Skip over menu?
  

United States Steel Corp:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for United States Steel Corp

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
2.15
Support from management
1.97
Teamwork
2.48
Freedom to work independently
2.26
Internal Communication
2.09
Office / Work Environment
2.35
Environmental Friendliness
2.24
Work-Life Balance
2.09
Challenging Work
3.24
Inclusive / Diverse
2.70

Career factor

Gender Equality
2.52
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.42
Career Development
2.29
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Company Image
2.32
Job Security
2.09
Handicapped Accessibility
2.06
Workplace Safety
2.88
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 5 of 34 reviews Parking in 19 of 34 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 1 of 34 reviews Stock or equity options in 8 of 34 reviews 401(k) in 26 of 34 reviews No onsite daycare facility Reimbursed daycare in 1 of 34 reviews Ability to work remotely in 4 of 34 reviews Desirable office location in 3 of 34 reviews Tuition assistance in 19 of 34 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 4 of 34 reviews 401(k) Match in 16 of 34 reviews Flexible spending account in 11 of 34 reviews Paid time off in 10 of 34 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 27 of 34 reviews Relocation allowance in 5 of 34 reviews Life insurance in 25 of 34 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 9 of 34 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 34 reviews Health and wellness programs in 15 of 34 reviews Employee discounts in 19 of 34 reviews Vehicle allowance in 2 of 34 reviews Employee events in 7 of 34 reviews No dogs allowed No fitness center on site Free Snacks/Drinks in 2 of 34 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 28.Jun 2018
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • I would love to see paid maternal AND paternal leave. There also isn’t any overtime pay for salary workers. Some salary workers are there for a very long time. If there was overtime for salary workers, I would consider staying later than I usually do.

What I like about the company

People work hard and appreciate everyone’s ideas and thoughts. The company is moving the right direction in regards to our culture. The current CEO has made some major cultural movements that are all great.

What I dislike about the company

Sometimes I am not challenged enough and can get bored. Some people really stuggle with work/life balance when in operations, and I am not sure how to help with that.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
2.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    UNITED STATES STEEL CORPORATION
  • City
    Ecorse
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
Have a question about United States Steel Corp? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 20.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • This company will continue to down size until it is non-existent.

What I like about the company

I was well paid, with great benefits.

What I dislike about the company

The Corporate mentality is against any change that is not driven from the top down. It is considered to be better to not changing then to attempting to improve and failing. The corporation is anti innovation from that comes from lower levels even if it is proven technology in other parts of the industry.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Fairfield
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 19.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Company Culture

US Steel, believes if you didnt learn it from them, then you just dont know. unfortunately they are wrong

Support from management

the level of management dictates how much support you get. they are so busy looking up to their managers, that they forget to help the managers beneath them

Teamwork

Upper level managers get all the credit for lower level managers and guys on the floor. Teamwork means make me look good

Internal Communication

its just terrible thats all I can say

Career Development

only if your a yes man

Overall compensation for your work

its decent pay, but not as much as they act like. I make more now that I'm not there.

Environmental Friendliness

they only care about not getting fined

Work-Life Balance

there is none, you are expected to give them your life

Company Image

poor, theyre still living off the golden years, and dont understand why they struggle

Job Security

I no longer work there, that should say it all

Workplace Safety

They tell you to be safe, but dont follow through with their own regulations because it would be almost impossible to get anything done. Then when someone does get hurt, the sit in a meeting room and try to figure out how to place blame on the individual that got hurt

Challenging Work

its easy there because your not actually allowed to do anything, so therefor its not challenging at all

Suggestions for improvement

  • When I took the job at US Steel, I was told it was because of the talents that I brought to the table. As soon as I got there I was told my ideas didnt amount to much because I hadnt been there long enough. then I started watching my manager bring up my exact ideas at a later time, and then they were implemented with him taking all the credit. if you want to fix US Steel start with the guys acting like they know whats going on, because they are really just faking it.

What I like about the company

there were actually some good people there

What I dislike about the company

There were actually some really bad people there

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Lorain
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2017
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 13.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Workplace Safety

The work environment at the United States Steel (USS) Corporation (Muriel Street location) was for the most part a very pleasant and satisfying environment to work. When steel prices are relatively stable USS is a great company to work for. However, like any business, when the business was loosing money, the atmosphere quickly changed to one of constant fear of losing ones job. This should not take away from the overall pleasant atmosphere that I enjoyed working at USS when the economy was good. Management allowed autonomy for my department and the benefits were very good.

Suggestions for improvement

  • I believe United States Steel should give employees two weeks notice when terminating for economic reasons (where no performance issues of the employee are involved).

What I like about the company

United States Steel provided good compensation and benefits.

What I dislike about the company

United States Steel like a lot of companies can feel very cold and uncaring when the business is losing money. Their policy of requiring employees (who are being let go due to economic reasons) to immediately leave the premises can feel very cold and heartless.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
2.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Ability to work remotely is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Pittsburgh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2014
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    IT

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 14.Nov 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Employees are resources to be exploited.

Support from management

There is no leadership.

Teamwork

Employees just focus on doing there job so they can leave.

Freedom to work independently

Micromanagement seems to be embraced to a ridiculous level.

Internal Communication

There is no communication whatsoever in any aspect.

Gender Equality

I have witnessed a manager harass a female co-worker and receive no discipline.

Attitude towards older colleagues

As a union facility, seniority should be considered, but it is not.

Career Development

No advancement.

Overall compensation for your work

Pay is good, though for the amount of stress it is lacking.

Office / Work Environment

Work environment is as unsuitable as you could imagine. It's very dirty, and the lighting is poor at best.

Environmental Friendliness

No, there are acid and hydraulic oil leaks everywhere.

Work-Life Balance

The company takes no consideration into the fact that you may want to have a life outside of here, they view you as a resource to be exploited.

Company Image

Company views itself as fantastic, yet the structure of its building is falling apart.

Job Security

Unless they close the place due to lack of maintenance you'll most likely have a job.

Handicapped Accessibility

No.

Workplace Safety

Safety is only a concern when it does not slow down or stop production.

Challenging Work

Work is very boring, the only challenge is trying to operate broken equipment that never gets fixed.

Inclusive / Diverse

Diverse ideas and opinions are not supported.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    West Mifflin
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 14.Oct 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

The company culture is very hostile and very dangerous

Support from management

Management tries their best but they are given orders by outside contractors and the labor union on how to run the business.

Teamwork

Everyone hates each other and it is a cut throat environment

Freedom to work independently

Your rarely see a supervisor or union executive around unless there is a fatality or there is something the union wants from the company. Employees are used as pawns in a political battle.

Internal Communication

The only time that you recieve communication on how to do your job is when there has been a mistake made and discipline is needed. Then everyone comes out of the woodwork to share in the bravado of showing support.

Gender Equality

There is a prominent glass ceiling effect

Attitude towards older colleagues

there is a great deal of negativity and back stabbing amongst colleagues on both the union side and managerial side. Senior colleagues are being forced to retire or quit so the the company can develop a two tier pay scale.

Career Development

The career development program is excellent. You can work for US Steel, earn any degree you want from an accredited college and then quit and use your education elsewhere.

Overall compensation for your work

The compensation is no where close to the work load per employee, both management and union.

Office / Work Environment

The lighting is horrible, most of the power goes out, all of the ventilation in most buildings is horrible due to lack of maintenance, It is sub zero in the winter and scalding hot in the summer.

Environmental Friendliness

The only employees that are Eco-conscious are the environmental managers to which 4 of them have been terminated and 3 are left to manage 7 miles worth of industrial manufacturing.

Work-Life Balance

On average an employee works 48 hours per week, unless you are management than your hours are up to 60 hours per week without any bonus, overtime, or benefits.

Company Image

This has become one of the most dangerous and deplorable companies to work for over my 20+ years of service.

Job Security

This job is very unstable

Handicapped Accessibility

There is no handicap accessibility other than a drive in pass

Workplace Safety

2 fatalities in one year is horrendous. OSHA compliance is only portrayed if there is an incident, accident, or especially a fatality. Lights, Camera, Action.

Challenging Work

The jobs are set up so that a monkey can do them. Everything is mostly push button for production. Maintenance is very difficult due to the fact that every piece of machinery is outdated, we have no parts, and 50% of maintenance employees have been laid off or terminated.

Inclusive / Diverse

This company has a very diverse population

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
1.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Gary
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 17.Jun 2016
  • Employee

Company Culture

Everyone except the older workers are looking g for work else where

Support from management

There is no leadership from the top down. It's a dog eat dog environment.

Teamwork

Not much of that. It's my way or the high way mentality

Internal Communication

Better results to talk to the wall. No one listens or cares what you thi nk especially management. They are really ruthless with each other

Gender Equality

Favorites rule everything g union and corporate

Attitude towards older colleagues

No respect for really anyone or WHAT they think

Career Development

None

Overall compensation for your work

No real raise last 8 years none for the next 3. Medical cost has gone up.

Office / Work Environment

Hot in the summer cold in the winter roof leaks equipment falling apart. No money to fix anything.

Work-Life Balance

If your on turns no life at all especially I'd you have to wait for relief. They call you stay

Job Security

I would count an empoyment with US Steel

Workplace Safety

Joke

Challenging Work

Challenge is how old everything is

Suggestions for improvement

  • To many to list and besides you wouldn't listen anyways

What I like about the company

Getting to go home everyday that's the best part

What I dislike about the company

This company was ok years ago not to bad to work for now is a joke if your a worker don't do it find somewhere else. The union is no help andan agent walks all over you. Do yourself a favor look elsewhere

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Pittsburgh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 22.May 2016
  • Employee

What I like about the company

I worked there for a very, very long time, was regularly promoted and received a good salary and benefits. I took advantage of the tuition assistance program and earned my Bachelor's and Master's degree while employed.

What I dislike about the company

Market conditions and the pressure on managers. The steel industry is always in a state of distress and uncertainty. There is zero job security. I survived many employee reductions over the years, but was impacted last month.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Relocation allowance is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Clairton
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    C-Suite / Leadership
  • Department
    Logistics/materials management

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 16.Mar 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • File bankruptcy to reduce liabilities and costs. IF not they will be going under. Bad industry to get into.

What I like about the company

It was a lot of fun and family like in our department. IT was our old department manager that made it fun NOT the corporation OR the facility.

What I dislike about the company

It was an old schooled corporate culture that has been going down hill for Many Many Years. It cleaned house up top trying to change things to find out they went the wrong way and NOW going back to the way we DID things before. COMICAL

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
1.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Lorain
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former job since 2015
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Production

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 09.Feb 2016
  • Employee

Support from management

Ha ha ha ha that's funny.

Suggestions for improvement

  • We are to far gone I believe. They leadership is the worst. I don't see them changing. So i would say as long as we are open ( not sure how long that will be ) we will always be the same a big toilet in the Mon Valley that attracts the biggest turds

What I like about the company

T

What I dislike about the company

Management does not care about you, your family or the company. It's all about hunting trips , steelers tickets,or any other free stuff they can get. They will try thier best to fire you anyway possible. Most of the people that work here hourly and salary will do anything they can to beat you down and turn you into what they are. Listen to me run as fast as you can from thi s place.

Company Culture
1.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
1.00
Gender Equality
1.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
1.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
1.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
1.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    United States Steel Corp
  • City
    Pittsburgh
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Others
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered