Skip over menu?
  

University Illinois At Urbana Champaign:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Other Industries
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for University Illinois At Urbana Champaign

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
4.15
Support from management
3.69
Teamwork
3.77
Freedom to work independently
3.85
Internal Communication
3.77
Office / Work Environment
4.17
Environmental Friendliness
4.17
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Challenging Work
3.62
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.92
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.92
Career Development
3.31
Overall compensation for your work
3.15
Company Image
4.08
Job Security
3.85
Handicapped Accessibility
4.25
Workplace Safety
4.42
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 3 of 13 reviews Parking in 1 of 13 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 9 of 13 reviews Stock or equity options in 1 of 13 reviews 401(k) in 4 of 13 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 1 of 13 reviews No reimbursed daycare No ability to work remotely Desirable office location in 3 of 13 reviews Tuition assistance in 11 of 13 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 6 of 13 reviews 401(k) Match in 2 of 13 reviews Flexible spending account in 9 of 13 reviews Paid time off in 13 of 13 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 12 of 13 reviews No relocation allowance Life insurance in 13 of 13 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 2 of 13 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 1 of 13 reviews Health and wellness programs in 7 of 13 reviews Employee discounts in 5 of 13 reviews No vehicle allowance Employee events in 4 of 13 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 2 of 13 reviews Fitness center on site in 1 of 13 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 1 of 13 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 08.Apr 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Improve faculty-student relationships at grad college level.

What I like about the company

Benefits are excellent. Tuition waivers allow for education to work toward a higher position wages are good for the area.

What I dislike about the company

Diversity could use work especially in science areas faculty and students.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered Pet friendly/Pets allowed is offered Free Snacks/Drinks is offered
Have a question about University Illinois At Urbana Champaign? Get answers from others who know this company!
  • 10.Mar 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • No advancment opportunities unless you are in the research field. Very little input from employees on policies and procedures.

What I like about the company

All departments work differently. If your lucky you can transfer to another department.

What I dislike about the company

Pay increaes with any benefit are only given to high ranking admins. Very little given to lower level employees.

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
1.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
1.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
1.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Human resources/recruiting

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 02.Feb 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

It was okay

Support from management

Sometimes

Teamwork

No fmdid not encourage team work.

Freedom to work independently

Depended on the Department Head

Internal Communication

Only sometimes.

Gender Equality

No still a good old boys club

Attitude towards older colleagues

Not always

Career Development

Not do much anymore

Overall compensation for your work

No

Office / Work Environment

Yes

Environmental Friendliness

Yes

Work-Life Balance

Wasn't always fair

Company Image

Yes

Job Security

Yes

Handicapped Accessibility

Could have been better.

Workplace Safety

Yes

Challenging Work

It was chalk but doable

Inclusive / Diverse

Distinct hierarchy

Suggestions for improvement

  • Treat employees as professionals. Treat all employees fairly offer incentives.

What I like about the company

I had some wondering bosses and I learned a lot. It can be quite a learning experience.

What I dislike about the company

They need to encourage teamwork and treat all employees fairly.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
1.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee

Company Culture

The University of Illinois used to be a great place to work. Now to much bureaucracy and just a political game.

Support from management

The University of Illinois used to be a great place to work. Now to much bureaucracy and just a political game.

Teamwork

Does not encourage teamwork in my department

Freedom to work independently

Depends on your supervisor

Internal Communication

No they do not communicate well.

Gender Equality

No it does not treat woman fairly.

Attitude towards older colleagues

No does not treat older employees well.

Career Development

Not like they used too

Overall compensation for your work

Not for the number of hours I worked and no overtime.

Office / Work Environment

Yes I had a nice office.

Environmental Friendliness

Could do a lot better

Work-Life Balance

They just want the job dine

Company Image

I once was, but they have changed

Job Security

You never knew. Not enough feedback.

Handicapped Accessibility

Sometimes, but could do a lot better.

Workplace Safety

Yes.

Challenging Work

Challenging at times, but I was very good at my job.

Inclusive / Diverse

No

Suggestions for improvement

  • See last comments. Teach teamwork. Make sure employees have back ups. Pay employees for overtime or time for time. Treat all employees the same.

What I like about the company

I worked for some good department heads. At times I was recognized for the work I did.

What I dislike about the company

Teach your employees to work as a team. All equal pay. Make sure all your employees are doing their job. Do not keep giving extra work to the same people.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
2.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
1.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 03.Mar 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Support for employees. Management/administration is lacking. My immediate supervisor has no idea what I do but he's supposed to evaluate me and approve my time off.

What I like about the company

Flexible hours and tuition assistance

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
2.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
3.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
1.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Tuition assistance is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • 26.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Becoming more self-sufficient and not relying on state funds as much so that there is more stability when the state can't afford the appropriate level of support

What I like about the company

The people I work with on my team are friendly and supportive.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 21.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More transparency about policy changes

What I like about the company

Collaborative environment that values input from all.

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
2.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Onsite daycare facility is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

On site cafeteria is offered
  • 04.Jan 2017
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Nothing for my company to improve, just wish the state would agree on a budget

What I like about the company

My office is hardworking and my boss is understanding

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee

The following perks were offered to me

Free (company provided) Meals is offered Health and wellness programs is offered Employee events is offered

Suggestions for improvement

  • More competitive pay. Cut administrative costs.

What I like about the company

The work-home life balance.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered
  • 18.Dec 2016
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Provide employees with free parking. It's crazy we have to pay for parking.

What I like about the company

Very stable workload and income

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Easy access to public transportation is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    University Illinois At Urbana Champaign
  • City
    Urbana
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Not specified

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered