ownership over this "competitive academic" world that faculty members live in. This can be somewhat destructive to building respect for all members of the workplace.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 17.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Extremely Positive

Suggestions for improvement

  • I wouldn't make any improvements at my company

What I like about the company

employees are family oriented. Everyone is professional

What I dislike about the company

I don't have anything negative to say about the University of Chicago Medical Center.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 22.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Provide better food in the cafeteria.

What I like about the company

Pay raises annually. Good work environment. Many fringed benefits.

What I dislike about the company

Reinstate departments that were once closed and rehire those that were suddenly laid off.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 12.Nov 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • UofC needs more staff members to help with larger projects. Everyone was overworked and it always seemed impossible to hire any additional help.

What I like about the company

The people employed are the most positive things out of UofC

What I dislike about the company

Senior leadership wasn't making strategic moves and many people have been laid off over the last several years because UofC isn't making their earnings.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • It would be stable if there were more staff employed.

What I like about the company

I like the patients that come into work.

What I dislike about the company

There is a turnover rate for employees.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 16.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • better area, easier transportation and parking

What I like about the company

it is a growing hospital with a lot of new technology

What I dislike about the company

the are it is in with a lot of stealing and bad area

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 16.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better contracting services. Better union contracts, more employee incentives

What I like about the company

It was a stable source of income for 25 years.

What I dislike about the company

Some of the companies they outsource & use.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    The University of Chicago Medical Center
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee