Skip over menu?
  

The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospitals & Healthcare
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.85
Support from management
3.95
Teamwork
4.15
Freedom to work independently
4.10
Internal Communication
3.65
Office / Work Environment
4.10
Environmental Friendliness
3.95
Work-Life Balance
3.90
Challenging Work
3.70
Inclusive / Diverse
4.30

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.30
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.40
Career Development
4.10
Overall compensation for your work
3.70
Company Image
4.40
Job Security
4.25
Handicapped Accessibility
4.70
Workplace Safety
4.50
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 7 of 20 reviews Parking in 15 of 20 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 7 of 20 reviews Stock or equity options in 5 of 20 reviews 401(k) in 11 of 20 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 20 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 20 reviews Ability to work remotely in 5 of 20 reviews Desirable office location in 6 of 20 reviews Tuition assistance in 12 of 20 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 6 of 20 reviews 401(k) Match in 8 of 20 reviews Flexible spending account in 10 of 20 reviews Paid time off in 19 of 20 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 17 of 20 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 15 of 20 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 17 of 20 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 3 of 20 reviews Health and wellness programs in 17 of 20 reviews Employee discounts in 17 of 20 reviews Vehicle allowance in 1 of 20 reviews Employee events in 15 of 20 reviews No dogs allowed Fitness center on site in 10 of 20 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 3 of 20 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 13.Nov 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

The benefits are great but there are things that need fixing

Teamwork

I understand the progress

Freedom to work independently

I do trust everyone one

Internal Communication

They talk together with well information

Work-Life Balance

The balance I great

Challenging Work

It’s no challenge

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing at this time. I am nit sure what will change

What I like about the company

I really don’t have anything to say about this company. It’s not all it’s worked up to be

What I dislike about the company

The companies policies and procedures

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
What is the company culture like at The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 07.Nov 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Very supportive

Suggestions for improvement

  • Create more networking opportunities between departments and projects

What I like about the company

Management has been very responsive and willing to sit down with me and assist in my personal growth in the company.

What I dislike about the company

There is a culture of working long hours and wearing it as a badge of honor- work/life balance could be better.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 30.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More input from management, let employees know that they are doing a good job and if not let them know what your expect , listen to concerns of employees and show that you care

What I like about the company

There have been opportunities to expand my knowledge with the company and although these moves were slow to get to they are still available

What I dislike about the company

Wages need much improvement , communication with employees, support from management needs improvement also

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 27.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I think just keep educating and encouraging your nurses,techs, and staff to remind them to give great patient care every time, every patient no matter what kind of patient or what kind of day they have had. To that patient they are everything for that 12 hours.

What I like about the company

I have worked at both campuses and had great experiences at both. Since the merge of UT North and ETMC with Ardent I have only seen positive changes.

What I dislike about the company

I have no negative comments and do not disapprove of anything so far. All changes have been for the positive.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 29.Sep 2019
  • Employee

Internal Communication

Communication sucks

Challenging Work

Dealing with people

Suggestions for improvement

  • Cheaper insurance and more paid time off

What I like about the company

They allow me to pick up my child from school when needed

What I dislike about the company

Management is very biased to her favorite people and mostly are her friends and family

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 23.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • reduce the price of parking on campus

What I like about the company

it has been a great two years working for this company.

What I dislike about the company

they could reduce the price of parking on campus

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 18.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would include maternity leave and pay better

What I like about the company

I like how family friendly the company is

What I dislike about the company

I wish the pay was better at my company

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 18.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would pay employees better. I would add maternity leave.

What I like about the company

Even though I was pregnant while starting my employment, the company worked with me.

What I dislike about the company

Raises are not given often. Pay could be better.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 17.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Job security

Suggestions for improvement

  • Have better communication with employees. Make employees feel appreciated.

What I like about the company

I got my current job after enduring a very low-paying low-benefits job. The benefits have allowed me to spend time with my family on weekends and holidays.

What I dislike about the company

Transparency needs to be improved. Employees are kept on the dark about the future of our facility.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered
  • 06.Jul 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Free parkingMore trainingBetter recruiting effortsMore competitive pay

What I like about the company

Every year we host an influenza outreach it has been a wonderful experience every year for 10 years

What I dislike about the company

The over sensitivity to emotional wellness is used as a pawn for many employees

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    The University of Texas Health Science Center At Tyler
  • City
    Tyler
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered