Skip over menu?
  

Walgreens:What's it like to work here?

United States Industry Pharmaceuticals & Biotech
Skip over sub-menu?
On the HR or Talent Acquisition team? These reviews are waiting for your response. Get access to receive new review notifications right to your inbox for free.

Reviews for Walgreens

Review factors

Feel-Good Factor

Company Culture
3.39
Support from management
3.23
Teamwork
3.54
Freedom to work independently
3.49
Internal Communication
3.24
Office / Work Environment
3.52
Environmental Friendliness
3.28
Work-Life Balance
3.20
Challenging Work
3.43
Inclusive / Diverse
3.68

Career factor

Gender Equality
3.77
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.65
Career Development
3.34
Overall compensation for your work
3.23
Company Image
3.49
Job Security
3.42
Handicapped Accessibility
3.85
Workplace Safety
3.81
Benefits

The following benefits are offered

Flex. working hours in 494 of 1706 reviews Parking in 716 of 1706 reviews Easy access to public transportation in 228 of 1706 reviews Stock or equity options in 653 of 1706 reviews 401(k) in 959 of 1706 reviews Onsite daycare facility in 32 of 1706 reviews Reimbursed daycare in 28 of 1706 reviews Ability to work remotely in 87 of 1706 reviews Desirable office location in 130 of 1706 reviews Tuition assistance in 202 of 1706 reviews Paid Parental Leave in 322 of 1706 reviews 401(k) Match in 734 of 1706 reviews Flexible spending account in 483 of 1706 reviews Paid time off in 1020 of 1706 reviews Healthcare (including vision and dental) in 972 of 1706 reviews Relocation allowance in 24 of 1706 reviews Life insurance in 766 of 1706 reviews

The following perks are offered

On site cafeteria in 101 of 1706 reviews Free (company provided) Meals in 51 of 1706 reviews Health and wellness programs in 759 of 1706 reviews Employee discounts in 1381 of 1706 reviews Vehicle allowance in 71 of 1706 reviews Employee events in 292 of 1706 reviews Pet friendly/Pets allowed in 31 of 1706 reviews Fitness center on site in 38 of 1706 reviews Free Snacks/Drinks in 58 of 1706 reviews
Filter reviews

Filter

Reviews

  • 19.Dec 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need more support

What I like about the company

That they listen and take idea, concern, ect

What I dislike about the company

Work load

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
4.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    Richmond
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
What is the company culture like at Walgreens? Help others make critical decisions by letting them know what it’s like to work here!
  • 07.Dec 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Some outdated technology (I.e. pharmacy computers)

What I like about the company

The work, the environment, my co-workers, the interaction with the public

What I dislike about the company

Nothing

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered 401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 07.Dec 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better management

What I like about the company

Great pay

What I dislike about the company

Management treatment

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
1.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
2.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
4.00
Office / Work Environment
2.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
2.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
3.00

The following benefits were offered to me

401(k) is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid time off is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Former employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 06.Dec 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better compensation, better trained staff

What I like about the company

Used too be a good place to work

What I dislike about the company

Budget cuts, doing more with less

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
3.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
2.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
2.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
2.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
3.00
Inclusive / Diverse
2.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Parking is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    Boxford
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered
  • 05.Dec 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Better employee retirement benefits

What I like about the company

Everything my store is like a nice family

What I dislike about the company

All the things expected in to be done in 1 day. Too many customers getting repeat calls

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered Desirable office location is offered Tuition assistance is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered Employee events is offered
  • 25.Nov 2019
  • Employee

Cbvsjsbc

5.00

What I like about the company

DCCC The hours

What I dislike about the company

Hey

Company Culture
5.00
Support from management
5.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
5.00
Internal Communication
5.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
5.00
Overall compensation for your work
5.00
Office / Work Environment
5.00
Environmental Friendliness
5.00
Work-Life Balance
5.00
Company Image
5.00
Job Security
5.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others
  • 04.Nov 2019
  • Employee

Company Culture

I’ve been with Walgreens for over 5 years. I chose to work at this company, over its competitors, because they valued the same things I did: relationships with patients, ethical executives, rewarding their employees who worked hard and achieved greatness. The company went so far as to try and redesign how they implement new policies and addressed issues coming directly from problem solving exercises from the store level employees instead of higher ups making a one size fit all policy. Yet, they’ve taken away bonuses for our pharmacists and increased their work load. They hired too many new pharmacists and let go of ones who were older. Techs are now only getting a 3% wage increase and once they reach what they believe to be “enough” they will stop raises and do a lump sum of money. They’ve cut these and more “expenses “ due to a bad fiscal year. We don’t always have access to what corporate has access to, but reading that your CEO and other board members of your company are still getting compensations dollar amounts we can’t even fathom and despite the dips in market value of our company makes one wonder if they really value us.

Support from management

We receive a lot of pressure from management. The only good thing I can say is they usually give good emotional support than anything else. They don’t really understand the workings of a pharmacy. They just get numbers that our corporate office wants us to achieve and don’t care how we achieve those numbers.

Teamwork

We have a team at store level that has come a long way. Four, including myself, are Senior Technicians who monitor, train, and administratively run the pharmacy. Our two pharmacists are like family. We work hard despite lack of reward and try our best to keep each other going.

Freedom to work independently

I follow my own principles and guides to be the best pharmacy technician I can be. I encourage my best behaviors to be adapted to my fellow coworkers but we are allowed to remain individuality to work independently if we so choose to.

Internal Communication

We get company wide access to a portal which updates us on anything new or updated. Problem is if issues occur, we are advised to put in a ticket which is takes weeks to hear back. We haven’t received supplies for our pharmacy in two weeks and it seems like anyone higher than our overworked district manager is either in the dark on how to fix this issue or nonchalant if we have basic supplies to run the pharmacies in our area.

Gender Equality

We are almost an all female staff. We hire male technicians but most leave in pursuit of other careers.

Attitude towards older colleagues

The pharmacy manager is the oldest out of our crew. He is very easy to talk to and does his best to guide us when we are stuck. He is very well liked and trusted.

Career Development

The state requires Continuing Education credits every two years. Walgreens offers a few on our learning website but they are dated and hard to access.

Overall compensation for your work

As a technician I’m expected to do the work of at least five people. As a senior pharmacy technician I do that and everyone else’s when they struggle or lack training to complete their task. I always give my all even though I know my raise will be pitiful.

Office / Work Environment

Due to many pressures from corporate we run on tension and a little bit of fear. We have periods of elation and good times. It doesn’t outweigh the anxiety we feel especially when we get a visit from corporate.

Environmental Friendliness

We don’t recycle and it’s been recommended to find a way to communicate with our communities to see if we, as a company can at least recycle what we can.

Work-Life Balance

All staff members have families. It’s hard to leave anything negative outside of work but usually the job requires full attention.

Job Security

At a meeting my managers went to, corporate had a member giving the meeting. This individual could not give reasonable answers for the questions my manager and his colleagues had, to which they were told “be happy you even have a job”. Since then, no one has really felt safe about their jobs.

Handicapped Accessibility

We have handicapped patients who go in and out of our pharmacy easily.

Workplace Safety

We keep our needles and syringes safely disposed of and locked out of sight when not in use. It’s hard to access if we lose the only key.

Challenging Work

Everyday is a challenge. Even with all the negative factors, it’s fuel for people in search of greatness.

Inclusive / Diverse

We have a lot of people of different ethnicities working together. It’s brought us close to get to know one another.

Suggestions for improvement

  • At minimum, fix the new website for all HR and employee information. It’s been updated to replace the old website but it is chaotic to look at. Too many links that it takes you to and not very clear on what it is supposed to be directing you to.

What I like about the company

I love the 401k match. I love my PTO accrual rate. I love that we use Kronos and the Core Workflow Program as a checklist.

What I dislike about the company

I don’t like the pay raise % increase. I think it should be higher or at least given consideration to be higher for those that do very well on their annual reviews.

Company Culture
3.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
4.00
Internal Communication
2.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
2.00
Overall compensation for your work
1.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
1.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
4.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
5.00
Inclusive / Diverse
4.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Desirable office location is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 02.Nov 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • Need to have better policies for employees

What I like about the company

Benefits

What I dislike about the company

Corporate expectations

Company Culture
2.00
Support from management
2.00
Teamwork
3.00
Freedom to work independently
2.00
Internal Communication
3.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
3.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
1.00
Company Image
3.00
Job Security
2.00
Handicapped Accessibility
5.00
Workplace Safety
3.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Paid Parental Leave is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    Houston
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Administration

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered

Company Culture

Corporate decides culture, but local stores define it.

Support from management

Local management has their hands tied with corporate ideas, but they do a great job of staying true to their employees.

Teamwork

Every store I have worked in ( about 25 total) has well trained staff that are eager to help each other.

Freedom to work independently

Especially in Pharmacy, the need to flow as a team supersedes the individual's desire to work independently.

Internal Communication

There could be a better balance of understanding the store issues at the top.

Gender Equality

If negotiated properly, the employee of any gender can make the same as another gender.

Attitude towards older colleagues

Locally, great, corporate sometimes feels as though they want the older ones out to allow for more digital employees.

Career Development

If the individual pushes it the company will help.

Overall compensation for your work

It used to be better, they dropped bonuses and won't allow honest reviews, everyone gets below average.

Office / Work Environment

Corporate has not listened about chemical inhalants in the ceiling, or the countertop heights, the slow computers for decades. The original computer program for the pharmacy was miles ahead of other companies, now they are less than equal to the best.

Environmental Friendliness

Depends on the city and state, most locales won't let stores or pharmacies recycle bottles or products, some only allow cardboard.

Work-Life Balance

Sometimes the scheduling, especially since Corporate is trying to phase out humans does not allow for a life.

Company Image

Used to be better, now they are more worried about "branding" and cosmetics.

Job Security

It's good in the states that mandate job security.

Handicapped Accessibility

This is not necessarily the companies fault as the ADA has set the requirements and sometimes they just don't fit the needs of stores, employees or customers with disabilities.

Workplace Safety

Walgreens has regular instruction reminders and required video watching for safety procedures.

Challenging Work

In the Pharmacy yes.

Inclusive / Diverse

Every store I have worked has been completely inclusive of all people, ethnicity, religion, physical ability!

Suggestions for improvement

  • Really listening to the employees, don't just stop by in your suits and glad hand, listen, allow for help in busy stores, don't ignore the pleas as most of us are sincere and not whining for the heck of it.

What I like about the company

The local employees.

What I dislike about the company

Corporates aloofness about real issues, the shareholders bottom line seems to take precedence over good customer service.

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
4.00
Teamwork
5.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
4.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
4.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
3.00
Environmental Friendliness
3.00
Work-Life Balance
3.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Handicapped Accessibility
3.00
Workplace Safety
5.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Flex. working hours is offered Parking is offered Easy access to public transportation is offered Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Tuition assistance is offered 401(k) Match is offered Flexible spending account is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    walgreens san diego, ca
  • City
    San Diego
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Employee discounts is offered
  • 16.Oct 2019
  • Employee

Suggestions for improvement

  • More appreciation for pharmacists. Do not hold only pharmacist pay increase when it should be a team. It is unfair for only the pharmacists to be experiencing the effect of the company's financial difficulties in their paycut. Also intercom + [our operating system] could've been nade more efficient.

What I like about the company

Always keeps us updated in everything

What I dislike about the company

Not feeling appreciated because of the halt in pay increase as mentioned above for consecutive years

Company Culture
4.00
Support from management
3.00
Teamwork
4.00
Freedom to work independently
3.00
Internal Communication
4.00
Gender Equality
5.00
Attitude towards older colleagues
5.00
Career Development
4.00
Overall compensation for your work
3.00
Office / Work Environment
4.00
Environmental Friendliness
4.00
Work-Life Balance
4.00
Company Image
4.00
Job Security
3.00
Workplace Safety
4.00
Challenging Work
4.00
Inclusive / Diverse
5.00

The following benefits were offered to me

Stock or equity options is offered 401(k) is offered Paid Parental Leave is offered 401(k) Match is offered Paid time off is offered Healthcare (including vision and dental) is offered Life insurance is offered
  • Company
    Walgreens
  • City
    all over the world
  • Are you a Current or Former Employee?
    Current employee
  • Position
    Employee
  • Department
    Others

The following perks were offered to me

Health and wellness programs is offered Employee discounts is offered