Skip over menu?
  

The University of North Carolina At Pembroke:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The University of North Carolina At Pembroke

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.85
Support from management
4.23
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.08
Internal Communication
3.46
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.15
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Challenging Work
4.08
Inclusive / Diverse
4.08

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.92
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.85
Career Development
4.08
Overall compensation for your work
3.92
Company Image
4.46
Job Security
4.54
Handicapped Accessibility
4.08
Workplace Safety
4.15
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 6 of 13 reviews Parking in 8 of 13 reviews Easy access to public transportation No stock or equity options 401(k) in 10 of 13 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 4 of 13 reviews Desirable office location in 4 of 13 reviews Tuition assistance in 11 of 13 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 8 of 13 reviews 401(k) Match in 1 of 13 reviews Flexible spending account in 6 of 13 reviews Paid time off in 11 of 13 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 12 of 13 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 9 of 13 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 10 of 13 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 3 of 13 reviews Health and wellness programs in 12 of 13 reviews Employee discounts in 9 of 13 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 10 of 13 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 10 of 13 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 13 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

Company Culture

My colleagues were petty, unmotivated, and undoubtedly uncommitted to student success.

Support from management

We are told to do great work but are not given the financial tools to do so.

Teamwork

They encourage us to snitch on each other!

Freedom to work independently

They want us to design new courses, yet they give us little to no motivation to do so.

Internal Communication

We received demeaning emails and asinine instructions on s regular basis.

Gender Equality

Little to no diversity

Attitude towards older colleagues

Tenure was not given equally

Office / Work Environment

The building has visible mold!

Company Image

The students are excellent!

Handicapped Accessibility

One bathroom handicap stall and handicap accessible doors that do not open

Suggestions for improvement

  • The buildings and parking safety need an overhaul on the north side of campus. More money has to be funneled into course construction and teacher training.

What I like about the company

Phenomenal students and a broad range of courses to teach,

What I dislike about the company

There is an overall culture of ineptitude and complacency. Also, colleague snitching was encouraged.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
Have a question about The University of North Carolina At Pembroke? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 19.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • At this point I would not make any adjustments.

What I like about the company

University of NC at Pembroke is a very close environment. It has a very small town and family oriented feel.

What I dislike about the company

Because of the close community ties the university has, sometimes the networking and who-knows-who seems to have more pull than it would at a larger university.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 16.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • To have worker be more efficent with being an advisor

What I like about the company

I was able to take college course and able to work 40 hours a week.

What I dislike about the company

Pembroke is a very slow pace down.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would like to see upper management follow the core values that have been put in place and treat all staff as values employees.

What I like about the company

The people that work for my company are very nice and helpful.

What I dislike about the company

I disapprove of upper management showing favoritism to certain employees and not paying workers what they should be paid.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 19.Jul 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Improvements that I would make would be for the company to actually Communicate more, which is one of our core values. More accountability would be a great improvement. Treating everyone like they are a valued employee no matter what their job is.

What I like about the company

My positive personal experiences have been with the other employees that I work with and how welcoming they were when I first started. Everyone was very willing to help with what ever I needed assistance with. I can say they people in this area are very nice.

What I dislike about the company

If there was one thing that I disapprove of it would be how Management does not communicate well with the lower level employees.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 04.May 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More help in regards to the amount of people actually working here.

What I like about the company

Working here has been great. I feel like I am supported in the work that I do

What I dislike about the company

Need to hire more people. The work load can at times be overwhelming

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 21.Apr 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The politics in the upper administration, it seems that you have to know someone to get any where around here

What I like about the company

Since the campus is so small it seems like everyone knows each other and act like a big family

What I dislike about the company

upper admiistration don't get the opinion of the individuals that are actually doing the work for them before making big decisions

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 22.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hire more quicker to fill vacanies to keep from burnout

What I like about the company

Team always works well collaboratively

What I dislike about the company

Hire more to fill vacancies quicker

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 21.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hire more people that way we are not overworked

What I like about the company

Feel always genuinely supported by my teammates and colleagues

What I dislike about the company

The inability to fill vacancies at times

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 22.Feb 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hire more people for the influx of students

What I like about the company

Great staff to work with. Everyone collaborates and helps out

What I dislike about the company

Need to hire more people we can be over worked at times because were understaffed

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of North Carolina At Pembroke
  • City
    Pembroke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered