Skip over menu?
  

United Healthcare Insurance Company:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Pharmaceuticals/Biotech
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for United Healthcare Insurance Company

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.30
Support from management
3.93
Teamwork
4.07
Freedom to work independently
3.91
Internal Communication
3.88
Office / Work Environment
4.31
Environmental Friendliness
4.27
Work-Life Balance
3.86
Challenging Work
3.72
Inclusive / Diverse
4.33

Career factor

Gender Equality
4.40
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.30
Career Development
4.12
Overall compensation for your work
3.77
Company Image
4.14
Job Security
3.81
Handicapped Accessibility
4.54
Workplace Safety
4.58
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 20 of 43 reviews Parking in 23 of 43 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 11 of 43 reviews Stock or equity options in 23 of 43 reviews 401(k) in 29 of 43 reviews No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 3 of 43 reviews Ability to work remotely in 23 of 43 reviews Desirable office location in 17 of 43 reviews Tuition assistance in 21 of 43 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 19 of 43 reviews 401(k) Match in 25 of 43 reviews Flexible spending account in 15 of 43 reviews Paid time off in 32 of 43 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 31 of 43 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 29 of 43 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 19 of 43 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 4 of 43 reviews Health and wellness programs in 27 of 43 reviews Employee discounts in 28 of 43 reviews Vehicle allowance in 4 of 43 reviews Employee events in 21 of 43 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 1 of 43 reviews Fitness center on site in 16 of 43 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 8 of 43 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 29.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • The culture is great. I do not have any suggestions.

What I like about the company

Everything has been positive. It is a great cultural experience.

What I dislike about the company

Nothing. I like every aspect. I do not disapprove.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Unitedhealthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Roanoke
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about United Healthcare Insurance Company? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 23.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

The culture was very team oriented, with work being siloed based on the projects.

Challenging Work

There were some days when the work was very challenging and required a lot of mental work but other days were lighter and easier.

Suggestions for improvement

  • There was a push towards more in-office interactions instead of investigating off-site options. I would encourage managers and directors to look into engaging employees without forcing in-office attendance.

What I like about the company

I worked for the company for 6 years and it was a very positive experience. I gained a lot of knowledge regarding the industry and working under a deadline.

What I dislike about the company

Given that it is a healthcare company, the options available for employee healthcare wasn't as good as it could have been. This was often a point of discussion.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Unitedhealthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Minnetonka
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 17.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More flexible work hours and better choices in the cafeteria

What I like about the company

I have the best coworkers and made many friends working here.

What I dislike about the company

Micromanaging is a bit overwhelming

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United Healthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Green Bay
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
  • 14.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

Professional atmosphere with friendly "family" feel

Challenging Work

Lots to accomplish

Suggestions for improvement

  • Add more teambuilding opportunities and other occasions that pull the employees from other depts. together

What I like about the company

Your manager carries a lot of weight in terms of how much you can work remotely, etc.

What I dislike about the company

Human Resources could be more visible and involved

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Unitedhealthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Chicago
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 20.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Culture of the workplace could be improved, could be more professional.

What I like about the company

Management has been great so far, very easy to reach out to them with issues.

What I dislike about the company

There are some things that seem like they need to be reviewed and updated, as processes could be a lot better.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    United Healthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Duluth
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 15.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Focus main employees growth through the company

What I like about the company

My boss always supports me and my illness

What I dislike about the company

I have nada to complain about

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United Healthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Colorado Springs
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 13.Jan 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Work on making it more paperless to save trees

What I like about the company

When we go above the call we are given points that can we cashed in for gift cards

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes we are too big and it is difficult to make changes that can improve the system

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Unitedhealthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Henderson
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • Pay rates and payscales should be a little more thought out when it comes moving up within dept or advancing to a diffrent dept.

What I like about the company

Outstandind company, provides employee assistance program part of the benefit package. Great when facing everyday life challenges. Paid time off and flexibility when it comes to your schedule. Love the work enviroment you really feel like family !!!

What I dislike about the company

The short breaks, 30 min lunches goes by so quick. The bonuses and raises could be alot better, especially if youve put years into the company.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Reimbursed daycare is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United Healthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Los Angeles
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 27.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing that I can think of right now.

What I like about the company

Opportunity for advancement, personal satisfaction in accomplishments,

What I dislike about the company

None. Everything is satisfactory or better.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Unitedhealthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Wauwatosa
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Fitness center on site is offered
  • 20.Dec 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I'd like to see better collaboration between the existing departments, and more open communication from local leaders.

What I like about the company

They promote a quality of life and work / life balance, while also being active in supporting both local and national charities. The atmosphere is fair, and there are plenty of chances for career advancement provided you're willing to work for it.

What I dislike about the company

The health benefits package is, considering their business, pretty poor.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United Healthcare Insurance Company
  • City
    Chico
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered