Skip over menu?
  

Trans World Entertainment Corporation:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Consumer Electronics
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Trans World Entertainment Corporation

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.25
Support from management
2.10
Teamwork
2.70
Freedom to work independently
2.67
Internal Communication
2.75
Office / Work Environment
2.71
Environmental Friendliness
1.86
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.13

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.50
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.89
Career Development
2.22
Overall compensation for your work
2.11
Company Image
2.13
Job Security
1.67
Handicapped Accessibility
2.86
Workplace Safety
3.14
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 1 of 10 reviews Parking in 4 of 10 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 1 of 10 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 10 reviews 401(k) in 5 of 10 reviews No onsite daycare facility No reimbursed daycare Ability to work remotely in 1 of 10 reviews Desirable office location in 1 of 10 reviews No tuition assistance No Paid Parental Leave 401(k) Match in 2 of 10 reviews No flexible spending account Paid time off in 7 of 10 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 6 of 10 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 4 of 10 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 10 reviews No meal or transportation allowance Health and wellness programs in 1 of 10 reviews Employee discounts in 8 of 10 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 2 of 10 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site No company provided food and/or drink
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 11.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • My company is good as it is, I do not recommend anything at this time

What I like about the company

They understood my need to work around public transportation times

What I dislike about the company

There are no parts that I currently disapprove of

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment
  • City
    Peoria
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
Have a question about Trans World Entertainment Corporation? Get answers from others who know this company!

Suggestions for improvement

  • Management needs better lines of communication, and corporate needs to work in the field. There is a huge disconnect between corporate and store level.

What I like about the company

Being able to work with the public, and talk about different movies and memorabilia was pleasant. The company has since moved away from its base and become a toy store.

What I dislike about the company

There is a constant breakdown in communication. Short deadlines, and no payroll to complete the task that are given. One person must do the job of three people, and the company demands salaried employees to have no life outside of work. They must work 60-70 hours to complete everything.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment
  • City
    Centerville
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    n/a
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 31.May 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More payroll hours, less tasks

What I like about the company

The product and people

What I dislike about the company

Way too many takes and not enough hours to get them do e

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 19.Mar 2018
  • Employee

Gender Equality

“You don’t wear the right underwear to be promoted.”

Attitude towards older colleagues

Turn 50 or get sick and they “phase out” your job title.

Environmental Friendliness

I was told on day one FYE stood for F Your Employees - I learned that’s not a joke

Challenging Work

Over worked is always a challenge.

Inclusive / Diverse

All white men with token black, gay, handicap, lesbian

What I like about the company

It’s founder - who’s now dead

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment Corporation
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Others
  • 26.Jul 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Keep on doing the excellent job that they do!

What I like about the company

The atmosphere was the ideal place to work. Everyone was willing to help even if it wasn't their department.

What I dislike about the company

There was nothing I didn't like about it.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Desirable office location is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered

Support from management

Transworld Entertainment

Teamwork

The DMs are extremely harassing and belittling. They treat you like a replaceable cog.

Attitude towards older colleagues

This is a good place for older individual s.

Career Development

They only care about drivers and adding items onto customers credit cards

Job Security

They threatened our jobs regularly.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Start treating your employees like people instead of chess pieces. Empower them .

What I like about the company

The products. Very fun collectables.

What I dislike about the company

Little hours for staff , too task orientated. No regard for any employee , always pushed to fire people who don't perform at highly unrealistic pace.

Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Job Security
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Transworld Entertainment, Inc.
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 22.Dec 2015
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Stop being rude during store visits. The way upper managers speak to store managers can be rude and condescending. If stores are giving a project they need to be given extra payroll to complete it. You say customer service is your #1 priority, then put your money where your mouth is.

What I like about the company

The products they sell.

What I dislike about the company

Upper managers have no clue as to what it takes to manage stores. "Projects" are given often with out notice or any extra payroll to complete. Leaving the SMs and DMs to work even harder to complete.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Transworld Entertainment, Inc.
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2011
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 24.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Company Culture

The people who make this company tick are seriously just awful.

Support from management

The company doesn't allocate enough hours to get enough staff on. I would open the store and be alone for 3 hours until I had someone on staff with me.

Teamwork

There is no team, just gossipy store managers and an even worse corporate office.

Freedom to work independently

You don't get to make a single decision. Corporate tells you how things will be.

Overall compensation for your work

No benefits offered.

Work-Life Balance

I had a blast working every holiday for 2 years because my manager found herself entitled to them. I also enjoyed her taking 6 weeks of vacation this year, and working 3 open to close shifts in a week.

Job Security

If they don't want you they'll find a reason to get rid of you.

Challenging Work

The work is challenging. The instructions confusing and often times tedious. There is so much that must be done and no hours allocated to the store to get people on to do the work. Managers would often stay until 2/3am to finish up work, and we wouldn't get paid for it.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Treat their workers better. Appreciate them more.

What I like about the company

They sell Star Wars merchandise.

What I dislike about the company

In all honesty, I don't know where to begin. There's not much good in this company. The corporate office is very corrupt, and very stuck on old business strategies - we still have computers from the 90s.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment Corporation
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 24.Nov 2015
  • Employee

Support from management

Management doesn't understand work life balance.

Teamwork

Have never worked with more lazy employees before. Everyone was out for themselves and would take credit for others work.

Overall compensation for your work

It was a constant struggle to get increases in pay and the time off policy was stripped in favor of a PTO policy that took away time rather than keeping it the same or giving extra time.

Also, it was frustrating when the company would give huge bonuses to executives but laid off lots of employees. The bonus structure was a joke and insulting at times. They didn't value their top performers and only when you resign do they magically find more money to try and keep you

Suggestions for improvement

  • Value your hard workers with more pay and/or vacation time.

What I like about the company

The promo bin.

What I dislike about the company

Terrible vacation leave and the company stopped matching 401k while giving huge bonuses to executives.

Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Trans World Entertainment Corporation
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2012
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 02.Mar 2018
  • Employee
Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Transworld Entertainment, Inc.
  • City
    Albany
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Distribution/sales

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered