Skip over menu?
  

Ultimate Software:What's it like to work here?

Skip over sub-menu?

Reviews with answers for Ultimate Software

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.70
Support from management
4.38
Teamwork
4.41
Freedom to work independently
4.55
Internal Communication
4.37
Office / Work Environment
4.48
Environmental Friendliness
4.31
Work-Life Balance
4.22
Challenging Work
4.37
Inclusive / Diverse
4.70

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.57
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.41
Career Development
4.27
Overall compensation for your work
4.33
Company Image
4.59
Job Security
4.40
Handicapped Accessibility
4.47
Workplace Safety
4.68
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 56 of 89 reviews Parking in 51 of 89 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 19 of 89 reviews Stock or equity options in 68 of 89 reviews 401(k) in 63 of 89 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 89 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 13 of 89 reviews Ability to work remotely in 73 of 89 reviews Desirable office location in 43 of 89 reviews Tuition assistance in 57 of 89 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 54 of 89 reviews 401(k) Match in 74 of 89 reviews Flexible spending account in 54 of 89 reviews Paid time off in 77 of 89 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 75 of 89 reviews Relocation allowance in 6 of 89 reviews Life insurance in 69 of 89 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 46 of 89 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 46 of 89 reviews Health and wellness programs in 71 of 89 reviews Employee discounts in 66 of 89 reviews Vehicle allowance in 5 of 89 reviews Employee events in 71 of 89 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 3 of 89 reviews Fitness center on site in 19 of 89 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 45 of 89 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 20.Jul 2019
  • Employee
  • Company response included
Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company response

Thanks so much for your feedback in this review, we really appreciate it!



What is the company culture like at Ultimate Software? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 11.Mar 2019
  • Employee
  • Company response included

AMAZING

5.00

Suggestions for improvement

  • none, I was very impressed with the interviewing and onboarding process.

What I like about the company

Everything. The inclusiveness, the autonomy, the overall vibe is amazing.

What I dislike about the company

none

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered

Company response

Thank you so much for leaving this review!



  • 21.Jan 2019
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Suggestions for improvement

  • More RSUs, bring back department trips such as Club

What I like about the company

I am in my 60s, disabled and Ultimate makes me feel like I can still work there in 20 years. I am included, treated like a human being and valued for my work experience!

What I dislike about the company

nothing!

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Research/development

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company response

Thank you so much for this amazing review - we really appreciate it! And we will definitely take your suggestions into consideration.



Suggestions for improvement

  • There are a lot of things I could say on improving the company, but ways to go about them could create more and bigger problems. Mostly more communication between workers and superiors. That's about it.

What I like about the company

My time here at this company has been generally great. My Colleagues are nice to be around, the work place environment is nice to be in, and the amount of financial perks I get just being here is an added plus. Although not everything is perfect, I really did enjoy working here.

What I dislike about the company

Mentor communication was a big lacking factor. When I had to speak to a superior about anything, it was usually on pressed and limited time. Also, some Co-workers are allowed to continue to work there despite their hateful and all around negative attitude towards others, which I can understand but still disapprove of.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Fort Lauderdale
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company response

Thanks for taking the time to share your insights on working at Ultimate Software. We really appreciate your feedback!



  • 14.Nov 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Company Culture

Touts itself as one of the best places to work but bribes the employees with extra days off if they answer favorable to surveys which results in a high rank for the company. Almost every "benefit" given to employees are used in Marketing campaigns to tout, happy employee = good product. Free health insurance is the best benefit.

Support from management

Depends on the division, in Services division where work performance is secondary to "perception", employees have to make their annual goals with less training and equipment.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Older employees are favored well in this environment, experience and skill are traded for every new fad technology that comes along which results in a technical environment without standards

Career Development

If you work in Product development, there is room for advancement
If you work in Services, then transfer to Product Development to get a promotion

Work-Life Balance

IT personnel may work several times after work or on the weekends without comp time, years ago employees used to be compensated with time off for working weekends

Job Security

The company has regular management shakeups, at least once a year. Some employees (through no fault of their own) are given the standard "you have 21 days to find a new position within the company or you will be terminated"

Inclusive / Diverse

They somewhat encourage diversity and exploit this as another marketing point to gain a competitive edge in selling the product

Suggestions for improvement

  • The company would be much better off if they had a qualified CIO, instead of a CIO who is the CEO's son-in-law.

What I like about the company

Was a great place to work 5 years ago, great co-workers.

What I dislike about the company

Highly Political Environment, too many people hired by relatives or friends

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Weston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered

Company response

We're really sorry to hear about your experience. We value your feedback and look forward to continuously improving in the future.



  • 02.Oct 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Support from management

I feel my manager is there to help me do my job and she has my back.

Teamwork

Our team is very helpful with one another. Most of the 'peeps' I've interacted with outside of the team are helpful as well.

Freedom to work independently

Probably one of the most important things to me, I am not micromanaged in any way. I'm sure it varies by manager.

Gender Equality

I'm a female in a technical role and have not faced any adversity or bad attitudes. Just open minded folks ready to listen, learn and share.

Career Development

standardized review process makes it easy to discuss goals with your manager, and ensures you won't slip through the cracks.

Overall compensation for your work

I think most people are underpaid but the benefits help to make up for it partially.

Office / Work Environment

Virtual office. Could be better if hours were more flexible. Most of us are willing to put in the hours, but work life balance would improve if our schedules could be tweaked within reason.

Environmental Friendliness

This is one area I'd really like to see the company improve. They send too many cheap swag gifts that I have no use for and hate to throw away, I just donate them. I understand they're trying to raise morale and it's nice they think of us, but maybe they could ask if we want to opt in to these gifts. Also at work conferences there's too many single use plastic water bottles.

Work-Life Balance

It's great to work remotely but the workload is too heavy, which is stressful.

Job Security

the company is growing and constantly expanding. customer requests keep rising.

Challenging Work

The work is interesting, and my manager is open to letting me take on areas where I have interest in, which is amazing.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Maybe just hire more people, to lower the workload. This would increase customer satisfaction as we could give more white glove treatment, and it would help work life balance and stress.

What I like about the company

The culture, the people on my team and everyone else I've met, no micromanagement, ability to change roles and tasks to do things you're interested in, the benefits.

What I dislike about the company

I'm happy but work life balance and compensation could improve. There is maybe some bureaucracy in some of the onboarding/training practices that seems limiting as well.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Weston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered

Company response

Thank you so much for leaving this thoughtful detailed review. We really appreciate your insights and look forward to continually improving in the future.



  • 02.Oct 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Suggestions for improvement

  • My suggestions include bridging the gap between employees who work virtually and in office, as well as teammates who work in different time zones.

What I like about the company

I enjoy the company culture, interaction, numerous benefits, and pride of working for an amazing company that offers opportunities for growth and leadership.

What I dislike about the company

I do not dislike anything about the company.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Weston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company response

Thank you for leaving us this review!!



  • 02.Oct 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Company Culture

Management is caring and supportive.

Teamwork

Almost everyone is collaborative and friendly!

Internal Communication

Just the right amount about things affecting the organization - I don't understand some of what is communicated as I haven't been there long enough to put together all of the moving parts yet.

Gender Equality

Not employed long enough to know!

Attitude towards older colleagues

I have seen no evidence that it is different for any particular group.

Career Development

I have already completed some elearning!

Overall compensation for your work

My experience far exceeds the tasks I was hired to do - but I hope to prove that with my work!

Office / Work Environment

Beautiful campus - all of the equipment necessary to do the job is right there. A parking garage keeps your car cool and keeps you dry when it rains!

Work-Life Balance

This is yet to be determined!

Job Security

I'm a temp!

Handicapped Accessibility

Sorry to say I haven't noticed!

Challenging Work

Again, I was hired to do tasks for which someone with my experience is not required; but I hope to prove myself and change that!

Suggestions for improvement

  • I can't really think of anything - maybe request all computer access required to do the job before first day?

What I like about the company

The offerings are not so complex that the "average" company is unable to use it; and the organization is very customer focused. Who doesn't like that!

What I dislike about the company

I can't think of anything!

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Alpharetta
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Temporary
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered

Company response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this thoughtful review. We really appreciate it!



  • 10.Aug 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Suggestions for improvement

  • N/A

What I like about the company

The culture - People FIRST!!!!

What I dislike about the company

N/A

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Weston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered

Company response

Thanks for this great review! We really appreciate it.



  • 03.Aug 2018
  • Employee
  • Company response included

Company Culture

Good culture from the CPO. But pockets of people who entertain the People First culture take it to an extreme with a lack of maturity, childish gossip, bullying & incompetence. Nepotism runs rampant. When these 2 classes of people mix, you end up with a terrible culture & workplace environment.

Support from management

Plenty of people speak negatively through the grapevine about the corporate culture.

Teamwork

Corporate IT is run poorly. Nepotism. Numbers driven. Mental sparring with political correctness. The development side of the business is the best part of the company. The true culture of the company is for development.

Freedom to work independently

WFH is great. List your tasks, meet plenty of people & assist in all ways possible.

Gender Equality

Cliques do not accept women engineers. Very divisive.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Hypocritical attitudes & gossip.

Career Development

Training money per year.

Overall compensation for your work

!SO MANY UNDERPAID EMPLOYEES! ("Peeps")

Office / Work Environment

Hypocritical attitudes & gossip.

Environmental Friendliness

Hypocritical attitudes & gossip.

Work-Life Balance

Neglect your family because you strive to do the right thing for the company & in your general work ethic. You will go unappreciated if your not part of the club, despite being a top performer.

Job Security

Hypocritical attitudes & gossip. How can you honestly be your best person with ingenuine quality of coworkers?

Challenging Work

Silos. People not very open to share what they know for fear of losing their job. I documented everything I know about our processes & formally presented them to reduce the amount of learning curve for challenging work that the team will come across. Job security, for the group of unqualified employees. Nepotism & buddy system.

Inclusive / Diverse

Diverse hirings. Be wary of people who can't clearly tell you how the work they are responsible for is to be done.

Suggestions for improvement

  • Hire qualified people. Destroy nepotism. Family & business do not mix.

What I like about the company

Benefits. Food trucks. Company sponsored vacation. Viv Maza, her energy, her passion.

What I dislike about the company

Nepotism. Buddy system. Hiring & keeping unqualified candidates.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Ultimate Software
  • City
    Weston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered

Company response

Our people are our top priority. Thank you so much for providing us with feedback, as it helps us improve in the future.