Skip over menu?
  

UNC Health Care:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Hospitals & Healthcare
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for UNC Health Care

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.27
Support from management
3.84
Teamwork
4.11
Freedom to work independently
4.13
Internal Communication
3.78
Office / Work Environment
4.18
Environmental Friendliness
4.08
Work-Life Balance
4.03
Challenging Work
3.83
Inclusive / Diverse
4.29

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.46
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.30
Career Development
4.03
Overall compensation for your work
3.87
Company Image
4.38
Job Security
4.33
Handicapped Accessibility
4.43
Workplace Safety
4.43
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 35 of 117 reviews Parking in 52 of 117 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 52 of 117 reviews Stock or equity options in 12 of 117 reviews 401(k) in 70 of 117 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 5 of 117 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 7 of 117 reviews Ability to work remotely in 13 of 117 reviews Desirable office location in 30 of 117 reviews Tuition assistance in 71 of 117 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 24 of 117 reviews 401(k) Match in 51 of 117 reviews Flexible spending account in 54 of 117 reviews Paid time off in 97 of 117 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 98 of 117 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 78 of 117 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 82 of 117 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 11 of 117 reviews Health and wellness programs in 79 of 117 reviews Employee discounts in 76 of 117 reviews Vehicle allowance in 18 of 117 reviews Employee events in 67 of 117 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 3 of 117 reviews Fitness center on site in 37 of 117 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 9 of 117 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 30.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • See previous question and answer

What I like about the company

I work in a small unit with much flexibility and a team approach to our work. You can tell that the employees at my hospital have pride in what they do and truely care about the people they (we) serve.

What I dislike about the company

Those who underperform seem to fly under the radar because our unit runs so well. The team members who excel are left with more work while some work just as hard to get out of working, often going unnoticed because we work so well. Same goes for understaffing. Our unit is short staffed, but we pull together to get the work done. If we are to efficient, we are unable to get the help that we need. It is unfortunate to have to "play" the system

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Vehicle allowance is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
What is the company culture like at UNC Health Care? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 28.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Depends on the day

Teamwork

Management doesn’t support everyone

Freedom to work independently

We have to

Internal Communication

Doesn’t always listen

Work-Life Balance

Love 12 hr shifts

Challenging Work

Labor intensive

Suggestions for improvement

  • Understanding of the job and understanding of all opinions

What I like about the company

Love the company as a whole but my unit has issues

What I dislike about the company

Not equally supporting employees

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 27.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Internal Communication

Most managers have poor communication skills.

Career Development

All in who you know

Overall compensation for your work

People with degree less money then those without a degree.

Suggestions for improvement

  • More career assistance so people can grow within the company.

What I like about the company

It's a friendly and diverse environment.

What I dislike about the company

The pay should be more for everyone.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

Suggestions for improvement

  • Everything needs improvement especially the way they treat people

What I like about the company

Nothing positive to say about this company

What I dislike about the company

All of them nothing good to say

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 24.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More interdepartment awareness (this is what other departments you may be working with do, and these are things they are allowed and not allowed to do). More information sharing (access to full and up-to-date phone directories).

What I like about the company

The health insurance is generally good and is a big perk.

What I dislike about the company

Weird departmental politics. Inter-departmental buck-passing. Certain incompetencies in positions of power (scheduling, for example). Lack of respect between departments. Lack of information and communication about the company itself.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee events is offered
  • 17.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Get rid of the cap on raises even when changing jobs

What I like about the company

I transitioned between two jobs and that was easy to do

What I dislike about the company

Depending on the department, not all management is great. Also, there is a cap on how much of a raise you can get, even if you are changing jobs

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 14.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Teamwork

high level of deceit

Freedom to work independently

Highly micromanaged

Internal Communication

indirect, do not address serious concerns like sexual harassment

Gender Equality

heinous sexual harassment, retaliation against women who report sexual harassment

Overall compensation for your work

Paid comparably for field, experience

Environmental Friendliness

Poor eco options

Work-Life Balance

Texted and called regularly when not at work to discuss non-urgent work matters

Workplace Safety

lots of harassment, no actions to improve these illicit behaviors

Challenging Work

Critical care medicine

Inclusive / Diverse

outside ideas not welcome, research/evidence backed ideas not valued

Suggestions for improvement

  • -Inclusive language for sexual orientation, gender orientation- Inclusivity training for LGTBQI - Strict adherence to no sexual harassment in the workplace

What I like about the company

Dedicated RNs, RTs, OTs, PTs, CNAs, HUCs, diverse patient population.

What I dislike about the company

Incidents reported to HR should be followed up on promptly, without sacrificing employee safety.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered

Company Culture

I love where I work and the people I help daily

Support from management

They do pretty good

Teamwork

Very team oriented in all departments

Freedom to work independently

I work on my own, they give me extra projects to do

Internal Communication

They let us know about any changes that will effect us

Gender Equality

Very diverse work force

Attitude towards older colleagues

They encourage us older employees to continue learning

Career Development

They offer lots of classes to further your career

Overall compensation for your work

I could always use more money but they pay better than my local area

Office / Work Environment

Keeps facility up to date

Environmental Friendliness

We have recycle bins all over

Work-Life Balance

I have a set schedule which I like

Company Image

Very proud to be able to to work for such a great organization

Handicapped Accessibility

Keeps current on all handicap accessible areas

Workplace Safety

We have to take yearly classes to keep updated with safety issues

Challenging Work

I am a phlebotomist and I deal with challenging people everyday.

Inclusive / Diverse

Treats us as equals even if you are all different

Suggestions for improvement

  • More money is always nice, a few more employee discounts would be nice as well.

What I like about the company

I've been there for 9 yrs, best job I've ever had. They offer lots of opportunities.

What I dislike about the company

I just it was a little closer to where I live, I drive 45 min to an HR each way but they pay better than my local area.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 12.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • better lighting in parking lot

What I like about the company

fun people to work withgood manager

What I dislike about the company

employees should be held accountable when they dont do their job

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 12.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • absences forgiveness, and increased pay

What I like about the company

Managers are amazing. I work in the emergency room so it is always busy and sometimes cahotic. teamwork is amazing here as well

What I dislike about the company

that they are not linient on the abceneces

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University of North Carolina Hospitals
  • City
    Chapel Hill
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered