Skip over menu?
  

The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.06
Support from management
3.71
Teamwork
3.88
Freedom to work independently
3.82
Internal Communication
3.29
Office / Work Environment
3.56
Environmental Friendliness
3.50
Work-Life Balance
3.82
Challenging Work
4.19
Inclusive / Diverse
3.63

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.82
Career Development
3.82
Overall compensation for your work
3.53
Company Image
4.06
Job Security
4.06
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.94
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 8 of 17 reviews Parking in 9 of 17 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 6 of 17 reviews No stock or equity options 401(k) in 8 of 17 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 5 of 17 reviews Desirable office location in 4 of 17 reviews Tuition assistance in 12 of 17 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 3 of 17 reviews 401(k) Match in 9 of 17 reviews Flexible spending account in 8 of 17 reviews Paid time off in 13 of 17 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 14 of 17 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 10 of 17 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 10 of 17 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 17 reviews Health and wellness programs in 9 of 17 reviews Employee discounts in 11 of 17 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 9 of 17 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 1 of 17 reviews Fitness center on site in 6 of 17 reviews No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 07.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like to see entry level employees and employees in the lower rungs of the pay scale treated better. Housekeeping just gets hammered. They have a dirty(literally) and thankless task of keeping a hospital clean. I think they deserve more respect. And more tools to make professional development possible. And I would like to see managers and supervisors be less idolized. Being a manager or a supervisor doesn't reflect on your quality as a human being. Just because you make more money doesn't mean you're more special.

What I like about the company

My team is great. And our leadership is great. but I won't lie to you: other teams have terrible, tyrannical managers who grind them up like so much chaff and look for new bodies when people quit. But our supervisors and leaders seem to really value the employees and seem invested in our development and in our work-life balance. This is the first year since I've worked here that leadership has really shifted its focus on growing its teams and empowering us to do the best job that we can. It's been a refreshing change.

What I dislike about the company

The cafeteria is terrible. The food is awful (your school lunches were better) and it's really expensive if you're not an employee. Their staff seems dispirited and I feel bad for them every day. I think the way they get treated is reflected in the food they serve. The cafeteria could be such an amazing place if their people were cherished and empowered, if the focus were on the people instead of on pinching pennies and serving the cheapest food for the most profit.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
Have a question about The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 12.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better pay- incentivize the tougher areas (ICU, ED, etc.) Better healthcare. Better parking for day shift. Free gym membership. Holiday bonuses.

What I like about the company

Top hospital in the state to work for.

What I dislike about the company

Little opportunity for job growth and no yearly or any salary increases.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 15.Oct 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Bring HR practices in line across the university, regardless of department. Improve responses/training regarding Title IX issues. Improve communication throughout the university.

What I like about the company

I have always enjoyed the people working in parallel to my position(s) with the company. Management has been an issue, especially with regards to making expectations clear and measuring success.

What I dislike about the company

There are often competing narratives about processes, HR functions, etc. Individual departments seem to make up their own rules regarding promotion, compensation, and the like. Also, management in no way makes expectations clear for employees.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Sep 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Have events for evening, graveyard shifts and weekend employees as well. Seems these shifts are overlooked as we do not work traditional business hours.

What I like about the company

Willing to accommodate for family and school schedules.

What I dislike about the company

Night shift employees overlooked for employee events held during the day.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 22.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Be more supportive of your employees that work in an area that gets taken over by another of the university’s entities.

What I like about the company

They encouraged growth in my position resulting in a job grade class upgrade and a raise.

What I dislike about the company

They didn’t offer me the option to switch my employment to the UNM Medical Group. They eliminated my position and divided what I was doing between 3 different employees all hired within 9 months of my getting laid off. 2 of those employees of course had other duties as well, and they made me train the person that they brought in to replace what I did that they couldn’t consolidate into those other positions. It felt very unprofessional.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hardworking staff needs to be shown more appreciation

What I like about the company

I personally do not have any positive experiences with this company. Upper management needs an overhaul

What I dislike about the company

more money for staffing and employee apprecaition

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 25.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Make the unit more modern. Make it more flexible.

What I like about the company

Employees are helpful and supportive. It's a great place to work and learn new things everyday.

What I dislike about the company

I can't recall anything that I disapprove.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 19.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would not make any improvments with the company

What I like about the company

treats everyone like a vip and really cares about their employees and the patients

What I dislike about the company

I don't have any issues that I would disapprove of

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 24.Feb 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Being able to make specific requests about the studies, instead of stating "we will see when we get there" and two months later there still isn't a definitive decision made.

What I like about the company

Everyone is friendly and are willing to teach and pass on valuable knowledge needed to succeed in the laboratory research field. I enjoy coming to work everyday, my co-workers are great. This company is a great place to work at.

What I dislike about the company

Better office spaces, better vending machine food.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 18.Feb 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I feel there is trust and opportunities to communicate with higher ups. I cannot think of anything

What I like about the company

Flexible hours, health benefits, 401k, opportunities for advancement. I enjoy my job.

What I dislike about the company

I do not really have anything to disapprove of.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
  • City
    Albuquerque
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered