Skip over menu?
  

The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Research and Development/Sciences
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.92
Support from management
3.33
Teamwork
3.58
Freedom to work independently
3.83
Internal Communication
3.17
Office / Work Environment
3.58
Environmental Friendliness
3.58
Work-Life Balance
3.50
Challenging Work
4.17
Inclusive / Diverse
3.42

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.75
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.83
Career Development
3.50
Overall compensation for your work
3.08
Company Image
3.83
Job Security
4.17
Handicapped Accessibility
4.25
Workplace Safety
3.92
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 3 of 12 reviews Parking in 1 of 12 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 5 of 12 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 12 reviews 401(k) in 5 of 12 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 12 reviews No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 2 of 12 reviews Desirable office location in 2 of 12 reviews Tuition assistance in 9 of 12 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 1 of 12 reviews 401(k) Match in 4 of 12 reviews Flexible spending account in 7 of 12 reviews Paid time off in 9 of 12 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 8 of 12 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 9 of 12 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 9 of 12 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 2 of 12 reviews Health and wellness programs in 6 of 12 reviews Employee discounts in 7 of 12 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 4 of 12 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 5 of 12 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 12 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 17.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hold employees accountable for workplace bullying

What I like about the company

LUNM offers tuition Remission yo employees or family members

What I dislike about the company

UNM does not hold faculty accountable
for their actions

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Onsite daycare facility is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
Have a question about The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 20.Aug 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • We should get paid from the moment we get on the shuttle.

What I like about the company

The diversity of UNMH makes it a great place for learning experiences.

What I dislike about the company

I feel that the employees deserve more. Better parking, better care, better food options, more pay.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 27.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I have no suggestions at this time.

What I like about the company

There are very many friendly employeeas.

What I dislike about the company

There could be more communication at times.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 22.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Implementing policies and following them. Making the company more employee friendly and allowing autonomy and less micromanagement. Working as a collaborative team instead of an us against them mentality

What I like about the company

Overall experience with the company is that they are pro management and not employee friendly. It is heavily micromanaged and top heavy. Company is not ethical and employee concerns are not investigated or resolved. No positive experience to share

What I dislike about the company

Lack of autonomy, micromanagement, pro management

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 20.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Remove the hierarchical structure that leaves 1 or 2 people with absolute power. It's not appropriate in academia.

What I like about the company

Many colleagues are great people

What I dislike about the company

The hierarchical structure, discrimination

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 17.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I think we should have free or discounted parking. Proper computers to work on. Adequate work space. At least a cost of living raise.

What I like about the company

My Medical Director is supportive and always has his employees best interest on his mind. This makes a hugh difference in being a happy employee.

What I dislike about the company

Overcrowding, no raise in over 9 years, subpar equipment to work with.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 15.Jan 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Increased work space and better pay

What I like about the company

Teamwork is good in my area. Benefits are decent.

What I dislike about the company

Lack of communication. Work space is not optimal. Pay could be better.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 30.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More balance and less forced overtime

What I like about the company

Stability working for the university gives Lobo pride

What I dislike about the company

Management comes by randomly lost but changing everything

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 03.Dec 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • better salaries for all employees. some employees make a lot of money and others don't

What I like about the company

It is a job that is flexible, caring and will help you finish school

What I dislike about the company

Salary. Employees have to pick up work when someone leaves and do not get raises every year.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 30.Nov 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would hire more staff. I feel that we are often times short staffed

What I like about the company

In my experience, the doctors welcome the feedback and input from all employees regardless of job position. They make everyone feel a part of the team.

What I dislike about the company

There is no area that I disapprove of

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health and Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered